We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Spanish luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #6 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Vintage Spanish luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel about a half dozen times over as many years as my industry holds its annual conference here. My stays have been consistently enjoyable.
First, this is a unique property. The ocean view is beautiful with wonderful sunsets. (You will want to plan to have breakfast onsite with the ocean view. The room is very nice with a fireplace.) If you are a nature lover, or even just an admirer of flora, the grounds will astound you. They have a tremendous variety of plants and most are labeled. Its unlike anything I've ever seen and I've stayed at quite a few nice resorts and many of them were in tropical locations where you might expect something similar. There are many gigantic trees that are simply amazing. The buildings are of a Spanish style complete with nice tile work that give you an old-world feel. Paths and common areas are dimly lit in the evening and the whole property is quite romantic. Santa Barbara has a good variety of high quality restaurants nearby so you won't lack for possibilities.
The staff is always accomodating and they even allow pets. We took our dogs one year and they laid out dog treats and bowls for them.
If I had any warning it would be that the resort is so dense with vegetation that most of the rooms don't get ample sunlight. I could see where this might be an issue for some. Also, I think it is always cool in Santa Barbara so bring a jacket even in summer. You should be fine to swim as the pool is heated.

Room Tip: I've stayed here many times. Sunlight can be scarce in rooms so if this is important you should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    725
    170
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
246
465
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Hello. If I could give Four Seasons more than an excellent rating; I certainly would. I worked with Mr. Mestraud, Tanya, Maria and Joe all at different times in planning my proposal to my now fiancée. Every single person in this hotel was wonderful. EVERY person. I asked for a lot, and they delivered on every request I made and then some.

I was given the option to reserve a suite with an ocean view. Best decision I could have made. The suite was huge and had a great deck overlooking the Pacific. Couldn't ask for anything better.

For the proposal, I made a path of rose petals from the front door suite, down the hallway, through the living room and wrapping around to the balcony. Music played with candles and rose petals overlooking the ocean. Joe escorted my fiancée to the room from the spa. She walked in and followed the petals to find me waiting to "pop" the question. I did. And she said YES!

I couldn't have pulled this off without the help of every single staff member at the hotel. HUGE thanks to Tanya, Maria and Joe at the concierge desk and the hotel manager Michael. Santa Barbara is beautiful. We fell in love with this hotel and city and we are planning on getting married at this hotel based on our overall experience; along with the beautiful scenery.

Every day we would walk into the room and find a special surprise of chocolate, or champagne, or truffles, and nice notes from staff. It was fantastic! Impeccable service!!!

If you want to be whisked away into a romantic setting with your loved one, this hotel and location is the place to be.

Thank you Four Seasons for a memorable, romantic, beautiful 7 days in Santa Barbara, California.

Our stay - 12/28 thru 1/3/13

Room Tip: Suites are the way to go for a romantic trip. Quiet, peaceful and fun. Definitely rent bikes and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This first class luxury hotel was running a "buy 2 nits, get 1 nite free" special. We opted for the slightly larger room with fireplace due to the cold holiday weather. The regular rate was $655/ nite. So, the special was a substantial break. Our room was spacious with a walk in closet. The bathroom had a heated tile floor and a steam room built into the shower. Our room had a peek a boo ocean view.

The hotel was nicely decorated for the Christmas holiday. The grounds were kept immaculate. They have a putting green and croquette on the grounds. Also, they have a nice pool heated to ~ 90 degrees. As a guest... You also have access to a beach club situated across the street from the hotel ( on the beach ). The beach club is a great place for dining with an ocean view. Also, they have an Olympic size lap pool and spacious cabanas.

Valet parking is easy... $31 / nite

We really enjoyed their Christmas dinner buffet. The food was excellent for a buffet.
Included king crab legs, caviar, suishi, shrimp, lobster risotto, carving stations with prime rib, turkey and salmon. Dessert was a treat... Too many items to describe.

This is a wonderful hotel to relax and unwind. You feel pampered here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Biltmore/Four Seasons is one of those hotels you need to include on your bucket list. We love staying at historical properties and this one did not disappoint. The grounds are stunning and we had great pleasure walking around the property looking at all the gardens. We stayed in one of the bungalows which was beautifully decorated with understated elegance. A bucket of chilled champagne and strawberries were waiting for us upon our arrival. Nice touch. The staff were all cordial and professional - what you would expect at a Four Seasons. Our only meals were for breakfast and sitting on the terrace at the Bella Vista overlooking the Pacific is the way I wish I could start each morning. We enjoyed our pre-dinner cocktails in the lounge sitting by the fireplace each evening - elegant surroundings without being stuffy. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Four Seasons for one night on our California coastal vacation. We loved the hotel grounds and the location as it's literally across the street from the Pacific. The restaurants are well situated and we enjoyed breakfast and drinks outside in the cool California weather. Our room (465) was a bit outdated for our taste but was very clean. It had no view whatsoever as it faced the "inner courtyard" but really we stared into the leaves of an overgrown palm tree. The Four Seasons is known for its service but there were a few times my wife found it lacking. Overall, we had a pretty good experience but left wondering if we had received a good value. Our one night total for room, breakfast and one round of cocktails was just over $700. No regrets but I might do it slightly differently if there's a next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is our 2nd holiday vacay at The Biltmore. We had such an amazing time last year, we decided to return again and this time we were able to enjoy the spa, and the restaurants.

We had requested the same cottage we had last year, but was given one closer to the train tracks. The noise was bearable, just that my 20-month old toddler was scared everytime the loud train went by...We were glad he slept through the night.

Our first night sleep was not too pleasant because the crib they gave us was really small. During spa the next day (which was spectacular), I mentioned lightly to the therapist, joking about our son's feet on my face the entire night...and VOILA. 10 minutes after returning to my room, a man showed up with a large roller bed, without me even requesting for one and he set everything up for us so that my son could have his own bed. We were WOWED! AMAZING!!!

We had room service twice and ate at Bella Vista 3 times; once for Sunday Brunch which was so so for me, but my husband liked it, once for afternoon tea, which we thought was rather underwhelming, and once for dinner which we thought was REALLY scrumptious (especially the buttered truffle pasta!).

Overall an amazing experience albeit the rain for 4 days straight. And my son was given cute little Beenie babies everywhere he went!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent our first anniversary here. Stayed at San Ysidro Ranch for our honeymoon and decided to try this property by the beach this year. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and strawberries in our room. Had a wonderful stay in a deluxe cottage suite. Exceptional service. Really impressed with in-room dining service. Food was prepared and delivered perfectly. Wonderful spa treatment with a very knowledgable massage therapist, in a room with an ocean view so you can hear the waves during your massage. Excellent service from everyone at the hotel. I thought it would be hard to beat San Ysidro Ranch, but we were pleasantly surprised. Great to be across the street from Butterfly Beach and have access to the Coral Casino. Looks like we will have to alternate between the two properties now.

Room Tip: Cottages offer more privacy. Some people complain about the train, but it is really not that loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.