We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max's Restaurant

Max's Restaurant
3514 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2628
805-898-9121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 409 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Fallbrook, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband got the fettuccine Alfredo withy chicken it was very good I got the chicken enchiladas but with this red sauce they have their and it was amazing highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    18
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The food was cooked to perfection. Eggs were as ordered, potatoes very tasty, and the sausage was great. Coffee was delicious, atmosphere was comfortable. Great suggestions and very friendly service from Gabi. She really made our visit nice. Great salsa too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Italian Specialties: Who Knew?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a surprise to find really nicely done Northern Italian cuisine in what I'd always thought of as a good breakfast/lunch cafe on Upper State Street! From the perfectly composed Insalata Caprese to the true scallopini di vitello al' limone, our meal was up to the quality of many of the fine trattorie we knew in Roma. Don't be confused by the name; never mind, it's "Max" and not "Mario" you want to check out for a fine Italian dinner!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent and Original Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This place was across the street from our motel so we decided on our first night to give it a try. If you are out of the downtown area or want to drive up, give Max's a shot. The food is unique and the portion sizes, friendliness of the staff, and menu was fantastic.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Eggs-actly A Place For Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you want efficient service and like omelets, scrambles or any other egg dishes, this is the place for you. The egg frittata is tasty and a meal in itself. But be prepared to have either a homemade biscuit or muffin and potatoes with it. There are many choices of omlettes with a variety of great fillings.
Obviously the locals love it, so why not join them? We plan on making this place a stop when passing through Santa Barbara, Reasonably priced for the quality and amount of food. You won't need lunch!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Max's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.