We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Biltmore is a beautiful historic hotel in Santa Barbara. The location is outstanding, the service is impeccable and it's incredibly romantic.
Have stayed here many times over the years and it's always lovely.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the second grade of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    179
    73
    38
    26
See reviews for
263
487
24
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a great time at a beautiful resort. Room was not large but beautifully appointed.
Garden view, but private patio and super bathroom amenities and tub.

Shower was fabulous.

Blah, blah, blah, blah ... am I at 200 characters yet? That's all I have for now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My daughter and I were in Santa Barbara at the end of June to visit UCSB and stayed at this beautiful resort. We were only there for three nights - wish we had planned to stay longer. Everything about this place is amazing. I loved our room, the grounds, and the friendly service we received during our stay. The property itself is just gorgeous - has lovely historic feel with perfectly maintained grounds. Access to the Coral Club Pool across the street is a big plus as it is right on the ocean and a great place to spend the day getting a little sun and watching the locals walking their adorable dogs on the beach. I have stayed at a number of Four Seasons and this one is like all the rest - flawless in every way. We are planning to go back as a family next summer over July 4th for a week stay and I can't wait!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We (two adults- two kids) spent two nights in a Suite
The Suite was very comfortable with a good privacy between the kid and the parents.
The Breakfast was as usual excellent.
We played a good tennis and the "outside club" with the 50 meters swimming pool was outstanding.

On the minus side, how do 4 seasons dare when you pay 1000$ for a night to charge :
- wifi in the room
- usage of the business center

One day they will really lose some clients

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Recently stayed here for a wedding and while the hotel lovely and located in a beautiful location, I didn't think it was worth the cost. Access to the coral club gym/pool was the best part of the hotel. Big/Fun bar on Saturday nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a location and what a gorgeous property! However the best description of this hotel is an analogy.. It's like the best looking girl at school who doesn't have to try.. People come here because of the location and how gorgeous the property is.. Perfectly kept grounds, ocean views galore, very "historic" feel.. kind of like a very well maintained California Mission with pools and tennis courts. However NO attention to the little things that can make a hotel great -- first - "Maya" at the Concierge desk couldn't make a reservation for me and my family at Bouchon (definitely eat at this restaurant), talked to her in the morning, asked for a reservation at 7:30 -- and she simply forgot to do it.. showed up at the restaurant and there was nothing.. were it not for a very thoughtful manager at Bouchon (thanks Mitchell!) we would have been walking the streets looking for a restaurant.. second - "fruit water" around the hotel and pools were constantly out of cups and low -- simple thing but when it's hot, the fruit water is refreshing.. food at hotel -- really not very good and very expensive -- my suggestion is to eat chips & guacomole by the pool and go downtown to eat (Bouchon is the top rated restaurant in SB and same price for family of four).. room keys that don't work, gardeners who almost run you over on the walkway with their carts, "lazy" servers, the list goes on.. I've stayed at other four seasons and many Ritz Carltons as well and I'd have to say Ritz is superior.. and for the price, well, if I'm going to spend that much money I expect perfection and perfection can't describe the property,, sorry. Santa Barbara in general however.. now that's perfection so whatever you do here, you can't go wrong..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSSantaBarbara, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we truly appreciate being made aware as an opportunity to improve. I sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered that added up to a less than perfect stay. Your comments raise valid concerns, and I absolutely agree that the experiences you mentioned should not happen at our Resort. Follow-up has taken place with the appropriate areas and I am personally looking into how we can improve upon the agua fresca station. I would be happy to speak with you further and can be reached at michael.mestraud@fourseasons.com. Again, I apologize and hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Michael Mestraud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is an older, historic property that is now run by Four Seasons. As others have noted, the property is beautiful, with lovely grounds, a small pool on site and a very large pool and beach club across the road. It is located a few miles from Santa Barbara proper. Our first room was in a cottage, and while secluded, it was not acceptable, especially at the prices charged; it was dark, poorly laid out, and just seemed "old". The hotel switched us the next morning to a far nicer room near the pool and spa.

The food here is good, but not great. The service is great, with everyone going out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Both valet and self-parking cost extra. "Basic" and "high speed" internet also cost extra; the "basic" internet in effect did not work, thus requiring purchase of the "high speed" just to do basic email. (Also, they charged us incorrectly for these services, easily resolved at check out)

So overall, this is a lovely place to stay, with great service. Rooms vary, though, food could be better, and I think it is absurd to charge for internet service just to do email, so not quite nirvana to me, especially at these prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.