We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good customer services but not so fancy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Irvine, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good customer services but not so fancy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed for one night with a baby over the weekend. Overall, I give them 3 stars.

Pro:
- Valet parking guys told us that the street parking is free. We appreciate their honesty!
- There was rust in bathtub which looked a little gross. When I talked to a front desk, they immediately sent a housekeeper. He tried to clean it out but couldn't get rid of it. The front desk offered us another room right away.
- Bistro was pretty good. I usually don't expect to get good food at a hotel restaurant (usually it's overpriced), but I was very satisfied there.
- People were friendly.
- I didn't have any difficulties with a baby.
- Internet connection was pretty good.
- Close to SB zoo.

Cons:
- The hotel is very old! You will see such an old air conditioner hanging on the wall. All buildings are separated just like a bunch of motels. In fact, Motel 6 is right next to the hotel. You can't really tell which is hyatt.
- Ocean front was not that good. It's across the street, and there were a lot of trees blocking the sight.
- The room is not that freshly clean. They should renovate very aggressively sometime.
- This hyatt is under category 4....Hmm I would put under 2.

For me, Hyatt is a modern fancy American hotel, but this one is not. So, I was disappointed when I got to the place. But again, people are nice:)

Room Tip: Ocean front is not so great. If you don't want a street view, maybe partial ocean view would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    113
    107
    47
    23
See reviews for
122
156
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Try to book 2nd or 3rd floor with Ocean View, rates are fabulous in low season. Best bet for parking is finding a spot on the street, if you can you can save on Valet. You really do not need to have the Valet park your car unless you have tons of luggage really, really need to have someone park your car. The street parking is literally 2 minute walk to most of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ocean View (although you will be overlooking Cabrillo Blvd, some traffic noise, but not overwhelming...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a hotel is somewhat of a mixed bag. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was excellent, and the location of hotel itself is good.

On the other hand, the room furnishings were very tired and in need of replacement. The lobby is nicely furnished so it is clear that they do have the capability of making this a very nice hotel. As others have mentioned, there is simply a wall mounted, extremely noisy, AC unit. While it is not the hotels fault that there is no central AC, they do have the ability to replace the wall mounted units with clean modern units. The ones they have are rather dirty and really belong in an hourly motel.

I think your satisfaction with this hotel will depend on how much you pay. The nice staff, good location, and great food can help you overlook the tired hotel rooms... if you pay the right price.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night at the Hyatt Santa Barbara. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. Our room had a very nice view of the ocean and the mountains. The bed was so comfortable. We would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel. Excellent service. We were driving down the coast and called this hotel that day. Being out of season they gave us a great price and we got a corner room overlooking the water. They immediately recognized I had the Hyatt Gold passport account and knew my preferences. It's in a quiet area of town. I highly recommended as a place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Guests need to understand that this is an older hotel. That means the things we expect in the modern age may not be available (no central air or heating; spotty wifi). Old hotels are fine, but this one has no old-world charm. Price is fair and commeasurate with what you will get.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. You are correct that this is indeed an older hotel with the main building being built in 1931, it is one of the earliest landmarks on the Santa Barbara coastline. I am sorry that you did not experience any old world charm as we strive to strike a balance between a high level of service with operating a building that has so much historical significance. An older building certainly does present challenges and we are confident that our team’s engagement with our guests coupled with a renovation that is underway, we will be well positioned as a great place for all guests to stay during their visit to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Hyatt Santa Barbara for just one night, 12/1/14, while visiting UCSB. Had to book last minute, and took advantage of advertised 'last minute discount rate'. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was nice... if it helps your budget to keep the overnight cost close to the advertised 'last minute rate', park off the property (parking on-site costs an additional $26 plus whatever you want to tip the valet). Don't ask for a room with bay/ocean view (adds $50). Skip the wireless code ($10). If budget is a concern, you might want to eat off-site (a marginal dinner, for two, was $70 at the Hyatt Bistro lounge). If you're not careful, that $115 discount stay quickly becomes the usual $300 night after taxes & fees If you want to browse around the Stearns Wharf area, note that the Hyatt is about a 25-minute walk south of the wharf... actually kind of a nice before/after dinner walk, if you plan for it!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.