We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable night in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable night in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon, and it was amazing. The grounds are just beautiful- you could spend hours just looking at the exotic plants alone. The staff is exceptional and made sure we were taken care of from the very start. It is truly an amazing hotel and I would highly recommend it for any special occasion in Santa Barbara. It made our honeymoon very memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    187
    82
    41
    26
See reviews for
276
522
28
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The minute you drive past the beach entrance, enter the property and view the lobby you know that this is a special place

Unfortunately the room (and we had a Premier room) did not meet the expectations of the property's first impression. It felt like some of the furniture that you see in the website had been removed. The musty smell didn't dissipate after opening the windows for a few hours.

Overall, a disappointment

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I loved our 3 night stay at this gorgeous property (and also loved the "Stay 2 nights/3rd Night Free" offer). I would always ask for a 2nd floor room. Ours was 427 and it had a beautiful outlook onto the back gardens, jacaranda tree and was quite near the impressive Moreton Bay Fig tree. I found this to be very serene and the train passing was almost imperceptible. I much preferred this lovely picturesque background sound to the noise of kids at the smaller pool on the grounds.
We enjoyed going across to the Club Casino mostly to do a bit of swimming and then thoroughly enjoy the sauna and steam, although you can also totally indulge at the smaller, more intimate Spa facilities at the hotel, which also allows you to do the steam and sauna at no additional charge. I had to take advantage of the massage, as well, which was fabulous. 50 minutes was perfect!
I loved the garden tour at 11 a.m., led by the head gardener, Zeke. What an enjoyable character. It's fun, if you enjoy plants. I'd also recommend you try to reserve a 2 hr. tour at Lotusland (just 10 min. up the hill by car). That was amazing!

I found all of the staff at this hotel to be wonderfully accommodating and cheerful. This really is a very special resort, especially for families, since it offers so much in the way of activities.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and away from the pool area. Don't worry about the trains (unless you're in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am a Santa Barbara native, and have lived there on and off much of my life. I've seen the community evolve over the past 50+ years. However, some things never change, and that is the incredible beauty of the Pacific Ocean.
I was visiting my son and he surprised me with a stay at the Biltmore for my birthday. We had a fantastic lunch, and enjoyed the pool and spa.
If you are fortunate enough to stay at the Four Seasons Resort at the Biltmore. You will find yourself in the midst of Santa Barbara class and coastal casual. This is where you can relax, and be pampered, with remarkable views, as well as beach accesses. The amenities are limitless.
There are many dining choices. My favorite was having brunch with my 5 yr old grand daughter, where we sat outdoors overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: If you intend to spend time in your room just relaxing and enjoying the view, please specify this to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Travelling back from Napa was excuse enough to spend a night here (way too short of a stay). Valet had key to our room (this is new, no more standing in long lines at reception <just kidding>). We usually stay in a bungalow as we bring our Bouviers but as we were solo, our one night stay was in main building, room 716. This was a noisy room. With cobblestones outside our ground floor room, we were woken to staff wheeling carts (much prefer to be woken to the choo choo of the nightly train). There was also some unnecessary late night or early morning shouting by staff.
We spent almost two full days by the Coral Casino pool. Never want to leave. Excellent lunch by the pool.
You cannot go wrong staying at this property.

Room Tip: Not in the one we were in. Bungalows are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The European, historically grown style of the hotel, including many details like the glazed tiles and the perfectly cultivated gardens convey that the place is looked after with love, one feels treated in the same way. The Deluxe room with a garden terrace was marvellous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome your family back again the next time you visit Santa Barbara. I'm delighted you noticed the care we put into all of the details for our guests and will pass on your compliments to our staff. I wish you all well!

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Everyone should treat themselves to a stay at the Santa Barbara Biltmore at least once. I have stayed there many times over the past few decades and I have never been disappointed. The historical aspects of the hotel buildings and the grounds and location are incomparable. The hotel is impeccably run by Four Seasons and all staff are well trained and extremely focused on customer service. One tip, the rooms facing the swimming pool are lovely but noisy due to children swimming during the day and adults in the Jacuzzi at night. If you close the windows there is no sound but it is lovely to leave the windows open at night and smell the fragrant plants blooming on the grounds. The food is great, and we especially recommend the buffet breakfast. I visited this last time with my 18 year old son and he was never bored. If I ever win the lottery or inherit lots of money I will permanently live at the Biltmore!

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated beautifully. Some rooms on the ground floors are dark due to the lush plants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.