We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Memorabilia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reagan Ranch Center

Reagan Ranch Center
217 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Reagan Ranch Center in downtown Santa Barbara, California is open to the general public for tours and visitation Monday through Thursday from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm. These galleries feature original Reagan Ranch artifacts matched with state-of-the-art, interactive, multimedia exhibits that highlight the history of Ronald Reagan’s quarter-century at Rancho del Cielo and the accomplishments of his presidency.Over six hours of dynamic multimedia exhibits provide access to exclusive speeches, interviews, radio addresses, and original video presentations. The centerpiece of the gallery is a 28-foot-long interactive “timeline” that gives users the ability to explore the “Western White House” during the 1980s.
031397
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lots of Memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I enjoyed seeing the jeep from the ranch. There are letters that he wrote that are interesting too. Only open 1 day a week.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had not even heard of this museum until we read about it on Trip Advisor. What a nice surprise - it ended up being the highlight of our stay in Santa Barbara. This museum is very well done and is conveniently located downtown. There are fascinating relics from Ronald and Nancy Reagan's life at their beloved ranch, such as their jeep. There are fantastic photos, interactive exhibits and an extremely knowledgeable and passionate staff. I could have spent all day here. I highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little dry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nothing special; a little dry and boring. The staff were very nice and knowledgeable, but the exhibit wasn't all that interesting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were walking down State Street when we spotted the Reagan Ranch Center (I'd read about it prior to our trip and had jotted it down as an idea to explore if we had time). We didn't have much time, but we went in anyway and were met by a friendly docent. The docent took us through the main exhibits about Reagan's "Western White House", and we found it very well-done. I only wish we had had more time there! The museum is free, and there's also free (I think there is a time limit perhaps?) parking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As Close As You Can Get To The Ranch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A visit to the Reagan Ranch Center in Santa Barbara is a must see! The Center is free of charge and centrally located in Santa Barbara. The museum is well laid out and has many interesting exhibits that bring you back in time when Ronald Reagan was President. Although it is not overly large, it is a 2 story facility with many audio visual clips of President Reagan during his administration. It is also a history of the Reagan Ranch from the time he purchased it to today. The second floor is collection of art from the ranch. The guides are very friendly and knowledgeable about the ranch.

If you wish to visit the Center, you should plan on spending several hours there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reagan Ranch Center also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Reagan Ranch Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reagan Ranch Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.