We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paris, but for one weird dish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Valentien

Le Petit Valentien
1114 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 92101
(805) 966-0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 450 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Almost Paris, but for one weird dish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A treat. Period. Sunday night prix fixe with four set courses (choice of dessert, but only from what's left) was good value. Wine choices by the glass beat many other lists by the bottle. The Paring Pinot was delicious. The setting, decor and service were great, especially the Marx Brothers as art on the wall. The only wrinkle was the odd couple appetizer: a delicious clam with pieces of roated chicken. It looked odd and the two added nothing to one another. All the other food, and there was plenty of it, was wonderful. This felt like Paris except for that disoriented course.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    36
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This restaurant is wonderful. Romantic, great service. We shared an amazing rack of lamb...maybe the best I've had in a long time. The service was great. There was live music the was nice, and not too loud. I would definitely go back

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've dined here before, but this was the best experience we've had. Each dish was excellent, and the Wagyu hangar steak (*I am normally skeptical of such labels as being hype to raise prices rather than denote quality Wagyu beef) was outstanding. Service friendly and efficient and prices quite reasonable. The atmosphere is French Bistro"ish" and they had music which began at 7 PM on Friday night. In good weather, seats are available outside. Worth a stop. Appetizers $9; mains $19, with $2 supplement for either scallops or Wagyu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Pretty place, polite service, food a bit lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice evening here, but the food lacked something. It's a pretty restaurant and we ended up outside as it was a nice night. There were a couple different tables with French speakers, which was a plus- it felt like a bistro. The appetizer was pretty good, but the veal and my husband's duck were just sort of plain, even a little tasteless. Also, I received a glass of wine from a bottle that had clearly been opened too long, it was sour!

We probably won't be in Santa Barbara again, but I would say le petit Valentien would be a fine place to try, but we probably wouldn't return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Terrific meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We ate at Le Petit Valentien on a recent Sunday evening, whent he price fixe menu was offered. Based on previous reviews, we wondered if the 4 course meal would be sufficient as others had complained about portion size. We left VERY satisfied and fulfilled with our meal! From start to finish, this was a great experience. We had reservations, and were seated promptly. The little shopping arcade where Le Petit is located is very romantic, and so was the inside of this restaurant. From start to finish, our meal was excellent. In particular, the evening's fish, a pan-seared salmon, was wonderful. There was absolutely nothing to complain about here. Because the price fixe was very reasonably priced ($24 for a 4-course meal), we added the recommended wine tastings with each course, and enjoyed them very much. Our server suggested that if we wanted to, we could have half glasses of wine with each course, at a smaller cost - we appreciated this. A huge plus here was the attentive service. Although the restaurant was very busy, we never felt rushed, and staff members took the time to talk to us, check into see how we were enjoying our meal, and even chat with us about the building. It soon became clear that many oft he customers were repeat visitors; the staff greeted many with hugs and by name. We had eaten in Bouchon a few nights before, and had felt that the service was OK but a little cold, but here we felt warmly welcomed throughout the meal. Our only regret is that we don't have a similar restaurant near our home. We would return every Sunday! A real gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Valentien also viewed

Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 
Santa Barbara, CA
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Le Petit Valentien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Valentien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.