We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Ambivalence” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #32 of 61 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Complete Ambivalence”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It’s hard to know where to start. We checked in about 5 hours ago for a 3 night stay. When we arrived at valet, Justus arrived to offer help unloading our car, which we gladly accepted. As I went inside to attempt check in (at 1:30pm, which is admittedly early), Justus decided to let my wife unload every bag herself onto the cart. He then had the gall to comment about the number of bags we had. What a jerk! Sadly, I had no idea this was happening as I was inside attempting to check in. We were told it would be 90 minutes and assured we’d get a call when our room was ready (still haven’t gotten that call BTW). Went out to get in the car and unknowingly thanked Justus for his help and gave him a 5er, not knowing the garbage he pulled when I was inside.
Two hours later, at 3:30 went back to the hotel and attempted to check in. Finally got a room at 4:15pm and it was a handicap room. Would have it killed anyone to mention this to me, so I could make a determination about whether or not the room is for me?
As for the staff, no one ever said welcome, good afternoon or bothered to smile at us. We were just looking to have a nice few days in Santa Barbara and enjoy some time away from work. We’ve cut short our Hyatt stay by 2 days and are heading up the street to the Fess Parker Doubletree. It’s a total pain, but we’re just not feeling welcome here – plain and simple. The room is not great, the toilet seat was disconnected from the toilet (honestly), yet if the employees here exhibited the tiniest bit of professionalism and warmth we’d stay. Yes, I’d even overlook the fact that I had to handle and connect a toilet seat used by literally thousands of strangers but the staff here just doesn’t care.
Being a Hyatt Diamond really has its privileges…what a crock!

Room Tip: The best room advice would be to pick one at another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    93
    84
    38
    17
See reviews for
102
117
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first stay in Santa Barbara. The Hyatt is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy this beautiful city. The views of the ocean are spectacular and the staff are friendly and helpful. An A+ hotel

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel in pristine setting, Great service in general. I had two negative experiences with food service. The first with a $34 Cobb Salad that looked like a 3 year old made it (I knew it would be expensive, but I thought it would be really good). In the restaurant the next morning they asked if I wanted coffee and disappeared for 10 plus minutes.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

In spite of booking and PREPAYMENT had been made several weeks in advance - all rooms were sold out. Other guests arriving after me got the same information. To call it a 4 star hotel is an exageration

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Waking up across from our ocean view room every day was perfect for our wedding stay and honeymoon. The staff were lovely and sent a tray of goodies to our room when they found out we were getting married - a really nice and unexpected treat. In fact the service from all the staff across the hotel was excellent. The pool area and spa were well maintained, with cool pool music. We ate breakfast in the hotel a couple of times and that was good too. We had other family members staying at the hotel and they loved it too. Would definitely return to the Hyatt in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room, it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed in this experience. Given it was a Hyatt, I expected luxury but instead got mediocracy. The towels are so old they are threadbear and hard. The bed had a no pillow top other than a very old polyster batting matress pad that was lumpy and hard. Try to get an appointment at the spa and was laughed out, apparently appointments need to be made way in advance. The staff is nice and helpfull, but pretend you are at a Motel 6 instead of a Hyatt Regency hotel!.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I booked a room, using points, for a wedding. Even though this was chosen by the family, we actually tried to stay elsewhere but all rooms were booked. Hyatt is usually our top choice in any vacation venue. This location had its good and bad. Let's clear the bad out of the way first. We used points and, I guess, at this Hyatt, you get the last choice room. We overlooked the parking lot. The parking lot is restricted; they told us only valet parking is allowed. Since we were in and out so much, we parked on the street. The parking lot was only half full, but guests couldn't park there. Weird!! My wife and one of my brothers ordered a drink at the bar (simple easy standard drinks like Vodka/Soda and Tom Collins) and the tab was $28. This is just not that nice a place for that kind of tab. And, talk about a stiff tab; just try to connect to the internet. Luckily, we had brought our hot spots and used them. That absurd charge must be a local decision as a stay in a Hyatt on the way up from LAX was no charge.

The good won't take long to cover. The staff was very nice and the bellman was great. All people did make you feel welcome. My wife likes to walk and the location is great, right across from the beach. It seemed very safe if you head out to the beach for walking at night. The room was pretty nice.

I always ask the question, "Would we stay here again?" No, we wouldn't. On our next trip, we will stay at the larger resort just up the street and see how we are treated there. That's a disappointment as we, as I said, lean heavily on Hyatt for an excellent stay. And, we will still lean on other Hyatt Resorts, just not in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.