We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place great cookies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Franciscan Inn to your Saves list
Franciscan Inn
109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Getaway 20% Off!
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cute place great cookies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very sweet little place that we stumbled upon randomly when driving down the big sur. in a good location near the beach but the best thing was the reception staff who were really friendly, helpful and sweet. They also make the best cookies ever for a 4pm tea treat. A little over priced personally but worth it for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    143
    41
    16
    1
See reviews for
76
128
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights to enjoy the beach and local restaurants. We found the Inn to be very comfortable and quaint. The staff really cares and demonstrates this by doing the little extra. For example, we needed a taxi to visit the Lotus Land Garden and they were willing to arrange it for us. Also, they brought us bags of ice when we only asked for the bags. The breakfast is acceptable, but we found the croissant to be stale and they had no cereal or milk. The bagels were fantastic (proper boiled NY style), but one day there were no bagels. There was oatmeal, but only the kind for adding hot water. So, the average breakfast is the only reason we do not rate a level 5. A suggestion would be to add milk and cereal, and keep the bagels every day and please be sure all is fresh.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid a room that has another room above. Most rooms though appear to be on a single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. We were visiting from out of town 2 nights, and their suggestions on things to do and where to eat were great! The breakfast had a wide variety to pick from, all of which was yummy. The cookies during the day were a nice bonus. If we are in the area again, we will be staying here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went for a weekend wedding and could not have been more pleased. The room was spotless, the place was quiet but two blocks from the beach and pier. You could walk to State Street. I had to leave early, but the nice gentleman offered me coffee and a Danish for my trip. Who cares about the cozy furnishings in such a pretty city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked last minute over holiday weekend so were luck to get a room at all! A cold front that moved down the coast must have scared off travelers and all of a sudden many hotels had "vacancy" notices up.

This time we tried out a new room/new area of complex which is a small single story building next to the swimming pool. First benefit - nobody upstairs pounding on the floor at odd hours.

Room 162 was a bit smaller than other rooms we've stayed in but big bonus points - it was quiet! Not housekeepers cart roling up and down the tile walkway starting at 7:30am in the main building across the parking lot. Also didn't miss the other guests tromping back and forth to lobby to get continental breakfast.

Room was spotlessly clean, attractive and we also enjoyed non-stop coffee, cookies, fruit available in lobby throughout the day. I sat by the pool to read and was the only one there (it was still a bit overcast). Continental breakfast is starch-heavy but we managed with instant oatmeal, hardboiled eggs and apples with peanut butter. The muffins looked good but skipped them.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for room in buildings across parking lot/pool side, or rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great location. Very sweet rooms. It is a somewhat pricey area and this is not a "bargain" property. But if you want to be right near the Waterfront the Franciscan is clean, comfortable and with very good, pleasant service. I would definitely recommend and would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelanto, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Please save your money because the Franciscan Inn is antiquated motel with inflated prices. I stay there on 7/1-3. and was greatly disappointed. The suite have old smelly carpet,staid loud wallpaper, and no microwave. Again save your money and try some of the surrounding motel close to the wharf.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Address: 109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.