We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Santa Barbara

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Santa Barbara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #28 of 60 hotels in Santa Barbara
Pico Rivera, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After reading tons of reviews on how tiny the rooms are or how outdated the rooms are, I would have to disagree we had room 284 it was an ocean view room with a balacony, it has to be the best room there, it was roomy clean and the views were amazing, house keeping(Virginia) took very good care of our room, we were very pleased with her, the front desk was very nice, although we did arrive 2 hours early and had to wait for our room, it was worth the wait! we do not have any complaints the staff from teh front desk, to the valet, to the bell boys, to housekeeping, everyone was wonderful! we would definately go back, it was worth every dollar.

Room Tip: request a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    74
    61
    25
    13
See reviews for
71
99
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From checking when we removed our own bags while valet stood at trunk watching us, we were disappointed. The concierge was. Non existent so on our own for all recommendations and reservations. We received a lovely email from Omar the day before we arrived so tried 3 times to respond to him with zero response. We even saw him at valet desk while waiting for our car one day, so he was working. No excuse as the property has potential but we will choose another for our next visit .

Room Tip: See. If you can get an ocean view as there are apartments and motel 6 behind it that hotel overlooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Celebrated an anniversary weekend here. Nice facility, we were in the main building. Looks like other parts might be a bit more stylish. About a mile and a half to downtown, an easy walk. Beach is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel in Santa Barbara really is not that great considering the price. I have had so much better service at less costly hotels. The front desk reception people not that professional, the valet kids were worthless.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we were excited to stay here expecting a luxurious stay especially for the price we paid around $380. Our first night we were assigned a room across the street, where guests with animals stay. Small, functional room that had no view; it was covered with plants. Wall mounted air conditioner. Asked the next day to be moved to a new room. We were moved into one of the main 3 buildings, with a balcony overlooking the parking lot, away from the ocean. The balcony was nice, but the room was motel quality. Small, incredibly noisy. We could hear people in the parking lot or had to deal with an incredibly loud air conditioner. We barely slept. The bathroom was primitive. Nice, but certainly not luxurious. The staff was nice, it has a great location across the street from the ocean, but this is an old and tired facility and felt like staying in a motel, maybe 2 star. We were inundated with emails offering service, but the problem here is with the physical plant. Very little to be done there. I would prefer to have stayed at Fess Parker or at one of the neighboring motels for much less $$.

Room Tip: in retrospect, our room without a balcony in the building across the street was quieter and the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall it was a very nice stay, the people were generally very nice. Great Location; however after paying a lot of money for the room, I didn't expect to have the pool girl tell me I can't take my towel to the beach (right across the street) - I had even given her my room number, and I would have had to return the towels anyway, or I would have been responsible for them! Overall very good, but please don't be too stingy with your towels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After some minor issues upon checking in, namely we were given a lesser room than we were promised, we were very pleased with our stay at the Hyatt. The issue with the room was quickly rectified and we were also very happy with the entire staff as they all went out of their way to make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Santa Barbara

Address: 1111 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103 (Formerly Hotel Mar Monte)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Santa Barbara 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the finest hotels in Santa Barbara, California when you stay at Hyatt Santa Barbara. Built in 1931, our historic hotel welcomes guests with its casual elegance and first-rate service.Detailed with a fusion of Spanish Colonial architecture blended with modern conveniences, Hyatt Santa Barbara is a shining gateway to the City of Santa Barbara, also known as the American Riviera.Discover 171 comfortably-appointed guestrooms, a perfect home base for both leisure and business travelers. Enjoy the warm California sunshine in our heated outdoor pool and therapy OLEASTRO SPA, work off stress in the spacious fitness center, or enjoy happy hour at Bistro 1111 Restaurant, serving American cuisine with California flair. A 100% smoke-free hotel, Hyatt Santa Barbara also offers amenities like in-room dining, valet and self-parking, valet laundry service, and a business center.With 10,000 square feet of flexible and unique meeting space, offering exquisite culinary selections and the latest in technology, Hyatt Santa Barbara is ideal for your next corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Santa Barbara
Mar Monte Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Santa Barbara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.