We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grounds, great bar, great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Francisco, Ca
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great grounds, great bar, great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel and our room was everything I expected... low-key elegance. I didn't find the staff "snooty" or cold, but they didn't gush, either. But they offered us professional services, answered all our questions, and filled all our our requests, as did the bar/dining staff.
We were upgraded in our room from standard to deluxe, with a 2nd floor view of the gardens. It was very quiet and peaceful.
The biggest thing we didn't like was the location (which, obviously, I knew about in advance). Next time, I'd look for a deluxe hotel closer to Old Town, but on this trip I wanted to be in a calmer setting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    203
    89
    46
    28
See reviews for
321
612
32
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

As a wedding coordinator, I cannot recommend enough the Four Seasons Biltmore in Montecito. From the staff (all professional, courteous, and quick to jump in and take care of any issues)...to the location (across from the beach...pristine gardens....beautiful banquet halls)...to the food (delicious, perfectly prepared and presented)..the Biltmore is a DREAM for any bride and groom. A huge thank you to the Catering Manager, Maria, for making sure all the little details were attended to. For my bride, and her 200+ wedding guests, the Biltmore was the perfect ending for their reception. If you are going to get married once...you might as well do it right- and the Biltmore will take care of EVERYTHING for you!

Room Tip: The Loggia Room is simply stunning....all the silverware/chairs/tables/linens are just lovely. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful location and excellent staff but old and musty smelling rooms and hallways. Elevator smelled bad, carpeting in hallways and elevator worn out. Looks like the rooms have seen better days and need extensive updating. TV remote control power buttons lettering was orn out. i don't mind paying the $395 per night for 5* accomodations but not when I'm getting 2* value.

Room Tip: Not worth the rates hey charge because you are getting 2* hotel value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your recent stay. The property was fully renovated in 2007, but we are taking a look at the items you mentioned and truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you also for your positive comments on our location and staff. I would be happy to speak with you further regarding your stay, please contact me anytime at your convenience.

Best regards,

Michael Mestraud
Resort Manager
Phone: (805) 896-1419
Email: Michael.Mestraud@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. My husband and 2 boys (9 and 6) had a great time at The Biltmore. The beach club across the street was ideal. Service was outstanding. Babysitting service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the swimming pool. very quiet and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The signature cocktails are great and the "bar food" is second to none! The mood in this place is old school elegant meets the beach. I love this hotel whether staying for the night or just stopping by for an afternoon cocktail. An amazing date spot if you want to share it with someone special. If you're lucky, you might even spot a pod of dolphin lazily passing by and if you're there at day's end, the sunsets are awesome - especially in the Winter and Fall when there are some clouds to add drama :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Four Seasons twice now. We will continue to stay there every time we are in Santa Barbara. The hotel is right on the ocean, it is an easy walk into town and lovely restaurants. We had appetizers and drinks in the bar for dinner a couple of nights, took some people to the restaurant for dinner one night--the food is excellent both places. Couple of things to be aware of, there is no ice machines so you need to call housekeeping to get ice (a little inconvenient) and wi-fi is not included, not a big deal for us as we travel with our own hot spot, but not everyone does. Coffee and muffins are available VERY early in the bar. Great for us as we are very early risers and need a cup of coffee for our first stoll of the day on the beach

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If your'e looking for a beautiful luxury getaway the Four Seasons Biltmore is the place. The grounds are nothing more than a spectacular and amazing scene of a mediterranean garden filled with palm trees, ferns and beautiful flowers. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful, especially the front desk and concierge. The quest rooms are very nice and emanate the luxury of a mexican resort. It was my birthday weekend and never have been to Santa Barbara. We were upgraded to an ocean view front and when we entered the room there was a birthday cake on the dresser. We rented bikes and strolled along the beach which is right in front of the resort. Being an extremely picky traveler, I can honestly say this is the luxury resort you've been searching for! It was one of the most memorable experiences and I will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must if you are planning to stay in this luxury resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.