We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #30 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Granite Bay, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose this hotel because it required the fewest points of any hotel rewards club we belonged to and we needed a one night stay in Santa Barbara. I wasn't expecting much because the point requirement was soooo low.

Wow.

Location, location, location. You are across the street from the beach. You can walk to the weekend art fair. You are also walking distance to the State St shuttle. You can easily go to State St for an evening of drinking and dancing and not have to worry about driving, let alone finding a place to park once you get to the downtown area.

Our room was a Handicap Accessible room and it was fabulous. HUGE, clean, beautifully appointed and our ground floor patio looked right across the street at the ocean. The bed was VERY comfortable. The pillows were awesome. The fridge worked AND it was quiet. The towels were nice. There were all the extra amenities in the bathroom including a working blow dryer, magnifying mirror, iron and ironing board.

Check in was easy. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. She even walked us outside and pointed to which building our room was in and where the building entrance was.

Yes it is $26 per day to park. Big deal. It is simply part of the price for staying on the beach. The valets were an absolutely wonderful group of young men. They made a couple recommendations of where to take my daughter for dinner and they were spot on with their suggestion. When I would call down to get my car, they remembered me, my daughter and our car.

We peeked in to the fitness center, but did not use it. However, it looked clean and well appointed.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    79
    73
    30
    16
See reviews for
88
103
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location just across from the beach was nice, but we payed way too much for a room that didn't even face the ocean. We tried to change rooms on arrival, but were told no ocean view rooms were available. . .
We stayed in the main building, which has interesting architecture, but underwhelming rooms.
We found parking on the street behind the hotel to be plentiful and free, which was a plus. Also, we walked the easy half mile to the zoo, which we really enjoyed.
One crazy thing--when we requested towels to bring to the beach, we were told there were none, but we could go out and buy some ourselves! The only reason I can think of was that when we came back from the beach we noticed our feet were covered in tar. Yuck! Definitely keep your shoes on.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A real disappointment given the promise of the brand and the prime beachfront location. This was just sloppy from the get go. Like a previous visitor the instant impression was about making money from the valet only parking at 26 dollars per day Whilst we knew that when we booked it was just the sense of having it rammed down our throat as he knowingly waved at the alternative, a street rammed with parked cars

Check in was functional, a smile would have been nice and given a map of the town but not offered any other advice about that or the features of the hotel nothing about , pool, bars, restaurants , breakfast etc. is it that hard to sell your amenities?

Rooms are fine, functional, nothing special. And why do chain hotels still insist on high fees for internet usage, certainly compares unfavourably with Europe

We had two rooms, and after the first night one of the rooms was not made up. On complaining to the front desk on our return that evening fresh towels were dumped in the room but no effort to make the bed so we had to do it ourselves

We await the delights of checkout in the morning. We won't be back on our next visit to Santa Barbara and it has put me off visiting Hyatts elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you kindly for your feedback on your recent visit to Hyatt Santa Barbara. As we are a destination hotel, we strive to be able to give our guests a real look to what our community has to offer, with that said and based on your experience, we certainly have a great opportunity to do a better job. First off, let me offer an apology for the lack of engagement that you received from our valet and front office staff. We are working diligently to retrain our team at valet on how to give a proper first impression to our guests.
I can understand the frustration that comes with not having your expectations met and I can assure you that we are working on measures that will increase the level of engagement we have with our guests. With regards to the housekeeping issues, we also had an opportunity to do more than just the requested and we missed that. Again, your feedback is greatly appreciated and we use all feedback as a tool to either enhance what we are doing or to continue positive practices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I find it really hard to believe all of the negative reviews when we had such an enjoyable stay here. Spent 2 nights here and it was just lovely. Room was nice and spacious. Internet was reasonable. This IS Santa Barbara after all, so we were expected high hotel rates and compared to the other options in this area we thought we got the best deal - hands down. We were comp'd two American buffet breakfast and enjoyed it so much we paid for our own the following day. Service was excellent. I even received a hand written Welcome Note upon arrival. No one does that anymore!

Beds were big and comfortable. The area is super adorable, small town feel. The main street (1.5 miles away or 25 min walk) was super cute and had tons to offer -- more than we expected. We had great dinners and even went to the movies one night after shopping and dining. The Hyatt is right across from the beach and although we didn't actually go to the beach, I did get to run along the beach every morning which was just divine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Location:Awesome Rooms: Clean and Fantastic View of the ocean Staff: Indifferent and Cold Valet Parking People: Simply Bad, They kept telling us that we need to pay $26 for overnight parking, every time we came in and out of the hotel. They must have repeated that message at least 13 times and that is irritating, if you just paid $600 per night for a single room. Bistro 1111 Restaurant: Simply Average Customer Service: Non-Existant

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello, thank you very kindly for this feedback. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a fantastic ocean view and that you found the guestroom to be clean, and I agree, our location is awesome. I am troubled to learn that our valet team left this negative impression on you and I will be working directly with our valet manager to address this. As well, we have a new restaurant manager who is taking your feedback and working diligently to create a service experience that is representative of the Hyatt Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived to be greeted with "this is valet parking only sir if you don't wish to pay $50 per day then you can park on the street" nice when they had an empty car park and the street was full each day.
Then when we got to our room (not taken, told were and handed the card) we thought we had arrived at a truck stop motel, the mountain view was certainly not a mountain view just a nice word for "you missed out on the ocean view so we need to give it a warm and fussy name view so here's a car park to look at that you can't park in" the room was clean but small.
We went down to the bar at night for a drink, we waited for 10 mins (they weren't busy) and didn't get served no big deal so we left. It's all the little things like this that make you doubt that your staying at what your paying at
This is not a Hyatt experience so don't expect one and you won't be disappointed . Now for the managment response that they will learn from this: well if your true to your word it would have been well before my review.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post this review. I am so sorry to read that you were greeted with a cold opening remark from our valet team member and on top of that given the incorrect price. I have met with our valet manager to address this as it is certainly not acceptable, let alone up to our service standards. Again, it seems like we missed a great opportunity to introduce you to the property by just handing you a key and not walking with you at least part of the way to your room Again in the bar, we did not meet the minimum standard of service. Please be assured that through your feedback and others, we are making progress in increasing service awareness and improving our customer service. I hope despite this disappointing visit you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lipstick on a pig...that is this hotel...musty, mildew, furniture from 1980,..noise transmission from other rooms, restaurant an embarrassment,..valet way too lengthy,..Manager Mr Weber never there,..only untrained kids running the place

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#12 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#24 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.