We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe, Calme et Volupte” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #5 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Luxe, Calme et Volupte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It doesn't get better than the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara if you're after luxury, calm, well being and a wonderful, relaxing time. We loved it so much we are going back to California just to stay there again. Most elements related to this hotel were amazing - but the price - but if you are as demanding as I am then you'll love it and find it's worth every penny. Dinner at the hotel the first time was a tad disappointing but when we went back we felt it was much better - the food was really lovely and the setting as always really gorgeous. Try Brophy Bros in Santa Barbara if you want to eat out - it's really casual and authentic with large seafood dishes. For breakfast we only had it once at the hotel as we discovered a tiny, very popular, breakfast place in nearby Montecito - I think it was called Jeannine's - so good if you're after a fab american breakfast although they do offer healthy options. On the healthy note, the fitness in the hotel is great and so is the beach club you will have access to as a resident of the hotel. One thing to note is that there is a train station nearby - you only rarely hear trains and it's been there for 100 years. Don't be surprised - we were (even if it is mentioned at the bottom of your reservation conformation...). All in all, we had an amazing time, the highlight of our 2 week trip. Note this place was recommended to me by a Newport Beach local - if the locals approve then it's always a good sign. When talking about our experience in this hotel I always say it's paradise on earth!

Room Tip: If there are availabilities, reception will ask if you want to upgrade to a higher category room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    724
    170
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
245
465
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a fabulous Four Seasons property that not only was perfect but also a wonderful place to rejuvenate. We celebrated my wife's birthday here and the hotel made it very special for her. The restuarant is excellent and the facilities are top notch. This is a beautiful property that has a great deal of charm and the attention to detail was outstanding. The spa experience was excellent as was the overall service. The grounds and surroundings are truly maginificant and we enjoyed walking the area. This is a superb place to rest, relax and re-charge. Again it was a perfect hotel and experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed in two connecting rooms at the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara for four nights with two small children and three adults. The rooms were nice and well appointed, as expected. When we made reservations, they made us upgrade to a higher class of rooms in order to guarantee the adjoining rooms - apparently, they don't have connecting rooms in the basic fare (which is already high in absolute terms!). With the forced upgrade, in addition to the shared doors between the rooms, we got lovely patios facing the back of the pool. The restaurants were great, although reservations were required to actually get a table at this busy time of the year. The service was attentive, in typical Four Seasons style, without being overbearing. The spa was first class. Location is gorgeous, in a secluded beach in Montecito, although a bit far from the main tourist area is downtown Santa Barbara. Our favorite part, however, was the pool club across the street. The pool is huge, the hot tub is facing the beach, and they have a small 1.5 ft-deep) kiddie pool at 80F that is perfect for the little ones. The locker rooms have Four Seasons robes for use at the pool and all sorts of good amenities. There is pool service and life guards...all goodness! A few complaints: they charge $10/day for an ultra slow Internet connection, for each device, i.e., $10 for each iphone, $10 for each ipad, $10 for each laptop, etc., and parking is $18 extra even if you self-park. I tend to think that at the high price points, they should not be nickel and diming the guests, but it happens. All said, we are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Upon booking, we noted that we were bringing our 8-month old baby, our 12 year old Chihuahua, and celebrating our 10 year anniversary & Christmas there. A week later we received a courtesy call asking us what else they can do to ensure comfort and relaxation for our stay. We were told right away they will try accomodate the needs of our baby and doggie and that we will be upgraded to a cottage.

Upon our arrival, our baby was given two beannie babies, and we were upgraded to a lovely cottage with a crib ready, baby bath products and diapers nicely presented. 10 minutes after we settled in, my husband received a phone call about them delivering something special to us for our anniversary. They brought us this beautiful and delicious chocolate bread and holiday cookies ensemble.

On Christmas morning, we had a stocking filled with goodies hung on our door. What a nice treat!

We were really apprehensive about The Biltmore just because of the horrible noise reviews but our cottage was quiet. We can barely hear the sounds of the train.

On our second day, housekeeping left a newly unopened bottle of detergent and baby bottle cleaner in our room coz she probably saw all of the baby utensils and bottles everywhere. This is what i call excellent customer service! Anticipating your customer's needs and providing them assistance before they even make a request. 5-star service! We were blown away by their service, friendliness and attentiveness.

The only thing we would complain about is the quality of the mattress. If it were Best Western or Holiday Inn, we would not think twice but since its the Four Seasons we expected it to be a more comfortable mattress.

We didnt get the chance to experience all the amenities such as the spa or the Coral Casino Club but we did enjoy days of room service with our baby and doggie in our lovely cottage.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

eye openning experience, ultimate in service and friendliness

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The hotel and staff were outstanding in every respect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

A perfect weekend getaway for an awesome spa experience and Montecito charm! We used the hotel bicycles to cruise around town, and to soak up the beautiful coastline. The hotel was decorated for Christmas, and strolling carolers performed in the lobby which was so festive! Cant wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: We took advantage of a package option through the hotel, that offered a credit towards a spa treatm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara

Address: 1260 Channel Drive, Santa Barbara, CA 93108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
4 Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Four Seasons Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.