We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esau's Cafe

Esau's Cafe
721 Chapala St., Santa Barbara, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: (805) 965-4416
1 review
“Timeless Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The portions and quality of food at Esau's is the best in town. The pancakes and French toast are especially notable. The buttermilk buscuits and homemade jam are special.

Consistent. Large portions (consider sharing with an additional side of eggs).

Can't go wrong ever. Come here every time in Santa Barbara.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Really good pancakes! Like the best I've had! Everything else was great too and the service was very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sunday Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Delicious, fast and fresh. Biscuits are huge and yummy. The potatoes were very well done, and my omelet was perfectly cooked just to doneness and not dry at all. Veggies were yummy. Coffee was great, strong and flavorful. Nice atmosphere, but the street noise was a little bit much. (We sat outside)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best breakfast I've had in a very long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A friend recommended Esau's for breakfast. Boy, was he right!!!! The place looks rather un-inspiring, but the omelet and french toast was fantastic. This was the breakfast of champions, and I'd definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“U were all Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Passing through Santa Barbara we decided to stop for breakfast so I looked on trusty Trip Advisor and found Esau. What a fun place. Pitch perfect 72 degrees with a light breeze so we sat out side and shared their Serrano chile omelette with crispy hash browns. The omelette was perfect and loved their roasted pepper salsa on top. Of course we had to also share their biscuits and topped it off with one blueberry germ pancake. The reviews were spot on and we would definitely return. That's why I trust Trip Advisor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esau's Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Esau's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esau's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.