We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, small motel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, friendly, small motel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a night in October, had a very pleasant stay. It's a clean small motel run by friendly people. Very pet friendly, which was nice for us traveling with a small dog. It's across a road from the beach, and about a mile from the pier, but a very easy walk down the bike path. Overall a great stay, and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
91
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
port orford, oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I were on a three-day drive from the southern Oregon coast to San Diego. We thought that any hotel in a city the size of Santa Barbara would be noisy and impersonal, but we were wrong. The Blue Sands is not only quiet, but has more amenities than any other hotel we have stayed at! The room was clean, quiet, and well-appointed. There was a good view of the beach, a nice sunset, and a great running path for me in the morning. The local restaurants were very good, and it was so easy to get to the highway from the Blue Sands. It was also convenient to get to the shopping areas, and the mission. All in all, a great value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an ocean view! lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Sands just after the 4th of July holiday and weren't sure what do expect. We were plesantly surprised by updated decor, baths, wine fridges, and in some rooms, gas fireplaces. We stayed in the suite for two nights and then a double room for two nights... the suite had a great little kitchen with stove and fullsize refrigerator and two bedrooms and a great view of the ocean. The second room was typical hotel room plus fireplace, wine fridge and a brand new updated bathroom which was appreciated. The grounds include a nice little reading area and a very clean pool. Walking distance to Trader Joe's and a smaller market, the beach, the bath house and more. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you can get the suite, it's worth it! We didn't stay in lower level rooms, I'd guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at both the Blue Sands and the Castillo Inn on our trip (could not get 2 nights together anywhere due to a convention). I preferred the Blue Sands. Locations are comparable (both one block from the sea), but the Blue Sands has two food stores within walking distance. It also has a nice pool and the rooms are larger and ours had a great kitchen and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. For the price, it was great. Would definitely stay again, and we plan to. Santa Barbara is a gem. The only downfall is the trains at night - loud! Bring your earplugs and you won't be bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Sands for two nights last week. We chose the motel based on the location (only a 10-15 minute walk to State St and about 2 minute walk to the beach) and also because they allow dogs. On the outside it looks like a typical motel, nothing fancy, but we were pleasantly surprised that on the inside our room was very clean and modern. We paid an extra $10/day for a nice size kitchen with full refrigerator/freezer and stove. We weren't too concerned about how nice the hotel was because we planned on being out all day and just sleeping there at night...that's where the problem with this place comes in. The walls are so thin that we could hear exactly what our neighbors were watching at 3am (The Three Amigos if anyone is curious) and we could also hear every door opening and meal being microwaved. We were in a downstairs room and the people staying upstairs had to have been a midget NBA team playing a full game all night. So the primary objective of sleeping in this motel was actually very hard to achieve. We would probably not stay here again unless they do a serious remodel and put some insulation in the walls and ceilings. This is very unfortunate because it is definitely a nice location and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room so you don't have to worry about all the noise from your upstairs neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a view of the park and glimpses of the water. Very comfortable with microwave ,fridge and wine cooler. In close proximity there is an organic supermarket which sells wine and beer also. Need a car up to the jetty and restaurants.Office staff very helpful with information. Pool area very well maintained. No air conditioning but sea breeze was nice. Quite noisy in morning with traffic.. Good for cheaper alternative.

Room Tip: Away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
227 hotel reviews
Reviews in 202 cities Reviews in 202 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A friendly comfortable motel. The guy running the place was friendly and helpful. The whole place was delightfully decorated. The room had a comfortable bed and was a decent size and the bathroom was first class., It was very pleasant to sit on our verandah eating breakfast. There was however no air-conditioning in the room but instead a very good fan. The swimming pool was warm and a reasonable size, however there was virtually no shallow end. It becomes 5 feet deep within about three feet. Very good beach towels are supplied. Unfortunately there is no laundry for guests and no morning coffee at reception. There was a fireplace and wine cooler in our room as well as a microwave. Finally the motel is brilliantly situated - right by the East beach and close to an excellent beach cafe. Despite the drawbacks I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.