We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great service make for a great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spanish Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Spanish Garden Inn to your Saves list
Spanish Garden Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and great service make for a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Nicely appointed, comfortable rooms with working fireplace and private patio or balcony make for a great romantic getaway spot. The location can't be beat if you want to spend time shopping and dining on State St. The small size means the amenities of a larger spa resort are lacking but the attention to detail and quality are not lacking at all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    130
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
131
493
23
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Inn of the Spanish Garden is a lovely hotel. We had a Jr. Suite. Spacious and comfortable with a small patio. The staff is friendly and helpful, although there seemed to be a revolving staff of new faces behind the front desk. It is not a 5 star hotel, but has some of the amenities of one. Turn down service, nice breakfast, very clean. Not a great value, as it is rather expensive. The only suggestion I have, which is not uncommon for a small hotel - they should offer an amenity of a glass of wine in the afternoon. If I wanted to be in town, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My only complaint is that I only stayed here one night. This intimate inn is just fabulous. Beautiful, romantic, spacious yet homey rooms that make it hard to leave! The staff are tremendous - friendly, efficient and informative. Rate includes internet, parking and delicious breakfast. I can't wait to come back and spend more time here some day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The inn of the Spanish Garden is a tucked away gem of a hotel. The rooms are well appointed and you can park your car and walk wherever you need to go.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We came up last minute to attend the Michael McDonald (of Doobie Bros. fame) concert to benefit the fantastic local organization "Doctors Without Walls, Santa Barbara Street Medicine". The ISG staff was pleasant and helpful from start to finish, i.e. reservation to check out and in every way during our stay. This little gem of an inn has about 2 dozen rooms, and it feels like a mini Bacara or Biltmore (same splendid California Spanish Mission style architecture and furnishings) two blocks from the center of downtown Santa Barbara. Rooms are large, well appointed and comfortable. I suggest that a second floor room is preferable as other guests can be noisy walking in the rooms above and going up and down stairs. The Inn serves a nice breakfast, complementary with most stays. The location is walking distance to the State Street shopping, cuisine & culture, Next time in SB, this will be our first choice!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor, unless you have trouble with stairs. We could hear guests walking around in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpanishGardenInn, General Manager at Spanish Garden Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear friends - We are so happy that you found our little jewel in downtown Santa Barbara! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Laurie Lawson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level Contributor
242 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A small venue with a big delivery. Very quiet and great for sleeping in. Junior suite was nicely sized with full amenities. If you want a walking tour of SB, you are just three short blocks from State Street, the main shopping and dining area. There is no question, ISG will be our place of choice on any returns to SB.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

After a last minute change in travel plans, we found this hotel for one of our two nights in Santa Barbara. It was very quiet, comfortable and charming. The room had a deep soaking tub, fireplace, french press and small balcony. We asked for another night if there were any cancellations, and they thought they had a room for us, but as it turned out it was booked for someone else. At this point this story could have ended and we still would've been extremely happy with our stay. They then found a room for us at another, more expensive hotel (many hotels were sold out), for the same rate, gave us two bottles of wine and apologized profusely for the confusion. I can't say enough about the extremely high level of service at this small, quaint and quiet Inn. We hope to stay again for more than one night!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spanish Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spanish Garden Inn

Address: 915 Garden Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spanish Garden Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the jewel of luxury boutique Santa Barbara hotels. Spanish Garden Inn offers a sophisticated Spanish-Mediterranean inspired design, quality amenities and close attention to personal service. The hotel epitomizes the vitality of the City and honors its tradition by recreating the history, romance and intrigue of Spanish Colonial Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Spanish Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Spanish Garden Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Of The Spanish Garden
Of The Spanish Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanish Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.