We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Motel

Save Saved
You added Presidio Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Presidio Motel
1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
July Weekday Special!
Ranked #21 of 59 hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I decided to book our stay here for my husbands birthday weekend. Thought SB would be a nice getaway but all we got was drama and zero sleep!

The room was decent size, comfortable bed. However, the carpet was stained and there was a strange pink stain on top of the fridge (yes the room comes w/a fridge). There almost zero water pressure in the shower and flushing the toilet gave me anxiety. However these are not the reasons why the motel received one star (if i could give it a minus one star i would). Here is why they are getting a negative review and why I will never be returning to this god awful establishment ever again.

The sat night of our stay happened to be on the night of the summer solstice which I guess in SB is a big deal. And of course this provided an excuse for people to party. I appreciate having an excuse to party as the next person but not at the expense of others. Around 2:00am, we heard some roudiness as people were coming back from the bars. It was annoying but I understood that people were winding down. However they kept talking, walking around from one area to another since they were asked to leave by others who were also trying to get some sleep. Then our next door neighbor came back to their room fighting, shouting and screaming at each other for about 2 1/2 hours. we would have gone over to complain but their fights were so hostile I was actually a little frightened by what might happen if one of us knocked on their door. My husband tried the front office but no one answered.

The following morning, as we were checking out, we complained and requested our money back for Saturday night. She apologized and told us that the manager will get back to us. We got an email, she offered $100 in refund, I said I needed a full refund of the evening we were disturbed and inconvenienced but have not heard a response since - that was 2 wks ago. Mind you, I didn't ask for a refund of the entire weekend, I was being fair and only asked only for the night we didn't get any sleep.

I hardly ever leave a long-winded review but this really needed one so I can warn others not to stay here if you are looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
45
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stopped here for the night on a road trip down the coast. Great deal, considerably less expensive than other places in this area during the summer high season. Young man who checked me in & out could not have been more friendly, knowledgeable, or helpful...steered me towards a couple of great wine tasting rooms & restaurants within walking distance in the evening & sent me off with directions back to the freeway via the closest Starbucks in the morning!

Rooms are comfortably if not lavishly appointed, really appreciated the super-clean bathroom & new mini-fridge. Only downsides were tepid (not hot) water & stained, musty smelling old carpet. But great large-screen TV, free wi-fi, and efficient air-conditioner that kept room pleasantly cool & provided a low level of white noise to mask the sounds of other guests & street traffic.

Didn't have a chance to take advantage of their sun deck or free beach bikes, but would definitely stay here again & encourage other travelers to do the same!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Heights, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The motel was clean and plenty spacious. We were pleasantly surprised with how quiet it was, and we got a great night's sleep. It was a little pricey, but most places in Santa Barbara were comparable. We enjoyed using the complementary bicycles. We rode to the Mission Santa Barbara (a little hilly, definitely not for the fitness challenged) and then to the wharf and other attractions. The ride to the wharf was relatively flat and easy. It was nice that we could remain parked at the motel, even after checking out, so that we could bike and walk the charming town of Santa Barbara. Desk staff was very helpful, offering dining suggestions and cautioning us on the difficulty of the bike ride to the Mission.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Spent a small fortune $250.00 per night on Memorial Day weekend at this place. It was clean enough, small showers, and the location was great. But it fell way short for this kind of money. It was probably worth 1/2 the price at best.

Alex D.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were really happy with our stay here. We only wish we could have stayed for longer in Santa Barbara. We only needed to stay for one night to break up the drive from LA to San Francisco but really loved the relaxed vibe of Santa Barbara. The staff at The Presidio were extremely friendly and helpful. There are free bikes available to guests and we loved exploring the main street and beach by bike. Our room was clean and fresh with enough space. Obviously, in this price range, it's not glamorous but great value for money. It's also in a great location and within walking distance to plenty of restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was a great decision for us to stay at the Presidio during our trip to SB for a friend's wedding. The location is very convenient and close to everything on State Street. The neighborhood is lovely and you can either walk, bike (they have free rentals), or drive (free parking) around town. The beach is not too far away either and the shops and local attractions are plentiful. From the motel we biked to the Courthouse and it was a nice, leisurely stroll. The view from the top of the Courthouse should not be missed if you are in SB. The room itself was clean and we enjoyed the contemporary, updated decor, which is more than what one can expect from a motel. The guy at the front desk was really nice and gave us some directions to places we wanted to visit. One thing I was slightly peeved about was when they cleaned the carpet in our room on the 2nd day of our stay, even though we had the "do not disturb" sign hung on the doorknob. They warned us before we retreated back into the room, but it was a nuisance to have to walk around on damp carpet. We are extremely tidy people, so I wasn't sure why they needed to clean the carpet and not wait until we checked-out. Other than this minor head-scratcher, the Presidio is a fabulous choice at a very reasonable price. Lastly, the motel is situated verly close to where the farmers market is set up, which is a huge bonus!!

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, ask for a room on the higher level and towards the back of the building to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First time I've been disappointed in trusting tripadvisor to pick a hotel. This is one of the very few fairly negative reviews I've ever put on tripadvisor. I don't mind cheap places, but this one seemed really, really noisy. Yes there is free parking, but the spaces are right outside the rooms and the noise really carries - whether you have the windows closed or not. It is very clean and the bedding is nice. We couldn't get the wireless to work at all - the front desk worker was very pleasant and tried to help, but it never worked for us. I would rather have paid more money for another place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, however we appreciate the feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review occurrences to improve our guests' experience.

We are making an effort to improve the property on a daily basis; including changing the windows to eliminate the noise. Since we are located within the historic district of Santa Barbara, the permitting process is a bit lengthy however, we hope to have the project completed as soon as possible.

Thank you for noticing that our rooms are clean as we do take a lot of pride in the property and believe that cleanliness is the number one priority for any hotel room. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay with us as all feedback helps to ensure that your future experience(s) with us are seamless and enjoyable.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#20 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.