We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max's Restaurant

Max's Restaurant
3514 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2628
805-898-9121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had the occasion to stop here for lunch on our way up the coast of California. a very interesting menu full of variety. We shared the African Lamb dish which was excellent and enough for two people. The service was prompt. Prices, while a little high were ok when you share.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Won't be back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Food was average, prices were gourmet. Coffee was more expensive than Starbucks or Cottage hospital coffee cart.Just plain brewed coffee.
I don't know what they are thinking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just a regular diner style breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place was recommended by the hotel staff and we went there for breakfast and it was just ok. Nothing really stood out except for the super greasy food on the plate. It wasn't cheap either.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Max's at dinner is not the Max's of breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As locals, we have enjoyed Max's for breakfast and lunch over the years, but chose other "more exciting" places for dinner. That has SO changed lately! Nowadays, Max's becomes "Max's Cucina" at night, and they bring out an Italian menu, offering interesting pastas, meat, chicken and fish dishes that all taste like the classiest, tastiest Italian restaurant in town (and there are many in Santa Barbara). We have been there three times in the past four weeks, and never fail to say "That was the best _____ we have ever tasted"! Their wine list is fairly limited, but does include some wines that were new to us and fun to try. Service is 5-star efficient and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious veggie lasagna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant several times a year for the past maybe 10 years, typically for lunch. This time it was dinner, and the vegetable lasagna split between my mom and I. Absolutely delicious! Generous portions. Amazing carrot soup. My cousin and dad's plates looked equally delicious. Great service. Owner came over herself to check on things. Beautiful local artwork always up and rotating in new pieces.
And last but important...clean bathrooms. Enjoy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Max's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Max's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.