We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome view and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My fiancé and I stayed here to celebrate our engagement and decided on a room with an ocean view, well worth it. Mountain views were $50 cheaper. There is also a great pool, hot tub, fire pit, restaurant and 24/7 fitness room. Even of your room doesn't have a nice view you can walk across the st to the beach. Get up early and watch the sunrise, gorgeous.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    106
    105
    47
    22
See reviews for
113
150
11
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is an older property right across the road from miles of beach and the East Beach Cafe. The room size is what you would expect for an older hotel, but the property is very nice. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean and the pool area. As long as no one was down there it was great - really a feast of color and texture for the eyes. When occupied I could easily have jumped into the conversations below. But - it's a resort hotel, everyone is there to have a good time and good times at the pool ended by 10PM so it really wasn't bad.

You can park on the street for free if you can find a space, otherwise valet is mandatory at $26/day. The valets were all super nice and very quick with getting my car. The maids were friendly, a greeter in the lobby is there to help and answer questions and Matt at the front desk was fabulous. He bent over backwards to make me happy (and he did).

I had a glass of wine and crab cakes at the restaurant and they were delicious! I spoke with another couple who dined when I did and they enjoyed a wonderful steak and fish saying it was a great meal.

If you like to walk the wharf is less than a mile, great coffee and breakfast are across the street and on Sunday afternoons there is a craft fair along the boulevard that has wares from local artists. One of the most famous volleyball beaches in California is visible from some of the rooms, too.

I think you'll love a stay in any of the 3 buildings comprising the Hyatt Santa Barbara. Go! Enjoy! And say Hi to Matt.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the beach. That's why you're there, right?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I could not believe I was staying at a Hyatt. They gave us an awful room at first. Left us waiting for an hour to move us. The food was shameful. The property. Shameful. Unsafe elevators. Old. Confusing. You MIGHT be able to get service at the pool but it varies. Just stay someplace else if you want luxury. Right across the street from the beach though making that the only nice thing. I just couldn't believe the service and the amenities. None.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your overall stay with us at the Hyatt Santa Barbara and would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am happy to know that we were able to move you to a more suitable room, though an hour to wait is certainly too long and I apologize for that. I’m disappointed that you found our food to be shameful as this is very uncharacteristic of the response that we typically get, I’m certain that the item you are speaking of is an isolated incident and do hope that we had the chance to rectify the situation on the spot. We do recognize the need for better signage throughout the property and am pleased to report that this is a project that we are actively working on and we are confident that this will reduce any confusion in the future. Again, I am truly sorry that you didn’t have enjoy the typical great experience that Hyatt is renowned for and I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in the Hyatt Santa Barbara and would kindly request that you contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a great anniversary weekend at the Hyatt. We were upgraded to a room with a partial ocean view which was great. The rooms are very plain & simple but we spent little time there and had just what we needed. The beds are some of the most comfortable beds ever! It's like sinking into a cloud! We got the Bed & Breakfast package with late checkout + breakfast buffet which was also really good. The Bistro has nice ocean views as well. Staff was very friendly. We saved our pennies and parked on the street for free. I found a good deal online for our stay so I think it was worth it. Regular rates might be a bit too much for us though.

Room Tip: Park on the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stay at the Hyatt Santa Barbara has potential. Big rooms and comfy beds are a plus. The property is definitely WELL worn, but you can accept it because you are across from the beach and it kind of fits the mission style. Traffic is a constant, as the main road is directly outside the property Not many rooms have balconies with ocean views. Take this into consideration, as you may not enjoy the backside of the property, which faces apartments. The reason I am giving this an average rating...which is generous...is because the staff up front is so lacking in customer service abilities it has to be told. We found ourselves bummed out every time we had to encounter the staff up front. The maids were nice, the valets were nice, but the welcoming committee behind the desk was rude, both in person and on the phone. Also, upon waking we found USA Today papers outside many rooms and when we called to say we didn't receive ours we were told that papers were only for Diamond Members and there were no extras. Really? Wow! As much as the location was nice, the abuse we endured upon check in, asking about places to eat, asking about the trolley times, and when checking out was enough to make reservations elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: Try with all your might to get a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an informative review. We will absolutely be reviewing some of the points of concern with our staff. We also apologize for the less-than-stellar service you encountered from staff, which, we assure you, is not at all indicative of the way we normally operate. You deserve much better as a guest of our hotel, and we hope that you will give us another chance to show you the real, world-class experience upon which we’ve built our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a good rate, which was fab across from the beach but if you're facing the parking lot side, it's a bit louder. Rooms feel as though they need lots of repair and was a bit loud with some repair work going on and also things needing fixing in rooms. If you get a good rate for an ocean view room, it's fabulous view and great breakfast at restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We really appreciate all of your feedback. We couldn't agree with you more that having a good maintenance program is essential - and thanks for noticing! Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off in Santa barbara on our way to LA. Spent one night a the Hyatt .
Our room was in an annex building. It did face the ocean. But it had an old A/C.
You know the ones that are in the wall. Very noisy!
I reallyhad trouble sleeping.
The hall way had a musty smell.
We at a late dinner at the Bistro restaurant.It was fine. But, limitd menu.
We did order room service for breakfast, as we had an early appointment in LA.
Limited menu. But the pancakes were VERY Good!! Order them
Came on time . Service was good.
Sleep quality of bed was good.
Don't know if I would return. Just can't get over that noisy A/C!!!
I didn't complain as we had an early departure.

Room Tip: A/C was a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello and thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. Your feedback helps us to determine the areas in which we need to focus. I appreciate your accolades in regards to the food and service in both the restaurant and room service. While on this subject, I am happy to tell you that our restaurant will soon be undergoing a renovation and we are all very much looking forward to the new concept and menus. I am happy that you enjoyed the bed and very sorry that you could not fully enjoy your sleep due to the air conditioner. We have been steadily replacing the units and it seems that the one in your room may still be an older one. If you do happen to stop in Santa Barbara during one of your future trips, please do not hesitate to reach out to me as I will ensure that your next stay is in a room with a quieter unit. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.