We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet, walk to downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet, walk to downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our second stay at Spanish Garden, and it won't be the last. It is even nicer now than our first visit two years ago. We stayed in # 9, a light-filled, large, quiet second floor king room. Wonderful soaking tub and separate shower, toasty gas fireplace, very confortable bed, lovely courtyard, morning paper delivered to your door. Loved the French press coffee maker in the room- a first, anywhere! Breakfast in the cheerful breakfast room was plentiful, complete with quiches and specialty coffee drinks on request. Service from the entire staff was superb, downtown SB is only three blocks away. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Elise,

Welcome back! Thank you for staying with us again. I'm not a coffee drinker myself but my friends tell me the French press is the only way to make real coffee so I am glad to see that you appreciated it. We have a large number of guests who come to visit us regularly every year or two and I am excited to see that we have added you to their ranks. See you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    109
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
98
379
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We only had two nights in Santa Barbara and the location was perfect for walking to everything we wanted to do. The staff deserves all the kudos that have been written about them on TripAdvisor. They even offered loaner umbrellas. We can't wait to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Victoria,

We can't wait to have you return and stay longer! I have passed on your compliments to our staff. I am certain they are the hardest working team in hospitality and it is nice to hear that others agree.

Thank you,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Though the old-fashioned, rustic look is not my favorite, this was a very nice place and we had a great stay. The room was a little dark, but very clean. The sink and shower area were open (no door separating them from the bedroom), but there was some privacy with the layout. The shower was large, but a little dark. I loved the full-sized Moulton Brown products. It was too chilly to sit out much on the patio, but it was a great feature. We also enjoyed the fireplace. The bed and the armchairs by the fireplace were comfortable.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, pointing us to the sites and the wine tastings in town. The location was walking distance to everything we wanted to do. There is no bar, but the front desk staff will pour you a reasonably priced glass of wine any time. Again, it was too chilly to really enjoy it, but we did sip some wine by the outdoor firepit. The included breakfast was just ok -- basically grocery store pastries and frozen quiche, but the cheese platter was nice and the fruit was fresh. The breakfast wasn't fancy, but the dining room is pretty, you can eat outside, and it served its purpose of providing some sustenance to start the day.

There didn't seem to be any bell staff, and apparently there is only elevator that doesn't serve the entire hotel. We didn't have a problem, but when we were leaving we encountered an older couple struggling with their bags. The free indoor parking is very convenient and adds to the value of the hotel.

Overall this was a great place to stay for our weekend getaway and, as a picky traveler, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. It is always nice when experienced travelers share their thoughts and I am happy to see that you would recommend us to others.

I am sorry to hear that the breakfast items were not to your liking. The pastries are baked fresh daily and the quiche is homemade and never frozen. We are constantly monitoring our vendors for quality and your valuable feedback will be passed on to them as well.

Thank you again. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livermore, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

(Ron)
I recently stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn while in Santa Barbara for two nights on 1/23/13 and 1/24/13. This is a wonderful Inn with a great location. The staff was amazing, the hotel amenities first class, and the room was perfect. Quiet, comfortable, and everything I could have asked for. I plan to return with my wife for our thirty year anniversary as I know she will truly appreciate the ambiance of the Inn and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Ron,

Thanks for the great review and thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with your wife for your special occasion.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid January of this year, for a winter get away from St. Louis. The Inn was all that we had hoped for and more- the more being the incredibly friendly and helpful people who work there, who made us feel welcome even before we got in the door!

As we were driving by trying to find it, a gentleman stood on the porch waving to us, ushering us to the garage entrance, as if he had expected us at just that moment!! The staff is top notch, and the accomodations were beautiful and serene. It is in the middle of town, but so sheltered you would think you were in a villa in the middle of Spain! Our room, # 2, looked out over the courtyard, which was just lovely. We were in the corner, so had no one to our right. The balcony was delightful, and the room spacious, immaculatley clean, and included a gas fireplace. It was also very quiet.

Another plus are the beautiful watercolor paintings that adorn the walls, painted by the very talented owners of the Inn. The breakfast was delicious, and you can buy a glass of wine to take to your room or sip in the sitting area or on the patio. The pool is lovely too, for a swim or for sitting around and reading a book. This is our top choice when visiting Santa Barbara!

Room Tip: We liked room # 2 as it was in the corner, so had no one on the right. It had a nice, secluded locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Kate,

Awesome review! Thank you so much. That was Jason our bellman out front and, yes, he has an amazing knack for being able to recognize a passing motorist as an arriving guest. I will be sure to let him know how you appreciated that welcome.

We do love the look of surprise we get when a guest inquires about the lovely paintings throughout the property and learns that they were painted by the owner. It is just one of the many personal touches one finds at the Inn.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Reception was very friendly. Only thing was that i was introduced to my congierge which i did not see again during my stay. The rooms are more than spacious with a lovely seating area and great tub. So sorry i was there on my own. I must say the doors didn't shut out all the noise. It was a three block walk to the center. I didn't feel unsafe but than again i made a point of not staying out to late because of the large amount of homeless people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very nice property located on a quiet street only steps from downtown! Staff was friendly, but seemed harried; breakfast staff not familiar with the additional offerings. The junior suite we were in is spacious, nicely furnished, has two TVs and the bed was pretty comfortable. Don't expect total quiet, as the noise of the guests walking above us was pronounced, but livable.
My only disappointments are: there is an unpleasant, sour smell emanating from the coffee bar area in the breakfast room; a room service order was charged to our room in error; we never received the turndown service.
Looking forward to our return when it'll be warm enough to dip in the pool and enjoy smores by the fire pit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Excited to hear you will be back to visit us again soon. Rest assured that the issues you encountered during your stay have been resolved and will not reoccur in the future. The flu hit our team hard during the dates of your visit and we had team members filling in in areas they were not completely familiar with. Regardless, we were not able to offer you our usual exemplary service and for that I apologize.

Please contact me directly at the hotel once you decide on dates for your next visit and I will personally handle your reservation.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.