We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous inn in Santa Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous inn in Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Spanish Garden Inn, and would agree wholeheartedly with the positive reviews already posted here! We stayed in Room #14 and found it to be perfect for what we needed. The room and bathroom was very clean, high-end linens and towels, and a great location to all the shopping and restaurants on State Street. I appreciated the help from Brian in making dinner reservations in advance of our arrival. The continental breakfast was fine although I would highly recommend taking a short walk to Handlebar Coffee a block and a half away! Best coffee in Santa Barbara!

We were in town for a lazy long weekend to get some sun and visit the wineries nearby, but besides Brian, we found the rest of the front desk staff really didn't want to spend a lot of time answering questions or providing assistance. Oh well - it was a fabulous stay regardless!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
TravelKitty,

Many thanks for the excellent review. Great to learn that we enabled you to have a relaxing weekend in sunny Santa Barbara.

Every member of our team prides themselves on providing attentive and gracious service to all guests. Brian is one of our best but I am very sorry to hear that you felt the other team members weren't up to par. I will address this with the staff and again thank you very much for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    107
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
367
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family of 4 (husband, children 13 and 9) stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn in Santa Barbara for three nights and had a wonderful stay.

The hotel is easy to find from the 101 and is three blocks from State St., the main shopping district of the area. It is a drive to the beach, although an easy one as there was public parking at the beach and free parking at the inn. The room is well equipped and comfortable for a family of four. In addition to a large bathroom with separate toilet/shower room, we enjoyed a fireplace and private patio. The private patio had a table and chairs, which made early morning coffee a delight, and a door to the patio led to the pool. The pool was small, but fine for an afternoon dip.

Free breakfast in the morning felt European, in that it was pastry, yogurt and cereals. However, waitstaff always offered a quiche or meat plate (cold cuts with brie and fresh baguette). Breakfast staff were always very pleasant. Throughout the day, guests could grab a cup of coffee, water, iced tea and fresh fruit. As a bonus, at 3pm each day, warm cookies were put out at the reservation desk.

The front desk staff was also friendly and accommodating. We were provided our Wifi passcode upon check-in and they recommended an excellent surf instructor for our kids (Surf Happens - private instruction with equipment for a reasonable cost).

Overall, hospitality seemed genuine and made the stay wonderful - quite hospitable (like a Ritz Carlton) with none of the presumption. A perfect blend for a family of four.

Room Tip: Difficult to say because of the unique layout of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for the thorough and delightful review. We very much enjoyed having your family here with us. Next time your children have a desire to hit the waves we will gladly welcome you back for more fun in the sun.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wonderful trip advisor checking wife, once again did a great job in finding a place to stay.
The Spanish Garden Inn was a little oasis in a fairly big city.
The rooms are large, the staff friendly, and the breakfast a step above most continental offerings.
One other thing to mention, I accidentally spilled a glass of wine on the white sheets, ( even before I had one sip, honest) . No problem , I know they can remove the stain, but some hotels may make a fuss, they graciously assured me that it was not a problem.
I didn't have time to see what was within walking distance, but it was a very short drive to all the downtown shopping.
All in all ..... A +

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for the A+ grade. So glad you had a terrific stay. Next time you visit, do ask us for a walking map as there is a lot to see and do within a short walk of the hotel.

Looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

All of the five star reviews that are on TripAdvisor are correct for this beautiful property. The location is the best in Santa Barbara within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. We had room 23, and it looked exactly like the photos on the website. The continental breakfast had juices, fruit, cereal, eggs, quiche and more. We stayed 3 nights and could have stayed longer. The only place to stay in Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: Room 23 was very quiet, had a lovely deck overlooking the pool, and a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
DestinyRides,

Thank you for the review. Glad to hear you found our location to be so convenient. We agree that the ability to walk to dining, shopping and nightlife is a must have when booking in Santa Barbara.

I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We arrived in our 22' Sprinter after 8:00pm, following a T.Advisor recommendation.
They discounted our rate due to our late arrival after 8:00 pm and availability. Nice room, comfy bed and bath, fireplace and quaint balcony. Very helpful front desk and staff and amazing Continental Breakfast included. The Courtyard was a little noisy, as it echoed...5 Stars still deserved, the hotel is clean, comfortable and located in a nice part of SB. We'll be back.
Oh...parking is underground, unless you have an rv/van...then you're out on the street. They will allow you to park in loading zone in front.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Spent five nights here and found the Spanish Garden Inn to be almost perfect. Rooms are great, staff are friendly and helpful, pool and common areas are wonderful, breakfast is delicious. The only concern I had was location but that was not a problem. It's an easy walk to State Street and the neighborhood is delightfully quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Ken,

Thank you for the great review. We would agree with you that our location is the perfect combination of close to everything but quiet and secluded.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There's nothing to dislike about this Inn. It's right near the heart of Santa Barbara but quiet and restful.

The room was gorgeous, with a beautiful flowering vine right outside the window. A great bathroom, with comfortable soaker tub and great separate shower. The beds were very comfortable; the room was very spacious, clean and well-appointed and everything was of high quality.

In keeping with the surrounding area, the Inn has a Spanish feel throughout. There was free guest parking under the Inn.

I wish we'd stayed there longer; we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Edna,

Your kind review is greatly appreciated. Our soaker tubs are a unique feature in Santa Barbara and I agree they are wonderful.

We hope on your next visit to us that you are able to stay longer.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Otel so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.