We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a class of it's own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In a class of it's own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our second visit to the Spanish Garden Inn and given our druthers,
we would never wish to stay anywhere else!
Yes, we are lucky enough to be able to stay worldwide in larger, more luxurious and better known hotels, but the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara is fast becoming our favorite of all.
The rooms, the design, the ambiance and especially the professional, personable and friendly staff who all go out of their way to be helpful are all exceptional. They come together to make this very special boutique hotel so very exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
David,

I am shipping you some "druthers" via Fedex so that you can fulfill the desire to never stay anywhere else. :-) Thank you for the glowing review. I will be certain to share your compliments with our team here.

It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    113
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
102
409
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a reliably clean, pleasant, well run but simple hotel just off the main shopping and historic tourist areas in Santa Barbara. Some of the outdoor facilities feel a little outdated. The rooms on the other hand remain charming, spacious and comfortable with fireplace, large soaking tub and ample sized shower. It is not near the beaches and does not feel particularly luxurious but is a very good value for the price in a very pricey area.

Room Tip: Well designed with all rooms facing into courtyards or pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: I applaud all and any of this hotel's efforts to be energy efficient and yet comfortable for guests.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
M O D,

Thank you for the review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us as you passed through Santa Barbara. I do agree that we are an exceptional value, particularly in the summer months.

Have a wonderful last few weeks of summer and we will see you next time.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We first stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn in June 2011. I have now returned on two other occasions, most recently in August 2013. I brought my parents (two energetic seniors) on the last visit and the General Manager came out to shake my dad's hand to welcome him personally. The front desk manager and the sales manager both greeted my mom with wonderful greetings and catered to her every need. The breakfast buffet is staffed by welcoming attendants who make sure that you have more than enough quiche, coffee, fruit, and granola. I love the Four Seasons in town, too; however, they don't treat you like family returning home after a long stay away. Check them out... you will not regret it.

Room Tip: I particularly enjoyed the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Well, who wouldn't want to shake your father's hand? He's a lovely gentleman with an even more lovely wife. We are so glad you brought your parents with you this trip to experience Santa Barbara and our Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share a review with others here. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent only one night in this fantastic small hotel in the center of Santa Barbara but at departure, we regretted immediately not to stay more especially as our next stop was in LA for 3 days and it was definitely not worth. With 2 teenagers and one toddler, we have taken the junior suite which was really great : living room, large bedroom, huge bathroom with both bath and shower and big terrasse ! The hotel is incredibly cute, the location is ideal to stroll in SB and the personnel is just fantastic : concierge, manager, ladies preparing breakfast, we felt that all of them were there just for us, always smiling and trying to please us. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: The junior suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Greglstan,

I am pleased to hear that your family had an exceptional visit with us. I will forward your gracious words on to the team here. We agree with you that being a 5 minute walk to downtown and a 5 minute drive to the beach really is the ideal location.

You will definitely need to return in the future and stay longer with us, perhaps just the two of you for a romantic getaway :-)

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights here. Both the rooms/bathrooms were lovely. Very clean. The pool was small but quiet and nice to sit around and relax for a bit. Breakfast was very nice - freshly made smoothies and omelettes. Staff were very nice and helpful. Bit out of the way if you want to spend time at the beach but great for courthouse, shops etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
hpp63,

It is always appreciated when an experienced traveler such as yourself offers a review of their stay with us. Thank you for the excellent review and for choosing our hotel for your Santa Barbara visit.

Just to clarify for other TA readers; The "omelettes" are actually the fresh baked quiche that we offer as a part of our Deluxe Continental Breakfast which is included with all of our room rates.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you pass through town.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Wanted a nice, romantic hotel for a night in SB. The Four Seasons was the obvious choice, but it's hard to justify the $850 price tag (especially for their most basic room). Went with Spanish Garden Inn after reading the stellar reviews and couldn't be happier w the decision. My fiance and I arrived late but Brian was there to greet us and escort us to our room. Great room (the full-sized Molton Brown products are an especially nice touch), beautiful courtyard, perfect location just a couple blocks from State Street. Only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer.

Spanish Garden Inn will absolutely be our "go-to" place to stay in all future visits to SB.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
KMichas,

Reviews like yours are why WE love TripAdvisor. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. Brian is one of our many great Guest Service Hosts and I will give him your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you and your fiance back in the near future, perhaps for a honeymoon visit?

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a fabulous little hotel right in the heart of Santa Barbara. It is easy walking distance from the main road of shops and all the restaurants. The rooms were great, and the staff really went out of their way to make our stay most comfortable. The children (aged 5 and 8) were made to feel really welcome. They loved the pool, and could not believe their luck when pop corn was delivered to the room to enjoy with the DVD they had chosen compliments of the hotel. All in all a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
NixB1,

Your review of your stay with us is greatly appreciated and I am so pleased to read that you and your family had a fabulous experience. The complimentary DVD and popcorn amenity is a very popular service that we offer.

I hope you will return to us the next time you choose to visit Santa Barbara.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.