We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Blocks form the Beach inSanta Barbara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Marina Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Beach Motel
21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Two Blocks form the Beach inSanta Barbara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Marina Beach is a quaint, restored courtyard motel just blocks off the beach inSanta Barbara. The rooms are cozy, but finished with nice touches. There is enough room for two persons to be engaged in independent activities without getting in each other's way, so it is great for short stays. For longer stays, one might prefer more space. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and it clearly is a destination people return to. The continental breakfast is very nice and there are multiple outdoor seating areas to enjoy your breakfast. As with all courtyard settings, you are at the mercy of the noise generated in the courtyard itself and no one is immune to the key fob security honks as people are locking their cars...even at 6AM!

Room Tip: Request a room as far back in the courtyard as possible. We ended up front and there was a bit of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    137
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
57
177
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed overnight here and was overall very happy, the location was good, and I used the free bikes as it was great to cycle by the beach, I recommend that! There was plenty to eat for breakfast, and the room had a fridge and microwave, also mini toiletries was handy, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Flew from Melbourne, Australia picked up a car at LAX and drove directly to Marina Beach Motel.
Room ready and checked in early. Comfortable and clean.
Fabulous position close to gorgeous beach. Loved garden area where we chatted to fellow guests and had breakfast. Staff very friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

+++
Location: we walked everywhere, with the exception of bike rides we took using the motel's bikes (awesome)
Rooms: TINY, but very clean, with nice furniture and mini fridges
Price: I don't think you can come close to this location, quality, or cleanliness at this price in SB
Transportation: Free parking and free bikes to borrow

- - -
Parking: The cars park RIGHT in front of the rooms, as in, there's barely enough room to walk around them to the tiny stoop entries
Lack of pool/spa (jacuzzi): At this price, it's to be expected, but always nice to at least have a spa

We would be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We tried all the other local motels and this place looked really nice and had good prices and was available for both the nights we wanted and included breakfasts.
A good location on a quiet street (unlike most of the others) and it had a nice garden area in the middle of the car park for breakfasts, sunbathing etc.

Most motels were full at the weekend so book your's early.
It is only a 15 minute walk to downtown and there is a regular 50c electric shuttle bus a couple of blocks away if you are a lazy so and so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros:
- Free bikes
- Location (a few seconds to the beach)
- Near State Street
- Great room
- Free parking
- Excellent slepp quality.

Cons:
- Room size.
- Breafast wasnt a problem but it could be a little bit better.
- Price could be better!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this motel recently for one night. We wished we had booked for two nights. The motel is a really peaceful place. There is a nice sitting area in the center of the grounds were you can lounge around or eat breakfast. The staff are very friendly.

Our room had a kitchen and a nice little patio. The room was simple but clean and adequate.

We loved Santa Barbara, and the motel is well situated to enjoy both the beach/pier as well as the strip of shops and restaurants along State Street. The evening we were there my husband and I walked from the motel up along State Street and ultimately caught a cab back to the motel (a $9 fare).

We ate at Los Agaves while we were there, which is not close to the hotel, but is worth the drive for delicious and inexpensive mexican food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marina Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Motel

Address: 21 Bath Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Marina Beach Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.