We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara Elegance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Santa Barbara Elegance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Lovely historic property with beautiful grounds impeccably landscaped and well maintained. Resort is spread out given it was once a large estate of Mr. Biltmore. Beautiful and dramatic common areas. All amenities including an extravagant beach club that is absolute fun. Decent small gym and nice spa. Rooms are average to nice depending on choice. Most have no major view.
Highly recommend this property given unique history and a part of the Four Seasons family of top rated properties.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    184
    80
    41
    26
See reviews for
271
511
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were very disappointed with the poor service of this hotel - extremely different than Four Seasons in EU and from what you would expect from a so called luxury hotel.
The room itself was quite old and didn't smell too nice + we could hear neighbouring doors slam all the time. The resort is also extremely big and noisy so not where you would like to stay if you're looking for a secluded environment. They also seem to host quite a few company events.
The only reason why I am giving this hotel an "average" and not a "poor" is because we could check-out 2 nights early and weren't charged for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. I want to sincerely apologize that you were left with a disappointing impression of our property and staff. I'm sorry for the noise problems and disturbances from our other nearby guests. We make every effort to ensure a peaceful and flawless experience for all and it seems we fell short in providing this during your stay. I would like to hear more details regarding your time at the Resort so that we can address how we missed the mark and get a better understanding of where we can improve our service in hopes to welcome you back one day to Santa Barbara. Please contact me at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuburg, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We where celebrating the 86 birthed of my mother and ordered flowers for her room in advance. Unfortunately the check in at 3:30pm was delayed and the flowers where not at her room. My room had a children bed inside. Check in was a disaster. The rest of our stay was very nice, good to very good rooms, very good service. Very nice Bar, the restaurant is ok, there are very nice possibilities in the near area. Try Luckys and Trattoria Mollie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at FS SB. They made us feel at home during our vacation. Always smiling hotel staff, recognizing us by names and custom made service. Another great experience and vacation. Than you FS SB. Remarkable Valet Service.

Room Tip: Any cottage room, especially 6's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spend two nights at this resort. The goal was to relax after almost two weeks of driving and walking around US. The location was great and the room was decent for a 5 stars resort but nothing spectacular. I liked the dressing in the room. Otherwise nothing special. The food was good (especially at Tydes restaurant).

My husband was training for an Ironman and one important reason to chose this resort was the 50 m pool where he could train. While browsing TripAdvisor and the resort's website it was not clear to us that we needed to pay extra to swim there. So you can imagine our surprise when we found out at the reception that we need to pay USD 200/day to be able to swim. That is extraordinary expensive. I understand it is a five star resort and it "should" be expensive but almost 2/3 of the room rate... We were very disappointed and of course we did not pay the fee.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Santa Barbara. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at Tydes, but I am truly sorry that there was a miscommunication about our members-only beach club. There is a $200 daily access fee for Superior and Deluxe room categories in order to maintain the privacy and exclusivity of the club. This should have been explained to you during the reservations process and other options provided. I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and your husband, and would welcome the opportunity to personally speak with you further. We would love to be able to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Santa Barbara.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel was in a great location, but internet was extra and some of the hotel staff gave mixed messages regarding the dining options. Room was great but lighting was terrible where we stayed at which was very secluded. Parking was extra and our pull-out bed was not made as promised until we went to the front desk to inquire a 2nd time. I felt like I just wasted a lot of time dealing with issues that should have been taken care of for the amount we paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monarch Beach, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We recently stayed two nights at the Four Seasons. The hotel rooms were spacious but a bit dark. The complimentary internet was only for two devices (we had four) and slow.

The hotel grounds were very nicely kept and there were two fitness gyms (even though one was flooded and closed for a few days). There are two nice pools and one spa. The service at the hotel was very professional and friendly.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and lunch at the Coral Beach Club was very good.

The hotel location is very close to downtown Santa Barbara and Montecito. Given the horrendous traffic on the two lane highway through Santa Barbara, we were happy to be where we were. You can easily walk around the premises. We have always stayed in Goleta in the past, but I think we will come back to the Four Seasons when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.