We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Beach Motel to your Saves list
Marina Beach Motel
21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice suite, great staff...very relaxing. Not five stars because the Wi-fi went off almost the entire first day and they were like "it will come back tomorrow..don't worry, just enjoy". But nice breakfast with bagels, scones, cakes, croissants, fresh orange juice, great coffee...friendly lady at front desk . Recommended. My suite had a nice patio too. We took out two dogs along for 15 bucks a night per dog, non-refundable.

Room Tip: Pick one with a patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We appreciate that you took time to give us your review. We have fixed the wifi problem since you were here, hope you return some time soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    157
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
72
239
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wish every motel was like the Marina Beach Motel! An affordable price for a wonderful room with one of the best showers I've experienced in long while. I guess they have been remodeling and updating rooms - it was a real treat. We loved the close walk to the water, the bikes for loan and the breakfast was hearty with good coffee. Lastly, the staff was excellent and friendly (they even gave me a free stamp for my post card)! Looking forward to going back...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We appreciate your review of our property. You were correct, we have finished remodeling 100% of our bathrooms/kitchens as well as new carpet. We'll have new furniture, artwork, lamps, etc next fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Adorable motel in perfect location for car-less Santa Barbara. Tastefully done inside and out with attention to old California charm. Convenient kitchenette in my room. Walls a little thin but overall didn't impact my stay. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a nice review. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently visited Santa Barbara and the Marina Beach Motel. We had booked a "King w/kitchen" at $119.99, which is a bargain in expensive Santa Barbara.

On arrival we were given the keys to #17 and were delighted to find a totally renovated room with crown molding, a fresh coat of paint, new carpeting and a small but very well designed, new "corner-kitchen" with a granite top, mini-fridge, oven and micro-wave. We didn't notice any silverware, pots and pans in the kitchen area so you may be on your own in this regard. But...with all the restaurants in Santa Barbara, who comes to cook...!!

The room was not particularly large, but it was obvious that someone had given some thoughts as to the layout of the room....it was very user-friendly!!

The bathroom was also totally renovated. It was easy to see that this was not a cheap re-model. All bathroom fixtures were first class.

We were told that all "king rooms" at the motel have been refurbished in a similar fashion. We were duly impressed...!!!

The location cannot be better as many other reviewers have noted...1/2 a block from the harbor and beach area.

Highly recommend...!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. You couldn't have said it better, our remodel is complete (for now) and everything turned out well. We are now searching for the perfect new furniture, new shutters, artwork, etc. to complete the upgrade by next fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A my daughter's recommendation we stayed at the Marina Beach Motel. Very good location half a block from the marina and waterfront. A very pleasant exterior area and very clean rooms. Comfortable beds and a pleasant area serving breakfast. Some work was being done on several rooms, which somehow delayed the arrival of hot water in the evening and morning. Wen the work is complete, we were assured the water would arrive more promptly. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for writing your review. All of our remodel work is completed, 100% of all bathrooms are upgraded and new carpet throughout the property. The hot water problems have been solved, thanks for letting us know it wasn't perfect!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We arrived at Santa Barbara during the Viva La Fiesta festival in August. It was very difficult finding accommodation. However, this motel was great. We booked four months ahead and they were prepared and welcoming at our arrival.

The rooms were small, but very clean and refreshing. They have everything you need and is very close to the dock, pier and main street. All in short walking distance.

I will stay here again when we visit SB

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. Since you were here, we have completed remodeling 100% of our bathrooms and new carpet throughout. Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Well, it's just a motel, so don't expect too much. But for a motel it is very good. Well located (not 37 steps away from the beach as they advertise, but really close), clean and with positive and helpful people at the reception. It was above my expectations and I liked it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. We do advertise 37 steps from the beach, it is our effort to be lighthearted, we are VERY close to the beach. I like to joke that Kobe Bryant paced off those steps, though it really never happened. I am sorry if we misconstrued the actual number of steps. I am glad you enjoyed our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn At East Beach
Inn At East Beach
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned since 1976, Marina Beach Motel is located in the heart of Santa Barbara's harbor, wharf, and beach district. At only 37 steps from the beach, Marina Beach Motel is the ideal spot for couples, families and the occasional lone traveler to immerse themselves in the beauty and leisure of Santa Barbara. At Marina Beach Motel, we understand the importance of providing excellent amenities at an affordable price. We focus our efforts on catering to the needs of the customer while striving for a high level of satisfaction, making us one of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara. Our dedicated, family-owned business promises to become one of your favorite vacation spots in California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.