We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our family stayed for one night in the motel on a way to San Diego. A service was excellent. Staff was very friendly. We got a room with a small kitchen that was very useful because we traveled with kids. My wife liked a wooden floor in the room that prevents dust and smell accumulation. Location was great. We strolled down to the pier. I would definitely come back and stay in the hotel again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
91
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

...so I will do what I can to help. Unhelpful staff, small rooms, not well maintained. For the money, you can do a lot better. There are so many other options in the area that I would simply suggest... Keep searching my friends!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSandsMotel, General Manager at Blue Sands Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Unfortunately, we know exactly who this guest is. They have never stayed at our property. They had a guaranteed reservation that they had booked themselves online about a month ago. They were supposed to arrive a few days ago, but were a no show. We contacted the guest and were informed that they had forgotten that they had made the reservation with us and had booked somewhere else. At that time, we informed the guest that they would be charged the late cancellation fee which they had agreed to when they originally booked the reservation. At this point, the guest became very upset and threatened to provide negative feed back every way they could and with everyone they knew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This place was great for the last leg of my trip with my husband. The fireplace, the little private patio off our room, the pool, the sitting area, the shower and kitchenette, it was just perfect. So close to the beach. It was very nice and I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesandsb, General Manager at Blue Sands Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We always appreciate it when a guest takes time out of their busy day to provide us feed back on their stay.

The private patio you mentioned is actually a brand new addition that we just completed. I’m glad to hear you liked it. Also, the pool and sitting area were completely redone just last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The night before we came here, we stayed in a Quality Inn in Santa Maria. Compared to the room we had there, our room at Blue Sands was small and dingy. Minimal room to move around, and put out our toiletry items. No exhaust fan in the bathroom, and no air conditioning. The owner suggested we open our main window, but that would have exposed us to every noise of every passer by not to mention the possibility of break in. So the ceiling fan had to suffice. True that in Santa Barbara the actual cooling is rarely needed, but an AC unit refreshes the air when the window is closed, and also provides background "white noise" that cover up noises from outside. Anywhere else, $220 per night would buy one a luxury room... Maybe dog lovers love this motel, but next time we will look for something else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesandsb, General Manager at Blue Sands Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
As always, I would like to thank the reviewer for taking the time to post a review of our property. Reviews are just as helpful to the hotel properties as they are to the traveling public. We take all reviews very seriously whether they are positive or negative, and it helps us to improve the experience we are able to provide our guests.

As the reviewer mentioned, there are only about three or four days a year that air-conditioning is necessary in Santa Barbara. This is particularly true of properties located near the beach. Most days there is a cool ocean breeze coming in off the ocean. The last statistic I heard on this, is only 40% of the beach front hotels in Santa Barbara have air-conditioning, and these tend to be the larger, more expensive properties. If air-conditioning is something that is very important to you, we would recommend always confirming its availability with the hotel before booking. Also, all of our confirmation letters do contain the following: “Due to Santa Barbara's unique weather patterns of cool foggy mornings and nights, we do not have air conditioning in the rooms.”

It’s true that we don’t have fans in the bathrooms, but this is because all of our bathrooms have a window. The windows allow you to opening them only at the top for privacy, and most of our rooms are on the second floor, so there are no security concerns about leaving the window open. In addition, almost all of our bathroom windows face a secure area behind the motel that is only accessible to staff.

The criticism of the room being “dingy” is clearly more serious, and I’m sorry the guest was not happy with his room. I wish the reviewer had notified us of this particular concern while he was here so that we might have addressed it immediately. Personally, I feel it is unfair and inaccurate to describe any of our rooms as “dingy”, but more importantly, we receive many compliments at check-out and online from guests who remark how nice our rooms are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the last week of June. Just as many reviewers stated, the stafff was very polite and helpful with dining recommendations. Rooms (ours #10) appear to have been recently rennovated. Very clean and up to date. Visiting from the East coast where temp's were pushing over 90 degrees with high humidity, we were kind of worried that the room did not have AC. To our surprise, we slept with windows open and the ceiling fan on very comfortably. Pool was very clean and heated to 75 degrees. Room included a refrigerator, wine cooler, microwave, and coffee maker. All seemed to work fine. motel is located just behind a larger property across from the beach. Although kids were not with us this time, I would highly recommend this place simply because we can carry the ton of beach gear just across the street and drop it.

For breakfast, we found a place (Joe's Famous Bagels) within walking distance up S Milpas street. Decent coffe, bagels, and sandwiches.

The main drag, State Street, is quite a bit of a walk to get to the main area. I'd recommend driving and finding a garage close by. Parking was not a problem.

The pier is a pretty good walk. Parking along the street close by can be a challenge if you are not able to find a spot actually on the pier.

Enjoyed dinner at The Fish House and Brophy Bros. Great breakfast at Joe's Cafe.

Great stay!

Room Tip: Our room (#10) had a "view" of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluesandsb, General Manager at Blue Sands Motel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind review. Please bring the kids with you next time. We always keep beach toys at the front desk for our younger guests to take to the beach with them. It makes it easier than bringing your own and having to deal with all the sand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a great stay in Room #1 at the Blue Sands the night of June 26th. The room was right off the pool where we sunned for the afternoon and nice sized that came with a small kitchen.
Great water pressure in the shower in the newly remodeled bathroom. Staff was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

clean, attractive, had everything I needed, close to beach and other attractions, people were competent. swam in the pool which was right outside my door. very small motel, but my room was adequate and even had a kitchen! 1/2 block from Fess Parker Hotel where I went to a wedding, but didn't have to spend the higher prices by staying there! was really grateful to find this motel.
great small restaurants nearby and a market right on the corner that had healthy food choices. I really couldn't ask for more. it was perfect for me!

Room Tip: rooms with one bed give you more room space and some rooms have kitchens...if your room is near to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.