We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Save Saved
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed three nights here and was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. Being a pet friendly motel, I wasn't sure what to expect but the room was very nice, clean, roomy and had a nice size bathroom and shower. The pool was warm and in great condition. The location was great, just steps away from the beach. Food was also in walking distance and the room had a fridge and microwave. Staff was very attentive, even loaned us a sand chair! We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    70
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
87
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked Blue Sands because of the price and, considering its location near the seafront it is good value for money in comparison to other hotels in the locality. We found it to be quiet, and despite what some other contributors have said we were not disturbed by guests upstairs or the trains although we could hear the pool pump. We were in room 4 downstairs which was rather dark and a bit oppressive. There is free wifi, the shower was good, the kingside bed was fairly comfortable and the fireplace was welcome as the mornings were cool. Although its dog friendliness was a real plus for other contributors the scratched and slightly grubby paintwork was noticeable and not to our taste. A bonus is that the parking is free when the Santa Barbara inn next door charges $7 per day. We didn't try the pool but it was very warm and clean. The walk to State Street is about a mile and took us 20 minutes although the 50c bus runs every 30 minutes from Cabrillo. We hadn't realised that there is no breakfast facility but the East Beach Grill does good food from 6 a.m. The rooms have kitchenettes and there is a small but very good grocery store 100 yards up S Malpas St. All in all we got what we paid for and have no real complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way through and found it to be clean, the staff was helpful and let us check-in early. The room was good, clean and OK, in a good location to have access to the ocean front and about a 20-25 minute walk to the pier and several restaurants. Nice shower, quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Last minute booking and great hotel to finish our holiday in. We had one of the newly refurbished rooms which was outstanding value. Free parking a bonus, pool open as alternative to the beach. 30 minute stroll to the Pier and State street.

Room Tip: You could see the Ocean from outside Room 10 on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Sands for one night and felt it was really nice. The room was well furnished, fairly quiet, just perfect for walking to the beach. We travel with our small dog and found the first floor room convenient. There was a small kitchen, good wifi, and a flat screen tv. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were able to park in the motel lot. My only complaint was that our room was just steps from the pool and the chlorine smell was a bit strong inside the room. However, it is a small hotel (just 12 rooms, I think) and others would probably find it very convenient to be so close to the pool! I guess that it was a trade-off - first floor ease for going out with the dog vs. less chlorine odor on the 2nd floor. At any rate, the location was so perfect, the staff was friendly, and we would probably stay at the Blue Sands again if we are in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The Hotel is located right on the beach, and a 15 min walk to Santa Barbara pier. On check in we were given some great local information by the manager, and were upgraded to a room with a fireplace, which was a nice touch. The room was a good size, with a large bathroom with the best shower we had during our 3 week stay in the USA. There is a pool, but we opted for the beach instead. The room was very clean, and serviced daily, and a good standard of toiletries was provided. Santa Barbara is a great place to spend a few days, a highlight for us was a sunset meal on valentines day at the Santa Barbara Shellfish Company at the end of the Pier. The Brewhouse is also a great place for craft beers, and has live music! The Blue Sands Motel is great value for money in Santa Barbara, which can be pricey!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Small(11 rooms), newly and nicely decorated.Fireplace, flat screen TV. Heated pool. free Wifi and parking($30 a day next door!). Two of the room even have views of the beach! Only 1/2 block from the park/beach. 1/4 mile? from the pier.Great place, dog friendly too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.