We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Wine in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Winemakers

Municipal Winemakers
28 Anacapa Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 931 6864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 131 Activities in Santa Barbara
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: After spending our formative years traveling and studying terroir and techniques, we are now working hard to make honest, interesting, and delicious wines for the people of this world. We do this with love—carefully and slowly.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Wine in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This Winery will not disappoint! We tried the Bright Red red wine which was very good to Excellent! Robust, Full Bodied and fruity light finish! Generous pours and great atmosphere! We were there in the Late Afternoon and is was perfect. Cheese platters available although we did not get one this time! we Ill Be back! Great Wine! Ask for a glass of Bright Red!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Super staff, super good wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located in an old dive shop, this is one of the neatest tasting rooms in Santa Barbara. They make both whites and reds although they usually sell out of the whites so beware. Must be because they are so good. They also make a sparkling red wine called Fizz but it too sells out quickly. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. On some weekends there is a food truck parked out front so you can get some wine and have some great food too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This winery had good wine, but the best part about it was the old-school California feel that the environment in Municipal brings. It has unique decor and a friendly staff. The wine wasn't great but it was good and worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I shared a tasting. The wine was ok...nothing stood out for either of us. Asked to try The Fizz but they were out. Nice atmosphere to sit and relax. We ordered their cheese plate...tasted old...we were starving and ate it anyway:)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to leave this place without a buzz and a few extra bottles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

You can lose yourself in this winery very quickly. My girlfriend at the time (now wife) and I were recommended this place by a bar tender at The Pub as a good spot to side and enjoy a bottle(s) of wine. Be warned no food at this place, only fantastic reds (and whites I'm sure). But they let you bring your own food in. So practice would be go with 8+, bring some pizza pies, buy a bunch of reds and sit outside on the picnic tables.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Winemakers also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Municipal Winemakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Municipal Winemakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.