We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Great staff, views, caring staff. There is a large swimming pool over the road from the hotel, which is free to use for residents. Superb views of the ocean. Excellent stay and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed behind the smaller pool in the hotel. Excellent room and completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    725
    170
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
246
465
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

A beautiful hotel with great service in a spectacular location. The grounds are well maintained and one feels like they are in a private garden. Expensive but worth the money. The food is only mediocre but Santa Barbara has a number of pretty good restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Everything about this experience was simply woeful. When booking we were promised a sea view, they only have 12 rooms with sea views - i cant verify that. We were given Room 814 - the front desks comment "that's my favourite room", yet no mention of the earthquake simulations caused by the freight trains that rumble past less than 10 yards from the room - dont expect to get a good nights sleep. Extortionate prices and wifi is an extra - simply petty and definitely not worth the price. My worst hotel experience in years and I travel extensively in both first and third world countries.

Room Tip: Just don't go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am very disappointed to hear that your stay with us was less than you had expected. I apologize that we could not accommodate your request for an ocean view. I have followed up with the Reservations team to clarify that we do not guarantee this room type during the booking process and am sorry for the misunderstanding. As for the train noise, we do try to warn our guests prior to their stay that for over 100 years, the California coastal railroad has run behind the property. As a result, a passing train may be heard throughout the resort. I apologize for the disruption and hope that you will consider a future stay with us. I welcome speaking with you further, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
Email: Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Phone: (805) 565-8202
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent 4 days at this hotel and had a great time. The hotel itself is very beautiful and rich in history. The rooms are very quiet and comfortable, and the fireplaces are a nice touch. The food in the restaurants and lounges was on par with other 4S hotels (creative menu with no misses) and the service, as expected, was incredible. What we remembered the most about this hotel was the variety of activities that we had access to: fantastic tennis courts, the MOST AMAZING swimming pool at the club across the street (with a great poolside restaruant too), access to bicycles, croquet and tons of paths for running and exploring. The spa was very serene and we received fantastic treatments there. Our stay was seamless and we had no idea that we would have so much fun in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my first experience with a Four Seasons hotel and it will not be my last. The property and grounds were beautiful and beautifully maintained. It perfectly married modern amenities to a great older hotel. The staff made us feel extremely welcome, always greeting us by name and making a special point of interacting with our young son. I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013. Beautiful historic hotel with wonderful grounds. Great location just minutes away from downtown Santa Barbara. We had a fireplace in our room and could hear the surf rolling in all night with our balcony doors open. Wonderful, blissful, beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Overall, this is a beautiful property in a great location.

There were a few glitches, but staff did their best to compensate:

- Tried to check-in ~4:30 but room was not ready; front desk offered to host a drink and appetizers at the restaurant while we waited for our room. Waiter brought a bill for the appetizers but when we informed him they were hosted, he went to check and came back apologizing for his mistake.

- Asked for an espresso machine for the room, were told there was none, and were brought a cheap Cuisinart coffee maker. Our second morning we again asked for an espresso machine and this time got an Illy espresso maker. We suffered through two days of bad coffee unnecessarily.

- We ordered lots of room service. First night, ordered dinner from Tydes next door and they coordinated with the Four Seasons restaurant to deliver it to our room. Had the salmon and the tagliatelle with lobster and mushrooms - but they delivered the pasta without the lobster and mushrooms. We sent everything back so they could get the correct order and so we could eat at the same time and all the food would be at the proper temperature. All other room service orders went smoothly. Food was delicious.

- Multiple charges for the Internet, but they removed them from the bill at check-out.

Met/exceeded expectations:

- They went ahead and put the luggage in the room while we were enjoying our drinks
- Nice bathroom products (Bulgari) and amenities (e.g., robes and slippers; the large bathroom had a heated tile floor)
- Gas fireplace really cozied up the place
- Well stocked gift shop with varied selection and reasonable prices
- Generally responsive, friendly staff
- Convenient walk across the street for easy access to the beach, sunsets, and the private club, gym, yoga
- Quick walk up the street to ogle the Beanie Baby mogul's house
- Bikes available
- Short drive to shops, restaurants, and markets in Montecito
- Loved being able to throw open the doors and windows to let the sound of the waves and the fresh air in

Disappointments:

- By 7 am, the breakfast muffins were gone... Really? For $1500/night, I expect breakfast muffins!
- Separate charges for self-parking and Internet - these should be included in the rate
- Again, disappointed that Four Seasons did not get the request for the espresso machine right the first time - did not like drinking run of the mill coffee for two days when we could have been drinking espressos the whole time

Caution:

- Walls and doors are actually pretty thin
- No elevator (at least, not in our building)
- Could use a few more lights along the walking paths at night (I brought a flash light which was handy)
- Could hear the train from time to time but we were in a room facing the ocean, so it was no big deal. If you are in a room closer to the tracks and are a light sleeper, it could be a problem.

Room Tip: Apparently very few rooms have a view of the ocean, so if that is what you want, be explicit
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.