We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Santa Barbara Small Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersSilver level
ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect Santa Barbara Small Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The Inn is really charming & in a great location within easy walking distance of State Street, where most of the shops & restaurants are. The Inn has a parking garage where you can park at no charge, which was very convenient. The lobby is cozy with a fireplace, the cookies they put out at the desk in the afternoons are wonderful, and the front desk staff are the most courteous, friendly, and helpful people we've ever encountered ! We booked an executive king room with a fireplace- the fireplace was great because it was a bit cooler than normal when we were there, so needless to say we didn't use the pool but we had a nice small balcony with table & chairs that overlooked the pool. The bed & bed linens were wonderful. The bathroom had a large tub & a large shower & a sky light which let in lots of natural light . The room had a large credenza with a small flat screen TV , a desk, and 2 nice chairs in front of the fireplace. The room was not huge, but very nice. The breakfast room was also charming - it overlooked the courtyard with the fountain. They served scones, bagels, cereals, quiche, juice & coffees- even latte's or cappucino's at no extra charge. Weather permitting, I'm sure you could have breakfast on the patio. In the late afternoon & evening when they have wines available, they also had a firepit going on the patio if you wanted to sit outside. Overall we loved our stay at the Inn altho it's perhaps a bit pricey, I think you get what you pay for including a very good location & top notch service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    106
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
365
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business, and was extremely impressed with the room, exterior areas and service level. I will definitely come back again, for business or personal travel.

Some specific highlights: 1) The staff provided friendly, prompt assistance for several custom requests. 2) The wireless internet is included. 3) It is a relaxed, stress free environment with lots of nice touches, and 4) the food offering was high quality and reasonable cost (especially included breakfast).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very attractive hotel, with friendly staff and a rustic, Spanish feel to it. At first we were dissapointed with the breaksfast but after a second look, it was plentiful and good quality. Very helpful staff, underground parking under the hotel and spacious rooms.

Lack of night staff was our only complaint as we arrived late and the poor chap on reception had to help us with our bags as there was no one else there, but he oblidged without a murmur!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Chose hotel because of it's Trip Advisor ratings and was very pleased. Charming rooms with great bathrooms we stayed in a ground floor junior suite with private terrace ovelooking the pool. Loved everything about it free garage parking, free hi speed wifi real coffee in the room and the kind of breakfast we like. Staff were terrific and helped with dinner reservations and everything else we required. Charming romantic hotel candle lit at night and just so much nicer than their large corporate competition,. Definetely our first choice for Santa Barbera.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of our California trip. Had read reviews on TA and booked it. The reviews were right - this is a beautiful place, calm, quiet and the staff was wonderful.
Our room is was spacious and the bathroom was great - even our 12 year old remarked that the skylight in the bathroom made it feel so light and airy.
The hotel is in a residential area just blocks away from the main shopping and restaurants. We walked everywhere in the area.
The Inn has a stock of DVDs which you can borrow and they also provide free popcorn with it. Our kids thought it was the coolest idea ever and wondered why other hotels didn't implement it.
Breakfast was also inculded with the room and we enjoyed it thoroughly - healthy granola, fruits, yogurt along with a hot quiche.
We thought the hotel was an original Spanish style home converted into the Inn but when we spoke to the nice lady in the front office she told us it was renovated to look like it - I must say everything looks like it belonged there. They also have an outdoor heated pool which we didn't get a chance to use. There's underground parking available. The beach is close by and so are the wineries. We loved staying at the Inn and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in January, based mostly on the reviews on Trip Advisor but with a nudge from the Lonely Planet guide. Our room was a good size - we especially loved the bathroom - and the hotel is very charming. The staff were very helpful (hats off to Gabe, who told us about his family's favourite places in the area) and the courtyard is especially pretty. Also, we really appreciated the free WiFi, and the fact that we didn't have to pay through the nose for valet parking, as we did everywhere else on our stay in California. Finally, there was proper coffee in the room! We didn't find this anywhere else, just those crappy machines you only find in hotels that make a miserable brew that should be outlawed by the culinary cops.

But this place does oversell itself, and if we'd paid full price we would have felt pretty ripped off. For instance, the phone in our room barely functioned because the (unchangeable) volume was so low, and hiss was so loud. Also, the hotel claims to have a fitness room. The 'room' in question consists of an outdoor covered space that's about 8' x 8' and has a treadmill and stairmaster in it. That's it. So why advertise it, and indeed why mention it at all? Similarly, Trip Advisor reviews raved about the breakfast. It was fine but perfectly ordinary: toast and bagels, boxed Kelloggs cereals and a veg and non-veg quiche. Finally, the TV in our room was placed on a bureau that ran parallel with the side of the bed. This meant we could only watch it by lying in bed on our sides, or by lying sideways and trying to prop ourselves up on pillows.

For these reasons, I would recommend this hotel to a friend...but with a load of caveats.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We usually stay at the Pacifica Suites because we are always happy there, but we decided to give this new place a try. Its a nice hotel with beautiful grounds and nicely appointed rooms, but the rooms just gave us a cold, dark feeling. We were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and the hotel is not kid friendly. We enjoyed to fireplace, but I decided to touch the glass to make sure it wasn't too hot and it sizzled my finger so we had to turn it off in case our daughter was curious. I'm also a carpet person and the rooms all had stone, tile floors which can be cold during the winter. The room did however, have a nice private balcony to eat breakfast on or just hang out and it was very clean. The bath was oversized and very relaxing. It's also in a good location next to restaurants and shopping. The beds were not very comfortable and the TV was really small. The staff and service was excellent and they all go out of their way to be friendly and accomadating. The freshly baked cookies they served in the evening were excellent. It's more of a quiet, peaceful adult getaway, but Pacifica suites just gives me that warm, fuzzy feeling I did not get from this hotel. If you appreciate true Spanish architecture and don't mind a little darkness, this is the place for you. Overall, we had an above average experience, but it was not as great as I thought it would be considering all of the rave reviews and I probably will not return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.