We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Orange County, California
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was disappointed in my stay at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. My girlfriend and I decided to take a mini-vacation in Santa Barbara for our two-year anniversary and wanted to stay at a 4-star hotel to celebrate. Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing from the moment we arrived.

Upon checking in, we were informed that we were staying in room 398 (a standard room) that was located across the street from the main building. The room looked nothing like the pictures on the Hyatt website. My girlfriend immediately looked disappointed and she had good reason to feel that way. The room was cramped and had an unusual layout. An unusual protruding wall at the foot of the bed forced the Hyatt to place their TV in this room off to the side of the bed (who watches TV that way?). Further, it was a dark and cramped space that also had a large stain on the floor of the bathroom. My girlfriend then called the front desk to request to switch to a room in the main building. Instead of simply honoring her request, she had to repeatedly turn down their upsell of switching to an ocean view room for an additional $50, but the manager did eventually agree to move us. We walked back across the street to the front desk to make the switch. The woman at the desk seemed surprised to see us again so soon, and asked why we were there. Instead already having been informed, we another uncomfortable conversation asking her to change our room to one in the main building as the manager had not yet informed her of what he told us. We do not like having to complain, and it was frustrating having to ask over and over. In the end, we did get a better room. While I was relieved that my girlfriend was no longer completely sad about our amenities for celebrating our anniversary, I could not understand why they would even try to place us in room 398 across the street when they had another room available. They must know that room is far worse than the rooms in their main building.

I wondered if another guest ended up having to stay there? That would not be fair either. Did they think we would not say anything because we are a young couple? Did they think we didn’t know any better? In sum, it is disappointing to be treated that way by a 4-star hotel staff. Not a single person even apologized for sending us to a subpar room.

To be sure, I gave an overall 2-star rating because the location was convenient and the bed was comfortable, but the positives of our visit stopped there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello, Happy Anniversary to you and your girlfriend. We’ll begin by apologizing for the impressions that we left with you. Thank you for leaving these comments and please know that as a team, we read all comments and take action on things that we can correct. You have identified many opportunities for us and we feel badly that you did not have the experience that you were due. We have created actionable steps to ensure that these inconveniences do not occur to future guests. Please consider coming back to join us again to see the completion of the renovations that are currently in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    125
    64
    33
See reviews for
148
183
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I accumulated points from Hyatt Gold and we had 2 free nights at 4 -star Hyatt hotel and we opt to stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. The location was good but a little too far from the main street. We had a ocean view room and the room was spacious but it looked tired. The bathtub was tiny and was not comfortable to take baths. We did not try the restaurant so I can't comment on that. The check-in clerk was unfriendly but she was friendlier upon check-out.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello and Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Indeed, our hotel is located on what is referred to as East Beach, between the Santa Barbara Zoo and in our opinion, the best part of the beach. East Beach is approximately 1 mile from Stern’s Wharf and the bottom of State Street. There are several options for transportation to these areas, but our favorite is a leisurely 20 minute stroll. We are happy that you had an opportunity to enjoy and ocean view room and certainly understand your thoughts on the room looking tired. In fact, we have just fully renovated 24 guest rooms and construction has just begun on the main building which will include additional rooms as well as a full remodel of the bar, restaurant and lobby. We hope that you will join us again to see the progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pot smoke in hallway, terrible service with items brought a day late, billed in error for things, power outage -- overall, very disappointing for a Hyatt. No business center to speak of, no business lounge. Terrible security with no key needed to enter outdoor hallways right outside your room. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello, Happy Anniversary to you and your girlfriend. We’ll begin by apologizing for the impressions that we left with you. Thank you for leaving these comments and please know that as a team, we read all comments and take action on things that we can correct. You have identified many opportunities for us and we feel badly that you did not have the experience that you were due. We have created actionable steps to ensure that these inconveniences do not occur to future guests. Please consider coming back to join us again to see the completion of the renovations that are currently in progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This historic hotel has a location that can't be beat. Across from the Santa Barbara beach and within walking distance to shopping on State Street. The hotel could use a little bit of TLC in regards to bathrooms, but the view and tranquility and friendliness of staff can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As a Hyatt Platinum Passport member, I stayed at some Hyatt hotels in the past. And from my experience, this hotel is below the standard of most Hyatt hotels.

The room feels tired but clean. The air conditioning / heater unit looks like the one you'll find at a motel.

We stayed during Christmas eve and we had dinner at the restaurant. There were a lot of guest and being a Christmas' Eve, they were short on staffs. We had to wait for quite a long time for our food which was understandable because of the circumstances. The waiter was very nice and handled the situation well. He apologized to us many times and at the end of the dinner he gave each of us a plate of dessert.

Overall, this hotel is ok to stay and relax but don't expect a lot from it.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you Adam for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had chosen to spend Christmas Eve with us. Many improvements have occurred since that time, specifically 24 guestrooms have been completely renovated and construction is currently underway in our new bar, 5 additional guest rooms and lobby. These improvements will continue until each area of the hotel is updated. We are very sorry that dinner service was slow and please know that processes have been improved and you can expect to have a more seamless dining experience during your next visit. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel was modern and clean. It is not as swanky as some Hyatts, but it's very comfortable (good beds) and the rooms are spacious. We had an awesome balcony overlooking East Beach. There is a mini-fridge for your own drinks and leftovers and a nice 1-cup coffee maker. The hotel offers fresh morning coffee in the lobby and iced tea during the day. I found the Hyatt 800# phone reservations people to be unhelpful in getting me a 2-bedded room for my 2 night stay, so I called the hotel front desk who immediately hooked me up. The hotel staff is extremely friendly in general. Also, they charge $26/night to park in their lot, but you can park in the street a few feet away for free (at least this was true for our Wed-Fri stay). Overall a very good hotel with a great location.

Room Tip: Ocean view is what you want here. Our balcony was the real bonus of this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel. It will take care of you - on the beach (first row), and close enough to town and things to do. Has a restaurant and bar that are ok. Nice grilled fish tacos! Typical value for Santa Barbara. Has a few meeting rooms, which were great for our group. Their food for the meeting was very good.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.