We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite is Worth It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #31 of 61 hotels in Santa Barbara
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Suite is Worth It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Santa Cruz suite (one of only 3-4 suites on the whole property) and it was magnificent! Yes, the property exterior is a bit rundown and "motel-y" but once inside the suite you are transported. Nice dark wood floors, huge living area, a separate wet bar area/breakfast nook, and the bedroom was nice and well appointed. The bathroom is spectacular - huge, two sinks, and loved the wood floor shower and separate tub.

I didn't experience the standard rooms, but I don't think I could stay here again unless it was in a suite.

One big downside - our suite is on the second floor of a three story building, and it's located right in front of the main stairwell. Given the poor old construction, even from deep within the suite, you could hear people stomping around on the stairs and in the hallway, talking, etc. Also, you could hear the people above walking very loudly. There was a crazy kid above us who thought it was a good idea to jump/stomp/run very early in the morning. I hear rumors that they will convert a building into all suites - this would be nice.

The staff were nice (particularly the bell/valet guys). The front desk staff were nice enough, but so many are in training and no one seems to be supervising them closely. As a diamond member, I had to walk two of the front desk workers through my benefits, such as welcome amenity choice, diamond breakfast vouchers, free internet, etc. Not a deal-breaker, but if I wasn't on top of my own benefits, I would have missed out.

Received 2 buffet vouchers for breakfast at Bistro 1111. Service was average - kind of sloppy and rushed. Food was average - standard selection of breads, breakfast meats, etc. Chicken sausage was super dry as were the potatoes. The cooked to order omelet was good.

Parking is valet only at a rough $26 per night, or you can try to find some street parking for free nearby.

Location is great - right across the street from the ocean and only a 10 minute drive to State Street.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    105
    87
    77
    35
    16
See reviews for
95
110
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I just spent three nights at this hotel when we attended a wedding in nearby Montecito. We found this hotel to be extremely expensive and somewhat disappointing in value. The location is very good, the service was fair to good, and the room was spartan but comfortable and clean.

The first thing you need to know is that the hotel is comprised of three distinct, three story buildings connected by a parking lot. The front of the hotel faces a busy street right along the beach. One building contains a small lobby/check-in area, a restaurant, and the pool. The other two buildings just contain rooms. We are not talking about a great distance between the three buildings but there was a good amount of schlepping back and forth.

When you call to make a reservation, you are not connected to the actual hotel in Santa Barbara but to a central Hyatt reservation operator. We booked a luxury room with a balcony with mountain view. Although quite expensive, this was less than the ocean view. What we didn’t know was that we wouldn’t be in the main building and that our balcony overlooked the parking lot with the mountains in the far distance. Perhaps this would have been lovely from, say, a 10th floor vantage point, but the building only had three floors and the busy parking lot could not be ignored.

Our first disappointment was when we checked in, the clerk basically handed us our keys and told us that we were staying in a different building we would recognize because it was near two palm trees. We weren’t told what floor our room was, where the pool or restaurant were located, just sent on our way. We had already surrendered our car to the valet, so we trod off across the parking lot searching for our building, and then our room. We also were not told about the hotel’s free Wi-Fi code. I had to call the desk clerk who had to look it up.

Another thing to know is that hotel parking is $26 a day, whether you park your car yourself in the parking lot or have it valet parked in the hotel’s underground garage. Since we were in an outer building we found it more convenient to park our car near where we were staying rather than walk back to the main building every time we wanted our car.

We ate a $22 breakfast buffet at the restaurant in the hotel and it was just fine. Perfectly adequate. The outdoor pool is smallish but has a hot tub area and a bar and tables with waiter service. A nice place to relax and have a drink and light meal.

All in all, you are paying luxury prices for a less than luxury hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building don't have balconies and are thus less expensive. The three build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great room with a view at the boulevard/beach. The room was also very clean and modern, loved it!

The personnel was extremely friendly, helpful and well mannered.

The hotel is directly at the beach, just cross the street (look right and left before you cross it though!) and you're feet are in the nice and warm beach sand.

The downtown area is about a 20 minute walk and very doable.

You could use the valet parking option at the hotel (costs a little extra) but 9 out of 10 times you can park for free nearby the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a friend's wedding last month. The location right across from the beach is great. However, advertising balcony rooms that get views of the Santa Ynez mountains is stretching things - I saw little more than a parking lot and other buildings and hotels. Certainly not a great view from a tiny balcony, and the room was small as well. We ended up moving to an Ocean View room, which was a bit larger and definitely nicer. Like other guests, I question the all-valet lot with plenty of available parking when the hotel is full as little more than a revenue scheme. We did order room service, and the food was good. The staff was very nice as well - from the valet, to the front desk.

However, from a value perspective, I really don't think the room is worth $450 a night. It felt like a nicely renovated motel. I wouldn't stay here again at that price, unfortunately. I'd expect a lot more out of a Hyatt at that price.

Room Tip: By all means get an ocean view room if you are going to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello and thank you so much for writing this review. I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the balcony view of the Mountains, but I am happy to know that we were able to accommodate your request for an ocean view room. Thank you as well for recognizing the food and the service provided by our team, we really do try hard to make each guest experience as great as possible. July is one of Santa Barbara’s busiest months, with that, all local hotels adjust their pricing accordingly. Our pricing was and is always very competitive considering our ocean front location. I do hope that you had a great time while here in Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I spent 3 nights at the Hyatt Santa Barbara last week for a family wedding and was VERY disappointed. This hotel absolutely does not deserve the Hyatt name to be attached to it. The outside of the hotel has been recently upgraded and is very attractive. We checked in after 4:00 pm and were told that our room was not ready and would be about 15-20 minutes. We weren't happy with that bcs we had wedding events to attend that evening and needed to get in and shower. When the room became available and we were escorted there, I told the bellcap to not unload our luggage, that we would not be staying in that room. The front desk DID move us to another room which really wasn't any better than the first, but was all they could offer. I called around for any other available hotels, but being a Sat. evening in August, nothing was available, so we spent 3 nights at this very inferior hotel. The rooms had very shabby, mismatched furniture that had a definite IKEA type feel to it. The bathroom had not been updated, the grout in the shower was stained and, although the room WAS clean, it had a very shabby, rundown-motel feel to it. While I usually check trip advisor for reviews, I trusted the Hyatt name and thought this hotel would be a good choice. While waiting for the 2nd room, I did check trip advisor, and saw at that point that many other travelers had also panned the hotel. I will not trust well known chain names again!!! The Hyatt Corporation needs to visit this hotel and decide if it deserves to keep their name!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing this with us. I appreciate that you found the rooms to be clean as our team does work very hard cleaning each and every room on a daily basis. Please accept my sincere apologies for the room not being ready by 4pm and the motel-like feel that you experienced. Please know that many improvements have been and will continue to be made to the facility and there is an exciting project that will begin this fall. I do hope that you enjoyed the wedding festivities and had a great time while you were here in Santa Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Considering the cost, and considering the brand reputation, we were quite disappointed with this hotel. Santa Barbara is so beautiful it made up for it some, but here is not way it should be as expensive as it is given the cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I agree, Santa Barbara is a really beautiful ocean side city, often considered the American Riviera. As you have witnessed, August is the peak of our busy season, with that, all local hotels adjust their pricing accordingly. Our pricing was and is always very competitive considering our ocean front location. I am happy to know that you had a great time while you were here and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are big, but the sound isolation not that good. Also the noise from the AC is too much for a hotel room.
The hotel in general is ok.
The restaurant isnt that good. The food takes to long and the food is not good.
The location is very good. It is in front of the beach, and you can rent a bicycle surrey just in front of the hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.