We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jane

Jane
1311 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2609
805-962-1311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 409 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fairly new
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific place. Great Sangria, but also lots of local wines. Lamb sausage is fabulous & it is in several dishes. Mussels in cream sauce, oh my. Coconut cake yummy. Just go!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    92
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good for an evening out with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have visited Jane many times since it opened. The menu is very solid, with a lot of flavor in all the dishes we have tried. Our favorite dessert is the Coconut Cake.

If you are in the mood, they have a large communal dining table in the center of the restaurant - otherwise ask for a smaller table near the front or upstairs.

Parking is a bit tricky, so plan on arriving early.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everything was delicious and fresh. Very reasonable for lunch in SB. All four dishes (pasta, salad, burger, sandwich) were excellent and worthy of ordering again. I gladly recommend Jane.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice service and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I like Jane. I really like the relaxed ambiance and decor. I ate here once before and this was my second time. I thoroughly enjoyed my meal (the seafood stew in a coconut sauce). Really different and very fresh fish. We thought we'd try the onion rings. They were good but too much for two people. I loved the coconut cake. My daughter ordered pasta with butter and parmesan. Unfortunately it was very bland and she didn't eat it. I should have sent it back but I only tried it at the end of our meal. I think they took it off our bill, which I appreciate. Recommend.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Santa Barbara for a few days and "discovered" Jane while exploring State Street. Very Nice lunch time ambience! I had a Greek salad and my Wife had the crab and mango salad with a glass of Chardonnay. The waitress was exceptional as we're the salads and the wine! A must for our next visit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jane also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.