We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Save Saved
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night during a road trip along highway 1 without having a reservation. We got a good rate and no fee for an inflatable mattress (which according to the guy having to sleep on it was very comfy).

The guy in the reception was extremely helpful and offered us to look at the room first. He also gave us advice on delivery pizzas, as the time was rather late. Now we found another place but he wasn't stressed just because he was about to quit for the day but helped us out all the way.

The room had a fireplace which also served as heating. Really nice until it got too hot. The motel is just 100 feet from the beach so the locations is really great.

If going to Santa Barbara again I'd definitely stay at Blue Sands Motel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    70
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
88
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went for a weekend getaway with the family. The room was nice and clean, and the bathroom was recently remodeled. At first I was hesitant about whether it would be suitable because it is a pet-friendly hotel - but I didn't notice any fleas, odor, or damage. Great location, literally across from the beach and State Street just a few minutes by car. Wonderful pool that was well-lit in the evening and heated, too! The price was right and the staff friendly. We've stayed at a number of budget hotels over the years and I would highly recommend the Blue Sands as being one of the best of them.

Room Tip: Choose the upgraded Queen room with remodeled bathroom and the fireplace. Cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Blue Sands Motel is just a block from the beach and a short walk to the pier. I reserved a king room. It overlooked the pool and had an ocean view (room 10). My room had a fireplace, a little kitchenette, and a large flat-screen television. The bed was incredibly comfortable! I stayed for two nights, and it was so quiet and peaceful. I was never disturbed by outside noise or other guests.
There is a pool on the property that is heated from April to December, but there is no hot tub. There is also an area to sit outside that has heat lamps for the chilly evenings.
Blue Sands is a great deal for the price. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have an ocean view, so be sure to inquire about that if that is a priority.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a night in October, had a very pleasant stay. It's a clean small motel run by friendly people. Very pet friendly, which was nice for us traveling with a small dog. It's across a road from the beach, and about a mile from the pier, but a very easy walk down the bike path. Overall a great stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orford, oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I were on a three-day drive from the southern Oregon coast to San Diego. We thought that any hotel in a city the size of Santa Barbara would be noisy and impersonal, but we were wrong. The Blue Sands is not only quiet, but has more amenities than any other hotel we have stayed at! The room was clean, quiet, and well-appointed. There was a good view of the beach, a nice sunset, and a great running path for me in the morning. The local restaurants were very good, and it was so easy to get to the highway from the Blue Sands. It was also convenient to get to the shopping areas, and the mission. All in all, a great value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view! lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Sands just after the 4th of July holiday and weren't sure what do expect. We were plesantly surprised by updated decor, baths, wine fridges, and in some rooms, gas fireplaces. We stayed in the suite for two nights and then a double room for two nights... the suite had a great little kitchen with stove and fullsize refrigerator and two bedrooms and a great view of the ocean. The second room was typical hotel room plus fireplace, wine fridge and a brand new updated bathroom which was appreciated. The grounds include a nice little reading area and a very clean pool. Walking distance to Trader Joe's and a smaller market, the beach, the bath house and more. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can get the suite, it's worth it! We didn't stay in lower level rooms, I'd guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at both the Blue Sands and the Castillo Inn on our trip (could not get 2 nights together anywhere due to a convention). I preferred the Blue Sands. Locations are comparable (both one block from the sea), but the Blue Sands has two food stores within walking distance. It also has a nice pool and the rooms are larger and ours had a great kitchen and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. For the price, it was great. Would definitely stay again, and we plan to. Santa Barbara is a gem. The only downfall is the trains at night - loud! Bring your earplugs and you won't be bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.