We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Budget Friendly Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Sands Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Sands Motel to your Saves list
Blue Sands Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Great Budget Friendly Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at both the Blue Sands and the Castillo Inn on our trip (could not get 2 nights together anywhere due to a convention). I preferred the Blue Sands. Locations are comparable (both one block from the sea), but the Blue Sands has two food stores within walking distance. It also has a nice pool and the rooms are larger and ours had a great kitchen and a large bathroom with walk-in shower. For the price, it was great. Would definitely stay again, and we plan to. Santa Barbara is a gem. The only downfall is the trains at night - loud! Bring your earplugs and you won't be bothered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    79
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
96
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Sands for two nights last week. We chose the motel based on the location (only a 10-15 minute walk to State St and about 2 minute walk to the beach) and also because they allow dogs. On the outside it looks like a typical motel, nothing fancy, but we were pleasantly surprised that on the inside our room was very clean and modern. We paid an extra $10/day for a nice size kitchen with full refrigerator/freezer and stove. We weren't too concerned about how nice the hotel was because we planned on being out all day and just sleeping there at night...that's where the problem with this place comes in. The walls are so thin that we could hear exactly what our neighbors were watching at 3am (The Three Amigos if anyone is curious) and we could also hear every door opening and meal being microwaved. We were in a downstairs room and the people staying upstairs had to have been a midget NBA team playing a full game all night. So the primary objective of sleeping in this motel was actually very hard to achieve. We would probably not stay here again unless they do a serious remodel and put some insulation in the walls and ceilings. This is very unfortunate because it is definitely a nice location and the staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room so you don't have to worry about all the noise from your upstairs neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a view of the park and glimpses of the water. Very comfortable with microwave ,fridge and wine cooler. In close proximity there is an organic supermarket which sells wine and beer also. Need a car up to the jetty and restaurants.Office staff very helpful with information. Pool area very well maintained. No air conditioning but sea breeze was nice. Quite noisy in morning with traffic.. Good for cheaper alternative.

Room Tip: Away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A friendly comfortable motel. The guy running the place was friendly and helpful. The whole place was delightfully decorated. The room had a comfortable bed and was a decent size and the bathroom was first class., It was very pleasant to sit on our verandah eating breakfast. There was however no air-conditioning in the room but instead a very good fan. The swimming pool was warm and a reasonable size, however there was virtually no shallow end. It becomes 5 feet deep within about three feet. Very good beach towels are supplied. Unfortunately there is no laundry for guests and no morning coffee at reception. There was a fireplace and wine cooler in our room as well as a microwave. Finally the motel is brilliantly situated - right by the East beach and close to an excellent beach cafe. Despite the drawbacks I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with my boyfriend, mother & aunt for a brief trip to the Santa Barbara area. We had a 2 bedroom suite which, considering this is a "motel", was fantastic. Rooms were pretty spacious and very clean. The location is right across from the beach (we had a great view from our room), and not too far from Smith St. if you don't mind walking. The staff was friendly and helpful as well, so I really can't complain. It was a great value for an incredibly reasonable price and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were traveling with our Boston Terrier and looking for a CLEAN hotel that would allow us the pure luxury of being able to leave our pal in the room unattended. We don't leave him for any length of time, but it was so nice to enjoy a meal out and do a few hours of sight seeing without worry that we were breaking any house rules. The room was sparkling clean. As people who travel with their dogs can attest, not being relegated to "the stinky dog room" is a real treat. Finding lodging that is both clean and that has a reasonable pet policy are a tough combination to find, and we found it in spades at the Blue Sands. Our king room had a lovely view of the ocean and we faced a large open grassy park just across the street... perfect for walks with our dog. The locals played soft ball most evenings during our stay, so there was a bit of noise from that, but nothing offensive. The pool was clean and the general appearance of the property was neat and well kept. The staff was friendly and efficient. They were strict about noise after evening hours which made for a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The only minus is that there was no air conditioning in our room. Because of the ocean breeze, we didn't find it to be a problem, but it was a surprise. Since the street that fronts the motel is one of the many access points to the freeway, there was a bit of extra traffic, and with our windows open at night, we did hear the morning traffic, but again, nothing that really bothered us. Several reviewers have commented on the high numbers of homeless in the area. Please remember that beach areas in warm climates simply attract homeless folks. Please don't avoid this hotel on account of that. We saw homeless folks everywhere we went throughout California, and there were by no means more in Santa Barbara or around this motel than elsewhere. All in all, this was a great motel, and we will definitely stay here again!! P.S. - There is a wonderful leash-free dog beach about 10 minutes from the motel at Hendry's Beach. Super!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were vacationing in Santa Barbara and needed a dog friendly hotel so after reading the Trip Advisor reviews we settled on the Blue Sands Motel. It was perfect. Well located, clean, and with updated rooms. The room we had was number 4 on the ground level next to the pool which was surprisingly quiet. Our unit had a full kitchen which was nice. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach, State Street and Sterns wharf. The only comment we might have is there is very little counter space in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sands Motel

Address: 421 South Milpas Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sands Motel is a small property only a quarter of a block from some of the best beaches in Santa Barbara. Close to shopping and restaurants, we strive to provide you a clean comfortable room at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sands Hotel Santa Barbara
Blue Sands Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.