We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place. We stayed one night with two children in the majestic suite where the sofa became a sleeping bed for the kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. Quiet place, close to everything, elevator from parking garage right next to the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    106
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
91
365
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

For spouse and I, a big anniversary on the Pacific far from home back East was boosted by the Spanish Garden Inn's wonderful blend of location, style, service and many little touches. The result is exactly what we like most: being away but feeling like we're at home. From long experience, we know excellence is never accidental. The service, the smiles, the breakfast room, the easy garage, Brian's happy enthusiasm at the front desk are all additive. No plastic plants, polyester sheets or dead light bulbs, just quiet terraces and patios to remind you that you are in Southern Califormia even in December. A special place.

Room Tip: Views of the mountains from east-facing windows did the trick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn for the first time in November. it was lovely. Rooms are well appointed, service was extremely good and the breakfast was just perfect. The Inn has a great location. We could walk to dinner each night - although Santa Barbara has no street lights, which makes the side streets kind of dark for walking. Our hosts were generous with their time and recommendations. The atmosphere is comfortable and casual. The Inn is a great base for exploring Santa Barbara, the coast and the nearby wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear litho,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We hope it is the first of many future visits. I would agree with you that our location is an excellent one for those who want to explore downtown Santa Barbara's exceptional dining scene on foot.

Thank you again,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have enjoyed staying at the SGI several times and have always had a spectacular visit. As stated in other reviews the rooms are quite spacious and cosy at the same time. Being that we were there during the holidays the last few years we take Christmas twinkle lights and other holiday amenities to make our digs holiday appropriate.
The continental breakfast and newspaper selection make the morning so pleasant. The cinnamon rolls, smoothies, quiche etc are wonderful as are the breakfast crew that are so helpful.
The central location is another bonus. We truly enjoy parking our car and walking throughout Santa Barbara. You are a hop, skip, and a jump from shopping, great dining, the museum and theaters.
The amenities in the rooms are luxe as well, Molton Brown products and the largest plushest bath towels anywhere. In summary all of the above made our stay memorable, yet again!

Room Tip: We prefer the second floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Jilldeville,

Thank you for making the Spanish Garden Inn a regular part of your holiday festivities. I love that you take the time and effort to decorate your guest room for the season. What a terrific idea!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for just one before returning to Australia from LAX. Good central location in Santa Barbara and also to Los Angeles international airport.

The rooms were clean and spacious, with a lovely view over a private hotel pool in the garden. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had a really enjoyable stay here. Not sure about how this place compares to any other Inn around Santa Barbara, but on its own merits I'd rate it 100%.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Jimmy C,

Thank you for the very nice review. We are happy to hear that, though brief, you enjoyed your time in Santa Barbara. Should your travels bring you stateside again in the future, we would love to welcome you back for a repeat visit.

Have a very Happy Holidays,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This small hotel offers friendly, casual service - rather than formal, reverential service. We were probably expecting something a bit more formal at these prices. The rooms, though, are very comfortable (gas log fire and Molton Brown toiletries).
There is no restaurant. Again, quite a surprise at such an expensive hotel. The main street in Santa Barbara is only a 10-15 minute walk - but the main street is very, very long and you might be walking another 20 minutes to find the restaurant you want. as it rained all the time we were there we used the room service at the hotel. They offer tomato soup and cheese - very nice, but a bit repetitive.
The continental breakfast was laid out on a very attractive buffet. The food was always very good and someone made sure that it was constantly replenished and tidied.
The hotel sign is very discreet (easy to miss) and the car park is unmarked. Fine once you jhave found them - difficult the first time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our "California Friendly" service and, though it might not have been what you were expecting, it sounds like you found it to be a pleasant experience.

Our "Small Bites" room service menu is designed to fill the needs of an afternoon snack or a late night craving. I can understand that you might have found it too small a selection for repeat meals.

Please contact me directly should your travels take you through Santa Barbara again. I'll do my best to guarantee you a warm and sunny stay and get you eating at Santa Barbara's best local restaurants.

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved this hotel. We had a spacious, clean, very comfortable room (room #6, which would be called a suite anywhere else, with living room/fireplace) with tasteful and attractive Santa Barbara-cozy-style decor. Reception staff was excellent, pleasant and helpful. Continental breakfast was delicious.
Well located within a few blocks from the main downtown shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your comments to the Reception staff. The room you stayed in is in fact one of our Junior Suites and is our best selling category due to the extra large sitting area.

We hope to see you at the hotel again before too much time passes. Have a very Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Brian Cogswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.