We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient with a lot of accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Save Saved
You added Franciscan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franciscan Inn
109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special!
Ranked #19 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient with a lot of accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Franciscan inn is located about one and a half blocks to west beach and two to the pier, and just another short walk to another beach, East Beach. The rooms I stayed in was nice, but the blankets could have been a little warmer and thicker. The lobby is very cozy and the people working at the front desk are friendly and can provide a map of the area. The pool is great and heated. The free breakfast is fine, (the croissants are the best thing there) but there are a good number of foods like oatmeal and cheese and hard boiled eggs. There is also a free hot drink bar as well as free apples and grapes until around 10 O'Clock. Overall, a satisfying place to stay, especially for overnight.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    133
    38
    16
    1
See reviews for
71
118
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

So charming and comfortable; many accommodation spaces available from singles to suites. Conveniently located to beach walk and walkable to train station and State Street. Very family friendly also. A wonderful gem on a quiet street in a beautiful little neighborhood. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: queen room next to pool has a little more noise--choose one further away if needing that size. Inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I just spent three nights at the Franciscan as we celebrated a birthday with a longtime friend. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Franciscan is within walking distance of Stearns Wharf and State Street. Noise does occasionally pass between the rooms in this older property. The rooms were clean and well appointed.Overall we were happy with our very reasonably priced accommodations in Santa Barbara.Kudos to Carol, the breakfast lady, who had many stories and was just full of information about the Santa Barbara area as well as current events and activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A motel in a good location for the beach city. Easy access for walking to the beach and downtown.
The motel was clean enough. If traveling with a family it is a good deal because there are suites. I had two rooms but only needed one for myself. It is a motel so there is the noise that comes with a motel of thinner walls, for four nights I listened to a snoring. People walking outside and the cars and car doors opening and closing. There's a continental breakfast served but after the first morning I passed for the next 3 days on it. The food quality is poor. There is spotty internet access and my cell phone didn't work in the room at all.
If you are passing through S.B. or staying for just a couple of days the Inn is reasonably priced in comparison to other S.B. accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franciscan I, General Manager at Franciscan Inn, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your time and comments. We would love the chance to move you to another room if you should ever experience an "aggressive" sleeper next door. Our bakery delivers fresh every day and I will check to ensure that their product continues to be of high quality. Our internet has been updated and the project will be completed on Tuesday 3/26. We hope that you stop by and see us and our improvements when you come to Santa Barbara again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the Franciscan Inn for the weekend and had wonderful stay, as usual! We had about 10 rooms (mini high school reunion) and everyone enjoyed their accommodations. The front desk is so friendly, the rooms very clean and beds comfy. I have stayed at the Inn for years, the location on Bath Street allows you to walk everywhere in town!
We'll be back soon...

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor (#171 and #175 are the largest) or try and get one of the Standard Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a great little hotel. It's a couple a blocks from the beach and marina, The room was comfortable, and parking was outside the door. The well-planted grounds will make you think you are in a botanical garden.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Being welcomed by the breakfast hostess at the Franciscan Inn in Santa Barbara is a real treat. “Auntie Carol” is a delightful and super-friendly woman who clearly enjoys welcoming people, sharing information about the happenings of the day, and providing a generous continental breakfast. It’s always a pleasure to stay here in a quiet neighborhood close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Address: 109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#22 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.