We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Presidio Motel

Save Saved
You added Presidio Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Presidio Motel
1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
End of Summer Sale!
Ranked #24 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We only stayed for one night, friendly staff, comfortable beds and clean rooms and bathroom.. there is no breakfast just coffee and juice, but perfectly find ! Quite good located ! They have bikes available, we didnt use it, but it is a +

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the next time you visit, you will be able to take our bikes out and explore downtown Santa Barbara!

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
48
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I have traveled all over the country and stayed at a variety of hotels. We are your average american couple so we are not talking $500> per night hotels but you know Hyatts, Hiltons, Marriots places like that. We look for clean and safe places. Never do we look at "motels", but in this particular case our options were limited not because of a lack of establishments but because of a lack of thought process. We were there because we had a loved one in the hospital, unexpectedly. It was late and we didn't want to have to search for a place and we knew it had to be close in case we needed to come back right away. A nurse at Cottage Hospital Santa Barbara recommended this place and said this is where she stayed when relocating for the job. It is nothing fancy BUT it is clean, safe and the staff (managers) were absolutely amazing. They were compassionate and incredibly hospitable. You can tell they take a lot of pride in the place and it shows. Like I said nothing fancy and the pictures do tell what you can expect. Except one was probably old because the reception area does not look like one of the pictures. It is located at the end of the infamous State Street, touristy area. But if you continue North on state street you will get into the locals area with regular shopping, groceries and restaurants. If you go south you are in touristy Santa Barbara, shopping restaurants and night life (we used in the area). Cottage Hospital is a five minute drive. As I said earlier, clean and safe but nothing fancy. If you want to stay, lets say "IN" Manhattan, without paying Manhattan prices this would be the place to stay. Great weekend getaway. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: When we go back we would definitely pick a room upstairs as far away from the stairs as possible, fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We want our guests to feel like they are a part of our family and when they need compassion, we are there for them. We take great pride in our customer service as well as the cleanliness of our property. So, I'm really glad that you were able to enjoy everything that our property has to offer.
Thanks again - we wish you the very best and hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First of all, I would come again to Presidio Motel. The rooms are clean and there is everything you need. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Also very nice are the free bikes. But you can rent them only until 7pm. The only issue is the shower. The possition of the showerhead is on the ceiling in the middle. If you don't want to wash your hair you have to bring a shower cap.
The breakfast are coffee, tea and muffins.
The Motel is located close to downtown. Walking distance is about 15 minutes. With bikes only 5 minutes. To the beach about 10 minutes with bikes.
As I stayed in Presidio Motel before, I was a little disappointed because they renovated the rooms and replaced the furniture and all the nice paintings and details i really liked so much. Before it was more unique. But I can recommend to stay in this Motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with our newly renovated rooms. The bikes are definitely a great amenity that make cruising Santa Barbara an easy thing! We hope that you will come visit us again as we add more decor to the rooms! Thanks again!
Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I learned to not judge a book by it's cover with the Presidio Motel. We traveled the PCH on a budget, but just happened to stay in the best hotel I've ever been to the night before arriving in Santa Barbara. I definitely was iffy pulling up to Presidio based on it's outward appearance BUT the room we had was completely updated with 20 ft vaulted ceilings. It was very clean (I'm a bit OCD about this), beds were comfortable and it was a perfect size. Everything in the room was new. It's located right on state street so it's very convenient for shopping/restaurants. They mentioned it's a 15 minute walk to the Wharf/Beach, but I would say this is more of a drive/30 minute walk. The Mission is a short drive away as well.

Room Tip: Go with the second floor and ask for an updated room (I'm not sure if the entire hotel is finish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and definitely make the cleanliness of the property the first priority. With all new carpet, furniture, flat screen TVs, I'm so happy you were able to enjoy the property in it's new condition.

We are also very fortunate to have a property that is walking distance to everything on State Street and the Wharf. We hope that next time you come, you can take one of our bikes out for a cruise down State Street as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you visit again soon.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Newly renovated. Perfect location to downtown. The rate was great, the people who owned it learned all the names of our party within a few minutes and addressed us by name during our stay. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in. Wish I could take it with me. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us at The Presidio. We take great pride in our hotel, the service and enjoy getting to know our guests. We hope that you will come stay with again soon! Thanks again!

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Presidio is a basic, old-fashioned motel but it's been partially renovated and is very clean. Don't stay here if you want luxury or even special. But if you're okay sleeping in a big empty box that's clean and without any extra frills at all, then what else do you need, especially at a great rate for downtown Santa Barbara. I was impressed by the considerate and genuinely warm people who are running it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are the in process of a renovation and are happy to hear that you found comfort and kindness with us. Please come by again to see our new additions and we look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for the price. It's simple, but clean and has everything you need for a night. Rooms have been recently renovated and new bed/linens. New Flat screen tv. Good heating.

Good location in the Main Street of SB!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura Y, General Manager at Presidio Motel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for you wonderful review. We are continuing our efforts in the renovation and are glad that you liked it! Please come visit us again to see our new additions.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Presidio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidio Motel

Address: 1620 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Barbara's Modern Boutique Motel. Free Bicycles, Complimentary Parking, Free Wi-Fi, Closest Motel to Downtown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Presidio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidio Motel Santa Barbara
Presidio Hotel Santa Barbara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presidio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.