We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely over-priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Motel

Save Saved
You added Presidio Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Presidio Motel
1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale!!!!
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Completely over-priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was the cheapest motel in Santa Barbara. There may have been cheaper alternatives outside of the city but we were too tired to do the research.

Given the room prices on our trip up the PCH so far this was the highest and gave least value in terms of drinks and snacks in the office in the morning and facilities in the room.

If you want to be within walking distance of downtown then it is probably better to spend the money on a more expensive hotel and enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    36
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for a quick, last minute weekend get away. Thought it would be fine for just one night. Staff was very nice and did put us in a room all the way in the back when I mentioned we wanted something quiet. Around 3am we had the pleasure of hearing every word that came spewing out of the mouth of the drunk girl in the room next door to us. Tried calling the front desk to complain but no one answered. It wasn't their fault but still a little frustrating when we couldn't reach them.

Room Tip: Two words: ear plugs. Two more words: sleeping pills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good location, clean and smart. Good value and very friendly staff.
Ample free parking and has a nice sit out area.
Modern rooms but fairly small.
Overall if you get a good price go for it as it is one of the better motel types we stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the property and hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We booked this motel as a last minute solution & stayed here for one night only, and we liked it a lot. Location is excellent, it's on the quiet side of State street; the kingsize bed was very comfortable and the sun-deck is nice and cozy to sit outside for a glass of wine.
We used their bikes to ride around in the city - everything is within biking distance: great restaurants, wine tastings, shops and the marina.
Receptionist guy was super nice :)

Room Tip: bikes are for free until 7pm :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you got a good night's rest after a long day. Our deck is indeed a wonderful place to enjoy a glass of wine and relax!

We hope that you will come visit us again soon and thanks for choosing to stay with us!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I decided to book our stay here for my husbands birthday weekend. Thought SB would be a nice getaway but all we got was drama and zero sleep!

The room was decent size, comfortable bed. However, the carpet was stained and there was a strange pink stain on top of the fridge (yes the room comes w/a fridge). There almost zero water pressure in the shower and flushing the toilet gave me anxiety. However these are not the reasons why the motel received one star (if i could give it a minus one star i would). Here is why they are getting a negative review and why I will never be returning to this god awful establishment ever again.

The sat night of our stay happened to be on the night of the summer solstice which I guess in SB is a big deal. And of course this provided an excuse for people to party. I appreciate having an excuse to party as the next person but not at the expense of others. Around 2:00am, we heard some roudiness as people were coming back from the bars. It was annoying but I understood that people were winding down. However they kept talking, walking around from one area to another since they were asked to leave by others who were also trying to get some sleep. Then our next door neighbor came back to their room fighting, shouting and screaming at each other for about 2 1/2 hours. we would have gone over to complain but their fights were so hostile I was actually a little frightened by what might happen if one of us knocked on their door. My husband tried the front office but no one answered.

The following morning, as we were checking out, we complained and requested our money back for Saturday night. She apologized and told us that the manager will get back to us. We got an email, she offered $100 in refund, I said I needed a full refund of the evening we were disturbed and inconvenienced but have not heard a response since - that was 2 wks ago. Mind you, I didn't ask for a refund of the entire weekend, I was being fair and only asked only for the night we didn't get any sleep.

I hardly ever leave a long-winded review but this really needed one so I can warn others not to stay here if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations and would like to extend our sincerest apologies.

Summer Solstice is an exciting time in Santa Barbara and it was unfortunate that there was so much noise that evening. We have 24 hour video surveillance of the property as well as a night manager on staff to monitor for noise. The manager on duty did address the issues of noise but, unfortunately, some of the disturbances were out of our control. Again, we do apologize that this occurred on your husband's birthday getaway as we would like nothing more to ensure that you had a great stay. I did personally reach out to you via phone and email after our initial correspondence but, did not hear back so, again, I do apologize for the miscommunication.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay with us, as all feedback helps us to ensure that your future experience(s) with us are seamless and enjoyable.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stopped here for the night on a road trip down the coast. Great deal, considerably less expensive than other places in this area during the summer high season. Young man who checked me in & out could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable, or helpful...steered me towards a couple of great wine tasting rooms & restaurants within walking distance in the evening & sent me off with directions back to the freeway via the closest Starbucks in the morning!

Rooms are comfortably if not lavishly appointed, really appreciated the super-clean bathroom & new mini-fridge. Only downsides were tepid (not hot) water & stained, musty smelling old carpet. But great large-screen TV, free wi-fi, and efficient air-conditioner that kept room pleasantly cool & provided a low level of white noise to mask the sounds of other guests & street traffic.

Didn't have a chance to take advantage of their sun deck or free beach bikes, but would definitely stay here again & encourage other travelers to do the same!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to provide you with great customer service. We are a small family run property and try to provide as many amenities that we can for our guests to enjoy.

We do hope that you will be back again and on that trip, be able to take advantage of our complimentary beach cruisers! Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The motel was clean and plenty spacious. We were pleasantly surprised with how quiet it was, and we got a great night's sleep. It was a little pricey, but most places in Santa Barbara were comparable. We enjoyed using the complementary bicycles. We rode to the Mission Santa Barbara (a little hilly, definitely not for the fitness challenged) and then to the wharf and other attractions. The ride to the wharf was relatively flat and easy. It was nice that we could remain parked at the motel, even after checking out, so that we could bike and walk the charming town of Santa Barbara. Desk staff was very helpful, offering dining suggestions and cautioning us on the difficulty of the bike ride to the Mission.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Presidio! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take out our complimentary beach bicycles to explore all that Santa Barbara has to offer. We hope that you will be back to visit us again soon and wish you the very best!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.