We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Marina Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Beach Motel
21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Santa Barbara Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Marina Beach Motel for two nights. The room was clean and spacious and I found the staff friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised with the bikes at the hotel, which enabled me to ride along the oceanfront. The continental breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan W, Owner at Marina Beach Motel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we really do appreciate the time you have taken to give us some feedback. We look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    140
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
60
182
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Marina Beach Motel is a great find! Rooms are always spotless and they have just what we need... a wonderful bed, enough room to feel comfortable, a clean bathroom, and a good continental breakfast. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is right across the street. Having bikes right there to use makes it easy to take an beach ride. Close enough to State Streeet to go for dinner... Excellent service & great price! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were pleasantly suprised by the hotel. The room was clean and the bathroom very big with a nice bath tub. The location is the beach and Steams Wharf. I recommend this motel to everyone who is visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a road trip up the west coast and it was a very welcome stop. Room and bathroom were very clean, with a huge double shower in the bathroom.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and we took advantage of the free bikes to explore along the beach front.

Easy walking distance to explore the area.

Very nice breakfast included in price - cereal, toast, pastries, yoghurt, teas/coffee all we really needed.

Would definitely recommend it, this motel was better than another hotel we stayed in up the coast which was double the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Marina Beach is a quaint, restored courtyard motel just blocks off the beach inSanta Barbara. The rooms are cozy, but finished with nice touches. There is enough room for two persons to be engaged in independent activities without getting in each other's way, so it is great for short stays. For longer stays, one might prefer more space. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and it clearly is a destination people return to. The continental breakfast is very nice and there are multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy your breakfast. As with all courtyard settings, you are at the mercy of the noise generated in the courtyard itself and no one is immune to the key fob security honks as people are locking their cars...even at 6AM!

Room Tip: Request a room as far back in the courtyard as possible. We ended up front and there was a bit of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight here and was overall very happy, the location was good, and I used the free bikes as it was great to cycle by the beach, I recommend that! There was plenty to eat for breakfast, and the room had a fridge and microwave, also mini toiletries was handy, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Flew from Melbourne, Australia picked up a car at LAX and drove directly to Marina Beach Motel.
Room ready and checked in early. Comfortable and clean.
Fabulous position close to gorgeous beach. Loved garden area where we chatted to fellow guests and had breakfast. Staff very friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.