We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a great town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Presidio Motel to your Saves list
Presidio Motel
1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Specials!
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for a great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were really happy with our stay here. We only wish we could have stayed for longer in Santa Barbara. We only needed to stay for one night to break up the drive from LA to San Francisco but really loved the relaxed vibe of Santa Barbara. The staff at The Presidio were extremely friendly and helpful. There are free bikes available to guests and we loved exploring the main street and beach by bike. Our room was clean and fresh with enough space. Obviously, in this price range, it's not glamorous but great value for money. It's also in a great location and within walking distance to plenty of restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Presidio and taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide an affordable accommodation in Santa Barbara and hope that you will be back to visit us again soon.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
54
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was a great decision for us to stay at the Presidio during our trip to SB for a friend's wedding. The location is very convenient and close to everything on State Street. The neighborhood is lovely and you can either walk, bike (they have free rentals), or drive (free parking) around town. The beach is not too far away either and the shops and local attractions are plentiful. From the motel we biked to the Courthouse and it was a nice, leisurely stroll. The view from the top of the Courthouse should not be missed if you are in SB. The room itself was clean and we enjoyed the contemporary, updated decor, which is more than what one can expect from a motel. The guy at the front desk was really nice and gave us some directions to places we wanted to visit. One thing I was slightly peeved about was when they cleaned the carpet in our room on the 2nd day of our stay, even though we had the "do not disturb" sign hung on the doorknob. They warned us before we retreated back into the room, but it was a nuisance to have to walk around on damp carpet. We are extremely tidy people, so I wasn't sure why they needed to clean the carpet and not wait until we checked-out. Other than this minor head-scratcher, the Presidio is a fabulous choice at a very reasonable price. Lastly, the motel is situated verly close to where the farmers market is set up, which is a huge bonus!!

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, ask for a room on the higher level and towards the back of the building to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the sites of Santa Barbara. We do apologize for the inconvenience of having damp carpets during your stay. The cleanliness of our property is our top priority and therefore, we have cleaners pre-scheduled to visit the property every couple of weeks. That said, we do take your comments to heart and will utilize them for our improvement in the future.

We hope that you will be able to come visit us again soon. Thanks again!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First time I've been disappointed in trusting tripadvisor to pick a hotel. This is one of the very few fairly negative reviews I've ever put on tripadvisor. I don't mind cheap places, but this one seemed really, really noisy. Yes there is free parking, but the spaces are right outside the rooms and the noise really carries - whether you have the windows closed or not. It is very clean and the bedding is nice. We couldn't get the wireless to work at all - the front desk worker was very pleasant and tried to help, but it never worked for us. I would rather have paid more money for another place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, however we appreciate the feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review occurrences to improve our guests' experience.

We are making an effort to improve the property on a daily basis; including changing the windows to eliminate the noise. Since we are located within the historic district of Santa Barbara, the permitting process is a bit lengthy however, we hope to have the project completed as soon as possible.

Thank you for noticing that our rooms are clean as we do take a lot of pride in the property and believe that cleanliness is the number one priority for any hotel room. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay with us as all feedback helps to ensure that your future experience(s) with us are seamless and enjoyable.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It's been about two years since I have stayed at this property and boy have things changed. The rooms have been remodeled, but not in the good way. It seems they are going after a different standardized look than their artsy past. I love their sister motel, the Agave Inn, although I'm wondering if they are even affiliated anymore. Regardless, this trip was a let-down. Room smelled pool and the bathroom is seriously run down at this point. Smelly toilet, and such low water pressure, I wish I could have just used the sink which over-powered the shower! The rates are decent on weekdays and the location is the reason I stayed instead of opting for an early check-out. Things will change for Santa Barbara as the years go by and I hope this place improves. I will be looking at other properties for future visits, including the Agave Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid room number 9 should you want decent shower pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry that you found our new remodel not suited to your taste. We had a management change at the end of 2012 and have since remodeled all the rooms. You are correct, the rooms are a bit more "standardized" rather than having the exotic murals on the walls. We have found that most of our guests have enjoyed the change though.

That said, we are continuing to improve the property by adding additional décor and various other items. We hope that you will give us another chance as our customer service, location and cleanliness are top notch!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

At the risk if sharing this secret gem that we wish we could keep all to ourselves, they absolutely deserve this 5-star rating. This can't be a "motel"?!?! It's impossible. It is extremely, super, tremendously, incredibly CLEAN, COMFY, and EXCELLENT SERVICE. Equipped with feather top bed?!?? Down pillows and covers?!?! Blow dryer?!?! And usual hotel amenities like clothing hanger area, cabinets, luggage rack, cubby, and did I mention it's SUPER CLEAN?!?! They also didn't stop there. They had to really go over the top and offer free bikes to use around town. LOVED THAT!! We used them all day!! It really doesn't matter that they don't offer continental breakfast. Why? Because you don't come to Santa Barbara to have coffee and donuts anyway! There are many, many fabulous restaurants to walk to or drive to, and they even prepared a very nice binder of suggestions for dining, transportation and more. Where do you find a place like this classified under "motel"??? You don't. It felt like a little boutique hotel:))

We will definitely be coming back. I just hope the guests really help keep this place nice so that they could always have the best price on State St. We came for the price, we will return for the PLACE:)). The staff was awesome!! Thanks Matt and Laura!!

We found a few negative reviews on Yelp about this place. But I truly believe it's because those guests didn't want to disclose what a true gem this place is to the world. I know, because the thought crossed our minds, too! We didn't want to share it with anyone! But this place shouldn't have to suffer for our selfishness:( So there you have it.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your beautiful review and choosing to stay with us at the Presidio. We recently did a remodel of the motel and have tried to add amenities that suit our guests and their needs. We will be continuing to add amenities over the next few months as well!

We do our very best to accommodate the needs and wishes of all of our guests to ensure the best stay possible and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. We look forward to hosting you again and thank you again for your kind words!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Presidio. The staff was courteous and very accommodating. We got the sense that they were excited to work at the Presidio. Located on State Street was a huge benefit for us. The free bicycles were an added plus. BRAVO!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Presidio! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you are absolutely right, we are all excited to work here! We love to assist our guests in exploring Santa Barbara and help in any way that we can.

Please come stay with us again - we look forward to hosting you!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We got a great price during spring break. The hotel is well maintained & has a nice outdoor area with new comfortable patio furniture. We were probably one of the first people to come & we were set up in Matt's favorite room! ~11. I could see why it's a favorite~ the 2nd to last room upstairs that gets sunlight, fresh & new room. It was very clean. Staff was awesome & helpful. The girl even offered the bikes on the day that we checked out~ how nice! I liked the modern decor accents throught the place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience! We take great pride in the cleanliness of our property as well as our customer service and are so happy to hear that you noticed both!

Our bicycles are complimentary for all of our guests to use during their stay with us - even the afternoon after check-out as we believe that visitors should be able to experience Santa Barbara and all that it has to offer! Please come back and stay with us again.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.