We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed a night but we love the charming feel of the hotel. The room was nice and clean. We had dinner at the attached restaurant and the food and service was impeccable.

The hotel is just short walk to the beach and we found a nice place for brunch just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    116
    108
    47
    23
See reviews for
123
157
11
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trnava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I took part in the conference, which venue was hotel Hyatt in Santa-Barbara, CA. I want to thank the organizers of the conference CSDL (Conceptual Structure, Discourse, and Language) 2014 for a very good choice. The rooms are large and clean, from the balcony you can watch the ocean and numerous birds. It's a paradox, that on the Black sea the waves are higher. Though the ocean is mainly calm, people do not bathe in it. Water has 20 degrees C all year round thanks to some water streams. But Hyatt has a swimming pool of its own! I also liked lavish choice of food for breakfast and many kinds of fruit. I admired beautiful flowers around the hotel. The personnel was incredibly helpful with our sightseeing and web check-in. There is a large lecture hall and several rooms for workshops equipped with all necessary appliances. If you have Miles-and-More card, for staying in Hyatt you will be awarded with 500 miles. See you in Hyatt!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Overall this is a great property. Solid 4 stars. Directly across from the beach at the very end of Cabrillo Blvd, but only about a 5 minute drive to restaurants and shopping.

We were in the Santa Cruz building on the 3rd floor facing the ocean. Could hear the waves crashing from our room. Our King room was very spacious, bright, comfortable and clean. Bathroom was spacious with windows that open. We had 4 huge windows in the room all of which opened.

Linens always leave something to be desired. Would love it if they had an actual duvet cover instead of sheets over a comforter. Down pillows are very comfy. Bed was decent, have slept in better and definitely worse.

Staff: Made a group reservation through sales and catering. They were very accommodating and gave our group a fair rate. Would work with them again.

The front desk staff upon check in and throughout the
stay were friendly as expected. We had multiple requests throughout the 5 days and everyone was friendly, never annoyed (that I could tell)

Daily breakfast buffet in bistro was well above average for hotel buffet breakfast. We were pretty impressed with it. Juan was an excellent waiter even though it was a buffet breakfast he was very attentive. Super friendly service every morning- I give those who were there 5 stars! Juan was the friendliest and most attentive. The fastest by far.

Bar service not so great (2 stars)at 10:00 at night empty house we show up and The bartenders attitude was awful. I hate to complain but she was just so bitter it was hard to be around. Thumbs down Colleen!

Housekeeping was super friendly everyday the ladies always had smiles on their faces. 5 stars for friendliness!

Would totally stay here again if ever in the area as long as the rates were good. Parking is limited but we had self parking included in the rate so I'm not complaining. Otherwise it's expensive valet or the street...

Also really enjoyed the cozy fire pit by the pool. Very nice.

You'll enjoy it here, it's a quality hotel with above average amenities. there is a cluster of motels right behind the entrance to this hotel, a motel 6 and another inn. Didn't bother us.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for one night with a baby over the weekend. Overall, I give them 3 stars.

Pro:
- Valet parking guys told us that the street parking is free. We appreciate their honesty!
- There was rust in bathtub which looked a little gross. When I talked to a front desk, they immediately sent a housekeeper. He tried to clean it out but couldn't get rid of it. The front desk offered us another room right away.
- Bistro was pretty good. I usually don't expect to get good food at a hotel restaurant (usually it's overpriced), but I was very satisfied there.
- People were friendly.
- I didn't have any difficulties with a baby.
- Internet connection was pretty good.
- Close to SB zoo.

Cons:
- The hotel is very old! You will see such an old air conditioner hanging on the wall. All buildings are separated just like a bunch of motels. In fact, Motel 6 is right next to the hotel. You can't really tell which is hyatt.
- Ocean front was not that good. It's across the street, and there were a lot of trees blocking the sight.
- The room is not that freshly clean. They should renovate very aggressively sometime.
- This hyatt is under category 4....Hmm I would put under 2.

For me, Hyatt is a modern fancy American hotel, but this one is not. So, I was disappointed when I got to the place. But again, people are nice:)

Room Tip: Ocean front is not so great. If you don't want a street view, maybe partial ocean view would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was clean, the beds very comfortable, the service great but there is not much insulation in the rooms, so we were awoken by the valet parking, the people in the room upstairs and the people outside the room talking.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Try to book 2nd or 3rd floor with Ocean View, rates are fabulous in low season. Best bet for parking is finding a spot on the street, if you can you can save on Valet. You really do not need to have the Valet park your car unless you have tons of luggage really, really need to have someone park your car. The street parking is literally 2 minute walk to most of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ocean View (although you will be overlooking Cabrillo Blvd, some traffic noise, but not overwhelming...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel is somewhat of a mixed bag. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was excellent, and the location of hotel itself is good.

On the other hand, the room furnishings were very tired and in need of replacement. The lobby is nicely furnished so it is clear that they do have the capability of making this a very nice hotel. As others have mentioned, there is simply a wall mounted, extremely noisy, AC unit. While it is not the hotels fault that there is no central AC, they do have the ability to replace the wall mounted units with clean modern units. The ones they have are rather dirty and really belong in an hourly motel.

I think your satisfaction with this hotel will depend on how much you pay. The nice staff, good location, and great food can help you overlook the tired hotel rooms... if you pay the right price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.