We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Glendale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey but luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My husband and I took a couple of days out of our busy schedule to enjoy the beautiful weather and serene grounds of the Four Seasons Biltmore in Santa Barbara. We had the King premium room with a romantic fireplace and view of the pool (although the lush foliage blocked most of the view out of and into the room). The hotel has beautiful gardens and reflecting pools that add a tropical feel to the air. The room itself was lovely but probably not worth the price of admission, but we took advantage of having a drink across the street at the private oceanfront pool and bar and in the morning worked out in the hotel's beautiful and well-equipped gym. It's definitely a "money is no object" kind of resort, but if you have cash to burn and love to be surrounded by luxury, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    179
    73
    38
    26
See reviews for
263
487
24
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here last November as part of a reward trip my daughter earned. The grounds, rooms, setting, staff were impeccable. The feeling is retro luxury and there are so many great things about this place that others have mentioned. However, after getting food poisoning from a lunch eaten at the restaurant, I spent the next 48 hrs. wishing I was anywhere but here and seriously thinking I should see a doctor. Toughing it out because it was a long-awaited family trip, I made mention of this event at checkout. The requisite "are you alright"? (I was, somewhat, by then), was followed with a flimsy comp of my $38 seafood salad that had made me ill. Since I was really unable to eat after that, or for that matter hardly leave the room, it seemed inadequate. Considering the quality of the establishment, I was disappointed they didn't do more.

Room Tip: A babysitting service is available, and the college student who came did a great job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This could have been an outstanding vacation.Our room location and view was perfect until a young family checked in. Their children crying and fussing on the outside patio prevented the other guests from relaxing on theirs. All of our evening meals were accompanied by the noise and disruption of families with their young children. Although all our meals were very good, none were relaxing or pleasant. The setting is spectacular but it certainly was not a relaxing getaway. Management does not seem to have a clue about the disruption to adult guests. Would not spend another vacation at a Four Seasons after this experience. The Four Seasons seems to cater to young families and not couples or business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask if young children will be adjacent to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and two children for five days earlier in the month. We had a standard pool-side room near the center of the property, and were surprised to find a tent set up in our spacious room when we arrived. They knew we were traveling with a young child, and I guess they thought she would like the tent. She really did! She actually ended up spending a bit of time in there with her toys.

If you can afford it this is the best place to stay in Santa Barbara. The location is great- you not only have the beach right there, but it is a short walk to the shopping on Coast Village Road, and there is a great biking/running path right out front. There is nothing corporate about this hotel- it has an almost fantasy air about it, with 100 year old trees, rare plants, and lovely red tile roofed buildings. The landscaping is really phenomenal. Even better, you have access to the Coral Casino, a private swim club with a 50 meter heated saltwater swimming pool overlooking the ocean. Its the nicest pool you will ever swim in- and that is a promise. And the staff at the Biltmore is really nice, particularly if you are traveling with children or a pet. This place isn't perfect: its expensive obviously, you have to pay for internet (!) and it doesn't work well because the walls are so thick. Don't expect your phone to work well either if you are in a building. You need to ask ahead of time for a coffee maker- the rooms don't come with them. You have to pay for parking, which seems odd given the location. And the food isn't all that good- particularly not room service or at the Coral Casino. But let me tell you, when you stay at the Biltmore you know you are on vacation. The Four Seasons really takes care of its guests.

I know some people have complained about the train noise- I think this might be a problem for people who stay in the cottages near the back of the property. We only heard the train when we were outside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Having spent a week in the Four Seasons in Kona, we chose the same brand for a two-night stay in Santa Barbara.
Research on the web suggested that the location was top notch - and it was indeed. At the border of the sea, it offers a fantastic view. The first impression usually is the most important, as we know, and this is probably why they have put the most friendliest and most competent people at the valet parking. Outstanding guys who deserve their tip.
Unfortunately it went from that level to good to bad and to worse.
The reception desk was staffed with two incompetent, arrogant females who just didn't have the sense how to deal with clients. The room was old style, old furniture, old bathrooms - not my style and definitely not reflecting the right price-value relation.
The bar has the aura and the level of liveliness of a cemetery and what was worst, was the breakfast: no buffet, non-inspired waitors and bad food.
Bottom line: too much money for a very mediocre experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in every way, the staff know exactly how to look after you. So relaxed and stylish in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages in the rear of the property. It was very spacious, and the nice thing with the cottage style room is fewer walls were shared with other rooms. There was a nice soaking tub and a separate shower with a rainfall shower head. The room was very clean. The HVAC system worked very well and is one of the quietest systems I've ever experienced... pretty much absolute silence. Free water bottles when they make your room. Free fruits around the lobby area.

The property grounds are very nice, there's a small pool/hot tub directly on the property, and across the street you have access to a club that has a large pool. The beach across from the hotel looks nice enough and it's dog friendly. That's a good thing for dog owners, but bad for everyone else. I saw dogs peeing and pooing in the sand everywhere, not the most sanitary for you or your kids to be walking around barefoot in the sand.

Service was good, but nothing exceptional. We weren't able to check into our room until 20 min. after the official check in time of 3:00PM. Valet parking is $31/day and self park is $19/day if I remember correctly.

One word of warning, there is a railroad track that runs fairly close to the hotel, and it always blows its whistle/horn when it goes by... even in the middle of the night. On average, we heard it come by 2-3 times a night, and also throughout the day. The hotel does provide ear plugs, but good luck blocking out the sound of the train.

All in all, a good experience, but hard to justify spending $500+/night, especially when compared to other 5 star properties I've experienced...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.