We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem near the beach....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Franciscan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Franciscan Inn to your Saves list
Franciscan Inn
109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special!
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Nanaimo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet gem near the beach....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Franciscan Inn is one of those little gems you hope never changes.
I first stayed there a year ago, was suitably impressed , and again over New Years....same impression. 2 blocks from SB west beaches , you can watch the sunrise over the water , then stroll down the sidewalk to a beach-view cafe , or carry on another 3 blocks to a wide selection of State Street eateries.
The Franciscan is a quiet low-rise haven within easy reach of downtown , but just a few blocks from the 101 freeway , although you would not know it....its very quiet . The rooms are realtively small , but well furnished , spotlessly clean , and equipped with aircon (cooling and heating) , which was useful during my stay as the overnight temperatures dipped to near freezing , an unusual occurence on this part of the CA coast. Beds are very comfortable , with a heavy comforter. The room I occupied did not have a microwave or fridge , so if thats important to you , check when booking if that is available elsewhere in the hotel , but did have an in-room complimentary coffee-maker . A continental breakfast is included in the room price , and is served up in the cosy reception area ( with open fire) by a very pleasant lady who chats to all while serving the coffee , muffins etc.
Courtyard parking is motel style adjacent to the rooms . Rates were $170/night weekend , and $130/night weekday during my stay in late December 2012. Theres also a hot-tub and pool , in a sheltered sun-trap . The street outside is also quiet , so no traffic noise .
The Franciscan does what it does extremely well , and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are in single storey blocks - some in 2 storey blocks - check when booking as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    143
    41
    16
    1
See reviews for
76
126
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Staying at the Franciscan is like coming home. The suite style rooms are very nicely decorated and comfortable. The Complimentary breakfast is served by "Auntie Carol" and you really feel that you are being welcomed by a close relative. They serve warm cookies in the early evening and the staff could not be any friendlier! It is about one block from the Santa Barbara Beach and just a few blocks from the wharf. Great place to stay for families or romantic getaways!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite rooms they are very nice but even the regular rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On our way to southern California we spent one night in Santa Barbara. The Franciscan Inn is very well equiped for the purpose of staying here one night. Easy to get to from highway 1, close to the beach and restaurants. The room was well kept. The downside was that it was rather noisy (neighbours). Breakfast is 'light' by American standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were on our way to highway 1 when we stopped at Santa Barbra for lunch, Santa Barbra is a beautiful place to visit with beach, shops and a village atmosphere.

we decided to stay the night so started looking for places to stay. we found the Franciscan in through the tourism information branch and could not complain.

we had an upstairs room that had a small balcony, lounge area and a queen size bed. Rooms are old like the hotel, but the staff are super friendly and the free breakfast conversation is amazing. Unless you are looking for 5 star accommodation, then this hotel is great value for money and when booking ask for an upstairs room, they are quieter.

Room Tip: Upstairs room on second level are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was coming here on a girls weekend and didn't want to break the bank. I wanted something, clean, safe, and in walking distance from fun attractions. I received all of the above at the Franciscan Inn.

Pros:
1. Cost: amazing for Santa Barbara, which is such and expensive hotel market (Holiday Inn Express was $60 more per night during our dates)
2. Service was warm, it felt like a mom and pop inn
3. Location: about a block from west beach and easty to walk to Stearns Wharf and we walked to dinner at Arrigato Sushi no problem (sushi was fine but not great). We also walked to Nordstroms twice...did I say girls weekend. We parked our car and didn't move it the entire trip. We took the 50 cent state street shuttle and a cab twice one to Jane where the food was yummy.
4. Room was simple but clean with updated linens and I felt the bed was comfy
5. pool and spa are in separate locations but we like taking a jacuzzi after a day on the town.

Negatives:
1. Breakfast was included but I took one bite of the muffin and threw it out. They did have hard boiled eggs, peanut butter and and apple which made up my breafast. It was pretty simple but at least there was something to get you started.
2. Train noise: okay this is not unique to this inn but there is an Amtrack station on State Street and I heard the horn blue on two separate occasions on the weekday morning. I was able to fall back to sleep. I saw other hotel reviews that indicated the train passed behind the property, so Franciscan Inn doesn't have it too bad.

I'd definitely stay here again, particularly if I want to be close to the beach, and the value for this inn is outstanding for the area.

Happy Travels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are a family of five and stayed here for two nights in October. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the breakfast and the company in the mornings. The management and staff were very friendly and helpful, making us feel most welcome. The kids enjoyed the pool and we had a lovely relaxing stay. The hotel was very convenient for the waterfront, in a lovely quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very friendly staff. Nice little pool and hot tub. Very good breakfast---more than we expected and also some snacks in the afternoon in a quaint lobby. Great location--can walk to the beach and many attractions easily.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franciscan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Inn

Address: 109 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient location, casual comfort and caring staff make this cozy inn the quintessential hub of your Santa Barbara visit. Continental breakfast, pool, spa, afternoon cookies, Wi-Fi and more awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Franciscan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
Franciscan Hotel Santa Barbara
The Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn Santa Barbara Ca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franciscan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.