We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Motel – big, clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Presidio Motel to your Saves list
Presidio Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Motel – big, clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so glad we chose here to stay. The motel is located at the top of the main street in Santa Barbara and as such is centrally located for everything.

The rooms were of a great size, clean and greatly kitted out. There is even a decking to chill out on the first floor.

The free wifi worked fine and the motel offers free bikes for all guests, we took them and cycled along the beachfront, lovely!

The staff are super friendly and will help with any questions you may have. Free parking in the centre of Santa Barbara is always a bonus as well!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
62
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked here for 11th April through Expedia. On arriving we were told that they were over booked and had informed Expedia. We were neither contacted by expedia nor presidio motel. This was my second time staying here. First was before the change of management. The staff at reception was not very helpful nor was the management. I am never Staying here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The motel rooms are older, but clean and the beds are comfortable. They provide a small refrigerator, WIFI, large screen remote TV, hair dryer and ice bucket. The facility has a deck area to lounge on the second floor, it closes at 10 PM and everyone who stays on the second floor rooms pass through it. There are two 30ish men who run the facility, they are both very nice and helpful. There is a store nearby to purchase drinks and snacks. The motel does not have vending machines, nor do they provide breakfast. The motel loans cruiser bikes to guests, it was fun riding down to the wharf, coming back is uphill though. I would stay again. Simple, no frills in Santa Barbara for around $144/night.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor. If you ask for rooms 15,16 and 17, there are two chairs outside each to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 1night on our trip up the coast. The room was clean and neat.
Close to restaurants and a grocery store.
Awesome that they have bikes that you can use for free.
We ended up using them for about 1-2hrs and biked around the city, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We visited the weekend of my 16, 2014. This place was such a cozy place to spend a weekend. It is older but that lent to its charm. Very clean and personable staff.
The first night my husband and I enjoyed a bottle of wine on the balcony and just soaked in the beautiful weather. The next morning we borrowed a couple bikes from the hotel and rode all over State St and down the beach. This was a great amenity to have. The bed was super comfy. It was a wonderful weekend and although there was not a pool or hot tub we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs which was nice with the open shared balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I stayed in Presidio Motel on a one night stopover in Santa Barbara, on my journey between LA and San Francisco.

The traditional motel exterior is underwhelming, but deceptively hides rooms which are spacious and clean. I was pleasantly surprised as the interior would not have been out of place in a 3 or 4 star hotel. The establishment itself is located on State Street, which is the main boulevard running through the heart of Santa Barbara. It's about a 30-40 minute walk to the beach, but there are buses if you are not driving.

I am not sure what the prices would be like in high season, but despite staying in the low season what I paid was highly reasonable for the quality I got. I would book this in advance if travelling in the spring or summer...

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We picked this as it was as close to the centre as any motel and had the last room. I'm sorry; I'd not go back. We thought it simple, clean noisy spartan and expensive for what we got, compared to other places we have stayed in on our trip from San Francisco to LA.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Presidio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.