We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Pinecrest, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't know if it was more the architectural charm, the lighting and the weather in Santa Barbara, the service or the location of the resort, but certainly all contributed to the magnificent stay that we had at the Four Seasons / Biltmore in Santa Barbara. The trip was a combination of business meetings and play, and the hotel catered to both in a fabulous way. A plus was the ability to use the Coral casino Beach and Cabana Club across the street (no gambling - just in the name). We will certainly return and cannot wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    179
    74
    38
    26
See reviews for
264
488
25
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

In addition to this property being beautiful and immaculate, we experienced possibly the best service of anywhere we have ever been. EVERYONE from the bell person greeting us at the entrance to the maid who tended our room was incredibly kind and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and welcoming. The wait staff in the dining room made a special point of remembering our names so the next time we would arrive for our meals, they knew us. Nothing was too much to ask for. If you didn't like the vegetable or starch provided with your entree, we were asked what we would prefer instead, and we were ALWAYS accomodated with such. The "bonus" cabana club and private beach across the street were plus pluses to this lovely experience. I HIGHLY recommend this property. We can't wait until we return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a beautiful historic property built in the 1920s that was acquired by the Four Seasons and renovated. For that reason, it's worth a visit if you are traveling to California and really want to get a taste of Spanish colonial style architecture. The property has a lot of character and I applaud the Four Seasons for not trying to transform it into a nondescript modern-day resort property. However, for that reason, it also feels outdated; the floorboards creak, the walls are thin, there is a sense that the place has seen better days. You just can't win it all.

That being said, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The service was impeccable. There are little touches where the Four Seasons hospitality really shines through. For example, we arrived on my child's birthday; the front desk immediately arranged for a birthday cake and gift of fruits, snacks, and a Four Seasons beach mat to be delivered to the room. The bathroom has wipes to remove tar that you might step on at the beach. They put ear plugs in the closet in case the train bothers you. They had free coffee and tea in the morning, chilled waters in the gym, and bowls of apples scattered around the property. The hotel had light activities for the guests (e.g., margarita tasting one afternoon, games of croquet every afternoon, smores a few evenings for the kids, etc.). I recommend taking the garden tour as the grounds have a large variety of plants, old trees, and an organic herb garden which supplies herbs for the kitchen. Our guide, who has worked there a long time, knew about every plant there and what was easy to grow in the climate. The Coral Casino beach club across the street is a great place to hang out. There, you can swim in a large pool (laps if you're serious or a separate roped off section for kids), walk down to the beach, or just lounge in the sun with an oceanfront view. (By the way, you won't see the sun set over the water because the coast line faces south at that location). You can play foos-ball and ping pong there too. The locker room is gorgeous!

At the main resort, there is a small 24 hour gym with water in the fridge, gatorade, headphones, and apples; pool for the kids; and two hot tubs set at different temperatures.(warm for families, hot for adults only). There are tennis courts but I believe you have to pay court fees. There are nice walking trails all around the grounds and along the coast. Kid for All Seasons was closed during the time we were there which was too bad; we would have liked to go in just to play games or watch movies even if child care was not provided.

Re: food - It is really expensive to eat at the property. A short drive away will take you to a nearby street called Coast Village Road with great little restaurants including a breakfast/gourmet sandwich shop named Jeannines, and a Mexican place called Los Arroyos.

Room - we had an executive suite which was comfortable but the bed was a little on the soft side. If you are sensitive to noise, request a room that is away from the conference area. Usually the noise dies down after business hours, but I was awoken a few mornings at 7:30 because our room overlooked the courtyard by one of the conference rooms. Bathroom had radiant heated floors which was a nice touch, and a rather roomy bath tub with separate shower. It was outfitted in Spanish tile to match the character of the buildings.

All in all, Santa Barbara is a slow-paced, coastal city and we returned from our stay there feeling (and looking, or so we were told) completely relaxed and recharged. Because we weren't running around trying to do a lot of things, we spent a lot of time together as a family, and the large property was conducive to just hanging out with the kids. It is pricey and not a good "value" - but then again, if your objective is just relaxing and staying at a beautiful oceanfront place with excellent service, this would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is away from the conference rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amazing incredible stay. Beautiful room - fantastic service. We loved it! It was such a peaceful place to spend our babymoon. We went during a "stay nights and get the 3rd one free" - so it was a great deal as well. It was quiet and completely luxurious. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at the Resort. We’re delighted to hear that you spent your “babymoon” with us and that you were able to enjoy your time before the arrival of your little one. I want to wish you well and hope that we can welcome you back again as a family!

Warm Regards,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565-8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location, however the hotel is outdated and the rooms need a refurb. The rooms are noisy and don't have any sound proofing - we could hear people walking into their rooms at 2 am and our room door shook as other people opened their doors!

We were asked on check in if we wanted an upgrade to a sea view room for $50, which we accepted and then had to wait 2 hours for our room, making check in 4.30 when we were only staying for 1 night. Upon checkout this showed on our bill as an extra $185 which was only honoured after a referral to the supervisor. Also wifi was charged to the room after this had been agreed that this had been included.

Overall we were disappointed and would not return to this hotel. Poor service and they only seem to be interested if you are on a conference or spending big $$. Not worth the money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you did not enjoy your time here. I've noted the noise issue that you mentioned and appreciate your feedback as it helps us to continuously improve on our guests' overall experience. I apologize for the disruption and hope that you will consider a future stay with us. I would welcome the chance to speak with you further.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
p. (805) 565- 8202
e. Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived late after a difficult travel day and were relieved to see the cot we requested ready for our child. Room service was fresh and prompt - best fresh squeezed orange juice ever. Our very clean, recently renovated room was right by front entrance/valet and I wondered if it might be noisy though it was surprisingly quiet - woke up to the sound of the ocean.

Coming from a very snowy winter, we were excited to find that the courtyard pool area among the main buildings is lush, sheltered and much warmer than the beach. Great walking path in front of hotel where our child watched dolphins swim off shore and tracked a tiny bunny through the flowered shrubs: magical Easter treat!

Well worth the expense. Wish we had stayed longer, would love to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The property is well located on the cost, the cottages are very private and nice. The only negative would be the operation of the Bella Vista restaurant, which was not up to the standards of the Four Seasons. We had service problems at breakfast on our first day and dinner there was not memorable. The lunch on the restaurant's patio was fine. The lounge was very good for service as well as offerings. Only other negative, a rail line next to the property wakes one up just before 7 AM each morning!

Room Tip: Cottages are very private; we enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.