We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for Mike!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Backroads Wine Tour

Santa Barbara Backroads Wine Tour
27 W Anapamu #226, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
+1 805-705-0562
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 131 Activities in Santa Barbara
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the wineries of the Santa Ynez Valley aboard a fleet of comfortable H-1 Hummers. Tours are offered daily from Santa Barbara hotels and include wine tasting fees, lunch and a complimentary wine glass.We are consistently recommended as the BEST WINE TOUR in Santa Barbara for several years by concierge, visitors center and locals alike.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ask for Mike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Mike was the best guide ever! He picked us up at our hotel in an open air Hummer. We were seven women between the ages of 27 and 60! Each one of the wineries we visited were special in their own way. We trusted all the details to Mike, including his choice for our picnic lunch under a shady gazebo...with wine of course,

We could not have asked for a more incredible day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    3
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mike Chase is THE best tour guide. He is from the Santa Barbara area and knows everything about it. He picked me up early and then we went to a couple more stops to pick up other 5 others. We had a brilliant day for driving up into the Santa Ynez mountains. Mike knows his vineyards! He took us to 4 different ones, Carhartt was my favorite, of all the tastings we had there not one was bad. They are a small family run business but if Mike keeps taking folks there they'll soon outgrow themselves! I liked it so much I joined their wine club and can't wait for my first bottles to arrive so I can dream back to this wonderful day. Mike picked up a gourmet lunch for us and we sat outside in one of the vineyards - it was heaven!
Mike was a pleasure to be around and was also a lot of fun. After sampling the wines we hit the old Stagecoach road, and an historical saloon where they pin dollar bills to the ceiling.
Driving back down the mountains we stopped - on the edge - to take a photo of our group (we had never meet before this day but we all got on like a house on fire!) Mike did this by standing on the hummer! It was so windy we thought he was going to get blown off then who would have taken us back :) Thank you Mike, couldn't ask for a better guide! I'm so glad I made the tour.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Fantastic Afternoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did the afternoon tour with Mike. He picked us up at our hotel earlier than the scheduled time of 1pm so that we could maximize our day. We were a group of 7 women and we had the hummer all to ourselves!! We went to 3 amazing wineries and thoroughly enjoyed all 3. We did not book a "lunch provided" tour but Mike was wonderful and stopped at a local shop where we bought lunch items and took them to the gazebo at the winery to eat. (good thing since that winery does 11 tastings!!) I would recommend taking a hat or scarf, a brush, and a hair tie. Mike recommended a delicious restaurant for dinner and dropped us off there on our way back into town. Thanks, Mike!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Incredible way to spend a day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

For those that like a little adventure with their wine, the topless Hummer H1 tour is THE way to go! We booked a mid-week tour to avoid any crowds. Our driver, Mike Chase, picked us up right at the front door of where we were staying. Along with one other couple, we took the scenic drive over the mountains into the Santa Ynez valley and into Los Olivos. What a charming town... and so many tasting rooms you can hardly throw a grape without hitting one. This tour picks wineries based on who is open at the time and who they think you will enjoy. Our favorite was Carhartt! Small garden tasting area, best staff around, and every wine was great! We joined the club. The picnic lunch provided in the tour was GREAT! Best gourmet sandwich I have had! On the way back to Santa Barbara we stopped at the historic Coldwater Tavern, an old stagecoach stop, for a pint. We will definitely be heading back there for dinner sometime.

Backroad Wine Tours gave us a full day of great fun, nice people, and very tasty wines. Take a hat, sunscreen, and some bottled water for the times in the truck in between stops.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very organized and exciting while being informative, the wine and sandwiches were great, our driver Mike knew history and was ca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were picked up at our hotel driven to the Santa Ynez area stopped at a large beautiful winery then off to the smallest tasting room. In the world (Carharrt) joined the wine club the off to another taste tried 8 pours then had lunch in the vineyard. We stopped for a beer at a local country bar and then went to our last winery driving through country roads in our bright yellow doorless roofless Hummer. Had some more wine then stopped at a turn of the century tavern for a final drink. We had a great time! Don't forget to tip your driver they are safe and knowledgeable and earn their living on tips! Mike Chase was our driver did a great job and created our safe friendly environment thank you Mike!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Backroads Wine Tour also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Backroads Wine Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Backroads Wine Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.