We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all in the family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Save Saved
You added Franciscan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Franciscan Inn
109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special!
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Fond Du Lac
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Its all in the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Since my sister had already been there, she was very eager to show and share it with me on my first visit to Ca. It was very homey and comfortable. I would go back. We enjoyed the near by Marina, and a great restaurant recommended to us from a fellow traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    141
    38
    16
    1
See reviews for
75
124
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the Franciscan. We arrived just as the afternoon sun was going down and the cookies came out of the oven. What a welcome!! This Inn is just a block from the beach and a few blocks from the main State Street. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The room was a double bedded with two double beds. Bathroom was adequate nothing fancy but clean. The room was quiet and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate and everyone was friendly. Free wi fi in room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

One block from the beach and 5 blocks from State Street – what more do you need? The rooms were clean, if a little dated, the pool and sauna area was also clean and fairly quiet. There was always fresh coffee on in reception and the breakfast of muffins, bagels and fruit was all that you needed. Really helpful staff who recommended places to go and things to see. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is unlike any of the other hotels I have stayed in. A workmate reccomendcloser toto me and I am so glad that I got this hotel after hotel hopping around Santa Barabra for the first few nights of my work trip.

I love thrniture in the rooms, big room size, and cleanliness of the place. What makes this place better than any other hotel I have been to is the staff and homely service that I got.
Its also a stones throw away from the beach and State street.

Next time im in SB, this is where im staying.
I only would have liked the tv to be closer to the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Franciscan Inn is one of those little gems you hope never changes.
I first stayed there a year ago, was suitably impressed , and again over New Years....same impression. 2 blocks from SB west beaches , you can watch the sunrise over the water , then stroll down the sidewalk to a beach-view cafe , or carry on another 3 blocks to a wide selection of State Street eateries.
The Franciscan is a quiet low-rise haven within easy reach of downtown , but just a few blocks from the 101 freeway , although you would not know it....its very quiet . The rooms are realtively small , but well furnished , spotlessly clean , and equipped with aircon (cooling and heating) , which was useful during my stay as the overnight temperatures dipped to near freezing , an unusual occurence on this part of the CA coast. Beds are very comfortable , with a heavy comforter. The room I occupied did not have a microwave or fridge , so if thats important to you , check when booking if that is available elsewhere in the hotel , but did have an in-room complimentary coffee-maker . A continental breakfast is included in the room price , and is served up in the cosy reception area ( with open fire) by a very pleasant lady who chats to all while serving the coffee , muffins etc.
Courtyard parking is motel style adjacent to the rooms . Rates were $170/night weekend , and $130/night weekday during my stay in late December 2012. Theres also a hot-tub and pool , in a sheltered sun-trap . The street outside is also quiet , so no traffic noise .
The Franciscan does what it does extremely well , and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in single storey blocks - some in 2 storey blocks - check when booking as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at the Franciscan is like coming home. The suite style rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. The Complimentary breakfast is served by "Auntie Carol" and you really feel that you are being welcomed by a close relative. They serve warm cookies in the early evening and the staff could not be any friendlier! It is about one block from the Santa Barbara Beach and just a few blocks from the wharf. Great place to stay for families or romantic getaways!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite rooms they are very nice but even the regular rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On our way to southern California we spent one night in Santa Barbara. The Franciscan Inn is very well equiped for the purpose of staying here one night. Easy to get to from highway 1, close to the beach and restaurants. The room was well kept. The downside was that it was rather noisy (neighbours). Breakfast is 'light' by American standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Address: 109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;