We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are accurate! We loved it. Would stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersGold level
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reviews are accurate! We loved it. Would stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were trying to find a nice hotel that was not directly on the main shopping area. I read a bunch of reviews and settled on the Spanish Garden Inn. We have always driven past Santa Barbara on the way up north but never stayed here, so we thought it was close enough to do a couple of day's for our 5th anniversary. We were too busy to go too far away.

This hotel was just what we needed. Cute, simple, and as an added bonus... the breakfast here each morning was some of the best food we actually had while we were in Santa Barbara. Which speaks volumes for the hotel, but guess that is not such a good thing for the places we chose to eat at.

We picked an upstairs room for some extra privacy and everything was great. There is a little noise transfer through the walls :) So just be aware that it's not 100% soundproof. :)

We also walked by two other hotels that we originally were going to try, and once we saw the location and the hotels, we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.. The breakfast staff works very hard to make it the best possible experience, I will share your rave review with them.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    110
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
98
380
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

My daughter is 15 months old and this hotel was great for families with kids that age.. We didn't ask to childproof it, but it was perfect anyway. The Bed and all tables were high enough so she couldn't pull things down. The little yard attached to the room was fenced so we had our privacy and the baby had no way to escape. I could actually lay down and not worry about her jumping out of the balcony or hurting herself by pulling the the kettle from the table down on herself
Hotel's vibe is great too. Super close to State street.
We walked all the way to the water, about 20-30min walk, prefetch for me, but I enjoy walking a lot

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This Inn was a perfect choice for my husband and I. We only had one night but I wish we could have stayed longer. We had room #20 which had a cute patio over looking the pool. It was a great room but might try a second floor room next time for some added privacy from other guests walking by and to avoid loud foot steps in the room above. The Inn was so adorable and quant! The service was superb, the breakfast was delicious with cinnamon rolls and quiche being our favorite. The food in the fridge and snacks were a very reasonable price compared to stays at chain hotels. Our room had a fireplace, which was a huge factor, plus a fabulous deep tub! There were no jets, just a soaking tub but it was wonderful! The soaps and amenities were very high class and liked by both my husband and myself. They gave us two free glasses of wine for our anniversary celebration, which was an unexpected nice touch! I can't think of one bad thing to say or suggest, it was just fabulous! There were robes, slippers, hair dryer, and other stuff which made traveling for one night easier with less to bring.

Room Tip: First floor room #20 had a great pool view from a small patio; however, you could hear footsteps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and for the great photos. So glad that you chose us for your Anniversary celebration.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I took a mid-week, two day trip to Santa Barbara in late December prior to an LA-based wedding that weekend. We found Spanish Garden Inn (SGI) through TripAdvisor and several other travel sites. We briefly considered the Canary (KImpton) hotel, but ultimately went with SGI.

Our 48 hours at SGI were excellent - spacious deluxe room w/ superb bathroom, balcony, fire place, and small balcony facing onto a lovely garden. Although it was included, we ate our breakfast elsewhere both days, but did notice the dining room to be comfortably full both mornings (and we loved the all-day takeout coffee and fresh squeezed OJ). Location of hotel is close to several of SB's best restaurants, and about three blocks from the main street in Santa Barbara. The free, onsite underground parking lot is also a perk (see: having to pay $20+ a day for parking at the Canary).

While understandably unable to accommodate our request for an early check-in, the hotel did provide us a complimentary wine tasting our first night.

Staff was very personable. We booked our own restaurant reservations, but they seemed quite knowledgeable about local dining/drinking options without trying to steer guests to a certain establishment.

We would certainly stay again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Mr. HRWoods,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We do believe it is important that our guests feel that not only was their experience terrific but that it was fairly priced as well. To that end we are the only upscale property in Santa Barbara to include Breakfast and Parking in the room rate.

We can't wait to welcome you back in the near future. Happy New Year!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place. We stayed one night with two children in the majestic suite where the sofa became a sleeping bed for the kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. Quiet place, close to everything, elevator from parking garage right next to the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

For spouse and I, a big anniversary on the Pacific far from home back East was boosted by the Spanish Garden Inn's wonderful blend of location, style, service and many little touches. The result is exactly what we like most: being away but feeling like we're at home. From long experience, we know excellence is never accidental. The service, the smiles, the breakfast room, the easy garage, Brian's happy enthusiasm at the front desk are all additive. No plastic plants, polyester sheets or dead light bulbs, just quiet terraces and patios to remind you that you are in Southern Califormia even in December. A special place.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains from east-facing windows did the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn for the first time in November. it was lovely. Rooms are well appointed, service was extremely good and the breakfast was just perfect. The Inn has a great location. We could walk to dinner each night - although Santa Barbara has no street lights, which makes the side streets kind of dark for walking. Our hosts were generous with their time and recommendations. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual. The Inn is a great base for exploring Santa Barbara, the coast and the nearby wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear litho,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We hope it is the first of many future visits. I would agree with you that our location is an excellent one for those who want to explore downtown Santa Barbara's exceptional dining scene on foot.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, T4B, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.