We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
san francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We are diamond members of the Hyatt chain. We are used to beautiful rooms and resorts. Hyatt took over this hotel from another hotel. They have tried to make it into Hyatt quality, but it doesn't quite reach that level. The rooms are spacious. We had an oceanfront room. It was nice, but still a little disappointed. The hotel itself is in three separate buildings. If you want to go to the restaurant or pool, you have to go to the main building. The pool was very small. It was clean and the kids seemed to like it. The spa is very small, too. If you want to spend the day on the beach, this is a great hotel. If you want a resort experience, you need to travel elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool. It is very loud there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    75
    62
    25
    13
See reviews for
73
100
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location--right across the street from the beach with beautiful views of the the ocean and mountains on the quieter end of town. Having a road in front of the hotel is a non-issue; it does not detract from the ocean views and beach hotel vibe. The train runs close by, but it is infrequent and non-obtrusive. There is ample street parking if you don't want to pay for valet. The hotel is divided into three buildings, which means you have to walk through buildings and parking lots to get to the pool and restaurant/bar if you are not staying in that building.

All of the staff we encountered were super nice and helpful. The bar has a decent happy hour. The bartender comped us drinks during happy hour because of some inconsiderate guest's screaming children that were running around the bar. That was really appreciated! We ordered room service after the cut-off time one morning and they were happy to accommodate us. Room service was fast, pleasant, and breakfast was great--good food and excellent coffee! We were upgraded to a king balcony by Omar, the manager. The bed is very comfortable and the pillows are SO comfortable--it was like sinking into a cloud! The room is outfitted with everything you might need, and if you forget something, they have a list of items they will bring you or that you can borrow.
If you book a regular queen or king, you will mostly likely be on the ground floor and looking onto the parking lot. There are a few non-balcony rooms with a view--be sure to request them. Otherwise, king deluxe rooms with a balcony are on higher floors and can look to the side with a partial ocean view, or to the back with a mountain view. These rooms are a good size, with a refrigerator, big flat screen and desk area. The king balcony ocean views in the front of the hotel have a higher price. The decor of the original building is beautiful. The public areas in the lobbies of the other buildings are furnished comfortably and have great views of the ocean. There are also patios with seating facing the ocean on the ground floor. Hyatt pays close attention to maintaining the period feel of the property. The property is obviously well-cared for.

Be aware that the pool and pool area are very small. If there are families with kids, the pool basically becomes a kiddie pool. The pool bar closes too early and there were not enough pool towels available in the late afternoon. Also, there is a $9.95 charge per day for in-room internet, which seems chintzy for a hotel of this caliber.

Room Tip: If you book a regular queen or king, you will mostly likely be on the ground floor and looking onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is located near the beach. You just have to cross the street. It is 2 km to the Pier and the beginning of the main street (State street). It is a big hotel, very busy, a bit outdated and a small swimming pool. Rooms are small, no safe in the room and the one thing that is so annoying is that you have to pay for wifi in your room. This is really not acceptable anymore nowadays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pico Rivera, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After reading tons of reviews on how tiny the rooms are or how outdated the rooms are, I would have to disagree we had room 284 it was an ocean view room with a balacony, it has to be the best room there, it was roomy clean and the views were amazing, house keeping(Virginia) took very good care of our room, we were very pleased with her, the front desk was very nice, although we did arrive 2 hours early and had to wait for our room, it was worth the wait! we do not have any complaints the staff from teh front desk, to the valet, to the bell boys, to housekeeping, everyone was wonderful! we would definately go back, it was worth every dollar.

Room Tip: request a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From checking when we removed our own bags while valet stood at trunk watching us, we were disappointed. The concierge was. Non existent so on our own for all recommendations and reservations. We received a lovely email from Omar the day before we arrived so tried 3 times to respond to him with zero response. We even saw him at valet desk while waiting for our car one day, so he was working. No excuse as the property has potential but we will choose another for our next visit .

Room Tip: See. If you can get an ocean view as there are apartments and motel 6 behind it that hotel overlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with me. Please accept my sincerest apologies for both the well-meaning, but inattentive follow through from Omar as well as for our valet service – I find this unacceptable and have taken action to remedy this. I apologize you were not aware that our front desk agents can help with concierge services and I am sorry that our concierge desk was not staffed this past weekend, this is a service that we feel is very important to our guests and will make every effort to have a knowledgeable staff member at the desk. I do hope that you had a fantastic time here in Santa Barbara. HyattGM955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Celebrated an anniversary weekend here. Nice facility, we were in the main building. Looks like other parts might be a bit more stylish. About a mile and a half to downtown, an easy walk. Beach is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel in Santa Barbara really is not that great considering the price. I have had so much better service at less costly hotels. The front desk reception people not that professional, the valet kids were worthless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H596BGM, General Manager at Hyatt Santa Barbara, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you, your feedback is very welcome and appreciated. I would like to extend a sincere apology for the lack of professionalism at the front desk, this is contrary to the standards of Hyatt as well as our own personal standards. Please be assured that your comments are shared with the managers of both the front desk and valet and actionable steps to improve guest experience are being taken. I am also sorry that your value expectation was not met, our pricing is very competitive with similar hotels that are located on the beach here in Santa Barbara. I do hope that you enjoyed your time here in Santa Barbara and I look forward to your return. HyattGM955
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.